We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly”

Starfish Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Tarbert
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$24 - US$33
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Fully licensed seafood restaurant in Tarbert, Loch Fyne, specialising in locally sourced fresh fish and shellfish prepared with simplicity and care. Full menu and daily specials with meat and vegetarian options also available, as well as a well appointed wine list. We promote a relaxed and friendly dining experience and look forward to welcoming you to Starfish.
Girvan, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very friendly”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Good range of seafood and what we had was very nice. We ate off specials board - chicken satay and coriander haddock. Staff very friendly and helpful. Children seem welcome but not actively encouraged - although staff were very nice to our two year old I must say.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank simonpms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    492
    86
    19
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant Seafood Restaurant”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We had a brilliant experience at the Starfish. Superb food, great atmosphere and a waitress who was second to none. She (I think her name was Brenda) was so attentive and recommended a great sauce to go with my excellent halibut. A totally awesome night out !!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Otley Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“An excellent dining experience”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We ate here Friday night and found it excellent. I started with the haggis stack which comprised layers of haggis, black pudding and goats cheese and was delicious. My wife started with goujons of haddock which she also found delicious. For main course we both had halibut, one of the four fishes of the day. It was good.my wife's sister had loin of pork which she thought wonderful.
For deserts we had one apple crumble,one pavlova and one chocolate pot, all good. Coffee was accompanied by shortbread.
Service was faultless and hospitality was outstanding.
With wine and mineral water the bill came to 117 pounds, very good value.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kildwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marseilles
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely night out!”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Had a lovely dinner with my girlfriend,
The service was brilliant, the restaurant itself is very clean and fresh looking.
The meal was nice, and the price for it all was more than reasonable!
Look forward to jumping in for lunch soon!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chirho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good to be back, and still the best seafood”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This month we were here for the second time. Starfish is a small restaurant specialised in seafood. And they do a very good job there. We had a great meal. We started of with crab springolls which were excellent. Then we had an excellent lobster. The food is superb, the wine was great and we finished with some nice cheese and a wonderful Whisky. The staff is great. This was a fantastic night out.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meiyousito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Starfish Restaurant also viewed

Tarbert, Kintyre Peninsula
Tarbert, Kintyre Peninsula
 
Strachur, Argyll and Bute
Tarbert, Kintyre Peninsula
 

Been to Starfish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing