We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stonefield Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tarbert
Certificate of Excellence
cambridge
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed at stonefield castle twice during the mon of July, one night each stay was not enough. Absolutely stunning location with views that take some to be beaten. Dined at the hotel both times and the food was fantastic, steak highly recommended along with the gnocchi for a fussy veggie!! Staff were great, from reception to the general manager Ann along with her assistant Stephen there service from arrival to departure was faultless.
An added bonus at this hotel is the lovely chocolate Labrador fudge.........what a welcome there!!
I would highly recommend a visit to this hotel, we used as a stop over before travelling on by ferry and again a stopover on the way back home.

Room Tip: We stayed in both a ground floor and 1st floor room, as it was just a stopover we hadn't thought...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bettiboopcambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    340
    114
    41
    20
See reviews for
128
655
10
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Our second stay at Stonefield after a few years. The hotel has a great setting overlooking the Loch and superb grounds. The restaurant outlook is also excellent.

This hotel could be superb - but it is not. Some of the bedrooms (including ours) clearly could do with updating or at least painting. Restaurant food was also variable - steaks were fine, some of the other dishes a bit limited to plain odd and not what I remembered. Something must be up behind the scenes as many of the staff are disengaged. A shame.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Due to our previous 3 visits to Stonefield Castle we were expecting as always, great service, great food and great value. We were bitterly disappointed on our 4th and what may be our final visit.

Our last visit was in Oct 2012 just after our engagement and we discussed this as a possible wedding venue due to our previous experiences. Due to the declining quality of food and service we experienced on this visit, if we had booked our wedding here it would be quickly cancelled.

On this occasion the quality of food was very poor. My fiancée had langoustines just like the previous visit and I had the steak (both quite pricey), this time both dishes were very disappointing, neither had any distinguishable flavour or seasoning (apparently the chef had changed since our last visit). We also found one of the servers dismissive and patronising to us a couple in our early 30's but perfectly lovely to the older couple next to us (the oldest of the female servers), the rest of the staff were very welcoming and friendly.

The hotel on the whole now lacks the quality and value for money that we had come to expect.

This will unfortunately be our final visit to what we had come to think of as our little castle retreat.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giande3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Beautiful location and stunning views. Room was nothing special but no major complaints and bathroom was fairly modern and bright. Food was excellent. Service good. Would recommend to romantic couples who like the outdoors. We had a special deal for 2 nights and would go again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view without a tree in front of the window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazelmct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PARMA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

The place is could be great if it was brought up to 2013 instead it gives the idea of being back in the '70. The original part with antiques is amazing but new parts are not up to expected quality. Restaurant is not bad but to pricey for the quality and the style of the food. The view is great but there is absolutely no phone reception and wifi isn't always working like it should.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XXXDCXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

This two-night stay was a gift for a birthday and it was a real treat. Having read previous reviews (the negative ones) I was a little worried and ok, the rooms could do with a bit of an update but that aside, everything was perfect. The staff (especially in the restaurant) were first class and very attentive. The food was superb; absolutely delicious and with excellent presentation. The room (with Loch view) was lovely and as already mentioned, could do with a refresh but it was clean and attractive. The grounds and location were lovely, and the amazing views from the dining room were very special - a clever addition to the original building. We were made to feel (and I got the impression that everyone felt the same) very welcome and that nothing was too much trouble. We would return without hesitation and hope to visit next year.

Room Tip: Choose a loch view room, a little more expensive but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamnBess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

On arriving at the castle you cannot fail to be impressed with the building and the breathtaking views of loch Fyne. The original parts of the castle are impressive but inside now look a little tired. It feels like a refurb or at least a freshen up is well overdue. We stated in rooms in an annex that was well past it's best, bordering on tatty. The room was clean enough but very much in need of some serious updating. It let the castle down on my view. We had an evening meal here which was served in the dining room. This room offered wonderful views of the loch as the sun went down. The dining room it's self was a bit tatty and again past it's best. The meal was good but not outstanding. Service was ok but again nothing special. Overall I felt the stay was ok and that it was trading on the appearance of the castle and its location. Once inside I was a bit disappointed. I also felt it was over priced for the quality of the stay and meals we had.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveyMan36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbert
1.9 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
444 reviews
2.6 mi away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
266 reviews
12.0 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
476 reviews
6.2 mi away
Kilfinan Hotel
Kilfinan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilfinan
117 reviews
23.9 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonefield Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonefield Castle Hotel

Property: Stonefield Castle Hotel
Address: Loch Fyne, Tarbert PA29 6YJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Tarbert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tarbert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stonefield Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stonefield Castle Hotel is an outstanding example of Scottish baronial architecture. Built in 1837, the Castle stands high on the famous Kintyre peninsula, commanding spectacular panoramic views over Loch Fyne. In keeping with its unique location and character, many of the original period furnishings have been retained to complement the timeless ambience that is Stonefield Castle. Guests can relax in the traditional elegance of wood panelled lounges with fine corniced ceilings, unwind on leisurely walks through the sixty acres of woodland grounds, or simply enjoy a leisurely pace of life far removed from the stress of city living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Stonefield Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonefield Castle Tarbert
Hotel Stonefield Castle
Stonefield Castle Hotel Tarbert, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing