We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Break in a Scottish castle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stonefield Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tarbert
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2013

My wife and I have just returned home from our 3 day Christmas Break in Stonefield Castle and what a marvellous experience it was from start to finish. The Christmas programme was outstanding and ran like clockwork from minute one. Staff at the hotel, without exception, were utterly professional, ever helpful and forever cheerful and we received nothing but superb service from the minute we arrived. The quiz night and treasure hunt were great fun and well managed and the food and service in the restaurant was first class. The castle is very dog friendly as advertised and our little parsons Terrier, Maizie, was welcomed throughout the hotel with the exception of the restaurant understandably. The castle has wonderful grounds and fabulous walks and our car was happily abandoned for the three days we were there. Rooms were spacious and comfortable and the roaring fire and wonderful reception rooms were a joy. From talking to the manager and staff we know that much planning went in to the festive programme and it is testimony to there attention to detail that all three days were like a very enjoyable house party. Having ran out of superlatives, all I can say is that we have already booked for next year. Huge thanks from Carol and I to all the staff for a wonderful break, we look forward to seeing you all again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne M, General Manager at Stonefield Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us at Christmas, it was a real pleasure to have you with us and we really appreciate your positive comments on this site and also the excellent feedback you gave while you were staying with us. I see you have already reserved your rooms for next Christmas. You will be most welcome!
Have a happy and prosperous 2014!

Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,059)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

612 - 618 of 1,059 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

First family Christmas away for us and our two kids (7 and 11yrs old), together with my parents and what a fantastic 3 day break we had. A great deal for DBB.

A very warm homely atmosphere. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff at Stonefield. A letter from Santa C was the highlight for my little girl first thing on Christmas morning. This was left near her Santa sack from the man himself! Magical.

Great mix of clientele from Australians,Norwegians,Scandinavians to us Meltonians!
Great food and accommodation. Beautiful views overlooking Loch Fyne. The walks around the Barmore island are great for making room for the next installment of delicious food.

Fantastic entertainment in the form of an evening Quiz (which we won thanks to the 1D questions!) and great family treasure hunt around the grounds on Boxing day. Thanks to Fiona for this.

For us we would have loved to have seen more of the beautiful open fires lit up but appreciate this takes a lot of upkeep. Plus the hotel is not in need of this as it's fantastically warm.

Thanks to Anne and all the team for a great first Christmas away. I think this is the way forward ....no more cooking for me! Look forward to seeing you all again.

Room Tip: Room 28 is amazing - the Principal room - views over the Loch and Gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne M, General Manager at Stonefield Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

We are so glad your family enjoyed their first Christmas away from home and delighted Santa was re-directed to Stonefield to deliver their presents! He enjoyed the mince pie and Rudolph was delighted with the lovely carrott they left! We hope you will come and see us again soon.

Best wishes for 2014 from all of us at Stonefield

Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Had an absolutely fantastic stay in the Stonefield. The staff were lovely and friendly, food delicious and the room was perfect. With a roaring fire in the lobby and delightful grounds to walk around, I couldn't fault it in any way. I highly recommend this hotel and look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anjamurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne M, General Manager at Stonefield Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to wite a review and for telling readers how much you enjoyed your visit to Stonefield. We look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future. Dont forget to follow our Facebook page and catch up with all the latest news from our Castle.
Kind regards from all the staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We got a great deal for DBB, bottle of wine and late checkout and we then upgraded to a huge suite (28) with sleigh bed, for 2 nights last weekend. I cant speak of the other rooms but this one was really large with a seating area in the bay window area, table and chairs in the centre, separate alcove for the bed and a huge bathroom.The shower power nearly knocked me over it was brilliant, Lots of furniture in the room although some a teeny bit tired as some have said ie a handle missing here or there it just added to the character for us.

The receptionist was lovely and welcoming,and showed us around. Dinner in the restaurant and lunch in the bar was excellent especially the venison. Breakfast was good,a help yourself continental then a choice of a hot dish brought to you. Full scottish was ok but a bit bare looking in comparison to some i have seen so 2 sausages would have been better ha ha( i bet if you asked you'd get one though as staff are lovely). Yes the restaurant is an extension added on but wait til you see the panoramic views.

The views in general were spectacular and our suite had an amazing view from every single window. Drinks were not too bad at all price wise and cocktails were lovely-barman great. The resident dog fudge is friendly and often found wandering around the bar. We had some lovely long walks around the estate and as non drivers found it really accessible by coach from Glasgow 3hrs ish (stops just outside the long driveway and what a scenic journey!)

We would return and thanks everyone for a lovely weekend.

Room Tip: Room 28 is huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BellaGold21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne M, General Manager at Stonefield Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Thank you for choosing to spend your anniversary with us and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay so much. Never fear, when you stay with us next time we'll make sure you have 2 sausages! Have a lovely Christmas from all the team at Stonefield!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed over Saturday and Sunday night and found the weekend a lovely experience. The staff were very pleasent and helpful the service very good . We had dinner both nights at the Hotel and the food was superb. Breakfast also very good using local produce. The room was fine and the various rooms in the hotel ie Lounge,bar, library were very old school and charming.
We will return to this hotel as we found not only the location fantastic but the hotel itself.
We also went for a walk around the island ( which the hotel owns ) which was great for a hang-over!!!
The shower in our room was fantastic so powerfull you had to hang on to the wall or you were off!!
Great stay

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlogiuntoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight with family and dog good sized room with fantastic views to the loch. Rooms and bathroom slightly dated although in keeping with the character if the building. Restaurant and bar service good and food very good living up to its awards. All staff very friendly and the open fires warm and welcoming would definitely stay again.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Clan007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I stayed here for one night recently on a business trip and had a very nice night. I was shown to my room on arrival and offered a tour of the hotel. My room (9 I think?) was comfortable and warm with a large clean bathroom. The bath took seconds to fill with lots of hot water and bubbles and the beds were comfortable and came with a teddy bear to 'look after you' during your stay. Only dissapointment was the double bed was actually two singles, which always frustrates me. But I still managed to get a great nights sleep, and actually slept through my alarm. The resturant was fantastic, although my steak was well done (asked for medium well). There was a strong smell of fish, although I think that is to be expected given all the fresh fish being cooked. Amazing views and stunning grounds. Please fill the bird feeders - they were all empty and the birds are hungry!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charlotteJimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbert
1.9 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
467 reviews
2.6 mi away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
281 reviews
4.1 mi away
Portavadie Loch Fyne
Portavadie Loch Fyne
#1 of 1 in Portavadie
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
289 reviews
23.9 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#1 of 3 in Brodick
3,766 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Kames Hotel
The Kames Hotel
#2 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonefield Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonefield Castle Hotel

Address: Loch Fyne, Tarbert PA29 6YJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Tarbert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tarbert
Price Range: £61 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stonefield Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stonefield Castle Hotel is an outstanding example of Scottish baronial architecture. Built in 1837, the Castle stands high on the famous Kintyre peninsula, commanding spectacular panoramic views over Loch Fyne. In keeping with its unique location and character, many of the original period furnishings have been retained to complement the timeless ambience that is Stonefield Castle. Guests can relax in the traditional elegance of wood panelled lounges with fine corniced ceilings, unwind on leisurely walks through the sixty acres of woodland grounds, or simply enjoy a leisurely pace of life far removed from the stress of city living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Stonefield Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonefield Castle Tarbert
Hotel Stonefield Castle
Stonefield Castle Hotel Tarbert, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing