We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stonefield Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Stonefield Castle(Stonefield)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchor Hotel(Tarbert)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kilfinan Hotel(Kilfinan)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Kames Hotel(Tighnabruaich)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal an Lochan(Tighnabruaich)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Allt-Na-Craig(Ardrishaig)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grey Gull Inn(Ardrishaig)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,104)
Filter reviews
1,104 results
Traveller rating
546
369
121
42
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
546
369
121
42
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdrawing roomloch fynedining roomstunning locationpublic roomsloch viewfudgethe general managersnooker tablefour poster bedlovely groundscommon areaseggs benedictamazing viewsold buildingfine diningopen fire
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
598 - 603 of 1,104 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The only good thing about this place is the views.The place smelled musty, furniture looked dirty,service was very very slow,waited very long time to get served at the bar,breakfast was a joke,were sitting for a whole hour before was even offered pot of tea and it wasn't that busy.Evening meal was disgusting,not much choice if you dont like fish.No cell phone service but you get free wi-fi, NOT, the signal not strong enough to even get connected. The bathroom was dilapidated,and not even enough toilet paper was given.For the prices they charge was expecting a lot more n glamour to go with it but was very disappointed and would not recommend this castle to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank kathleen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne M, General Manager at Stonefield Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

I have contacted Trip Advisor and requested your comments be removed. You and the rest of your party of eight caused havoc and disruption in Stonefield on Tuesday 27th May. Other diners in our restaurant requested they be moved further away from your table as your behaviour was upsetting them. We were inundated by telephone calls from other guests in the middle of the night complaining of the party you were having in your room, we had to deal with very dissatisfied guests yesterday morning because of lack of sleep. We have a strict NO SMOKING policy which you totally ignored despite notices in your bedrooms and members of my staff asking you to refrain from smoking in Room 8 yesterday morning. We have taken photographs of the room which testify to this. When I spoke with other members of your party yesterday, they apologised for your behaviour and assured me that as you had departed there would not be a repeat last night which there was not. We are a quiet country house hotel and I hope readers of Tripadvisor will judge us on the majority of reviews and not on yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Arrived here with great expectations,looked a fabulus old Scottish house come Hotel,Interior had pictures of the original owners and was all i expected because of the History involved.Now the evening meal was i thought very poor and the breakfast also,for a £150 a night i expected better.Rooms perfectly ok and comfortable,Staff very good and polite,service at breakfast was slow.Very dissapointed with fried breakfast,1 egg 1 bacon 1 sausage a few beans a slice of haggis and a slice of black pudding,Considering i had just come back from Tenereffe and had a fry up with 2 eggs 2 back bacon 2 sausage, beans, tomato fried bread 2 euro 95 cents.no contest,won,t be staying here again,i feel if any tourist had the breakfast i had i would be ashamed to say it was Scotland.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fasttourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had a lovely week-end at this charming hotel set in glorious scenery.
The food was excellent, the staff very friendly and the experience was just one of total relaxation.
There are plenty of walks to undertake in the grounds.
The view from the dining room is fantastic.
The only thing missing is a spa and it would be perfect.
Can definitely recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the sleigh bed
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed here 3 nights over new year, food was excellent on some nights and poor on others. Served fudge afterwards which is a nice touch. Excellent views and walks, great if you bought your dog along like I did. Rooms are getting on a bit, and bathrooms defiantly need updating, but lovely quiet, scenic way to bring in the new year up in scotland.

Room Tip: bring your dog
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and were amazed at the exceptional food - should definitely have one or even two Michelin stars. Apparently the chef, Billy, has only been there a couple of weeks and has impressed both customers and staff alike. The setting is beautiful and the staff very friendly and efficient. Only thing letting it down is that the interior desperately needs a complete makeover - very 'tired'. But food makes up for this - truly wonderful!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oxfordmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews