We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and lovely food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stonefield Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tarbert
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My husband treated me to a lovely surprise weekend away here 31st May. First impressions when we arrived, the place has the wow factor, Amazing location and superb views. Pleasant greeting at reception and shown to our room (30) lovely room, good size with lovely old four poster bed. The room had lock views and had everything you need from a hotel room. The bathroom however was a little tired with paper falling off walls and the shower seemed like it would come away in your hands when you turn it on.
We stayed for 2 nights and had dinner in the hotel on the first night. The food I must say was exceptional, close to Michelin star however the service did not quite match the quality of food. It was a bit slow but also lacked the finesse you should receive with such food. Some staff training is required in the hotel to sharpen this area of the hotel up a bit. The poorest part of service and an example of this was the lady on reception Saturday night. We left in the evening to go for dinner in Tarbert, the woman on reception didn't even look up from her desk to even acknowledge us let alone wish us a pleasant evening. When we returned she was still sat there, the hotel reception not busy with no one else around and no acknowledgement again 'welcome back and hope you had a pleasant evening' no, nothing. For such a Stunning place the service and staff need to sharpen up and treat their guests with a bit more Scottish hospitality that we have encounter on so many weekend away stays. Overall a lovely stay but not 5 stars.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 23cherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,053)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

546 - 552 of 1,053 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

I stayed one night DB&B with my wife and a couple of friends. The visit was a good deal financially.

The first impressions of the hotel is good as you drive up the drive through the woods (mind the speed bumps). The style is nice with amazing views of Loch Fyne and the lovely gardens and woods.

The plus points for us was nice staff, nice public rooms, a nice bar and excellent food in the restaurant. Dinner was nice. Wine was fairly priced. The bedroom was a bit small but when you get a deal you cannot moan although it had nice furniture and a great shower. The period decor is cosy.

All the staff were cheery and helpful.

The down sides were that the breakfast, although plentiful, was a little tastless, and the windows badly needed a wash. Our bedroom had a standard bed which I personally do not like. No complaint on this point however as when you get a deal you do not select a room standard.

Would I go back? Yes I would.

Room Tip: ensure you as for a king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheena59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The only good thing about this place is the views.The place smelled musty, furniture looked dirty,service was very very slow,waited very long time to get served at the bar,breakfast was a joke,were sitting for a whole hour before was even offered pot of tea and it wasn't that busy.Evening meal was disgusting,not much choice if you dont like fish.No cell phone service but you get free wi-fi, NOT, the signal not strong enough to even get connected. The bathroom was dilapidated,and not even enough toilet paper was given.For the prices they charge was expecting a lot more n glamour to go with it but was very disappointed and would not recommend this castle to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank kathleen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne M, General Manager at Stonefield Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

I have contacted Trip Advisor and requested your comments be removed. You and the rest of your party of eight caused havoc and disruption in Stonefield on Tuesday 27th May. Other diners in our restaurant requested they be moved further away from your table as your behaviour was upsetting them. We were inundated by telephone calls from other guests in the middle of the night complaining of the party you were having in your room, we had to deal with very dissatisfied guests yesterday morning because of lack of sleep. We have a strict NO SMOKING policy which you totally ignored despite notices in your bedrooms and members of my staff asking you to refrain from smoking in Room 8 yesterday morning. We have taken photographs of the room which testify to this. When I spoke with other members of your party yesterday, they apologised for your behaviour and assured me that as you had departed there would not be a repeat last night which there was not. We are a quiet country house hotel and I hope readers of Tripadvisor will judge us on the majority of reviews and not on yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Arrived here with great expectations,looked a fabulus old Scottish house come Hotel,Interior had pictures of the original owners and was all i expected because of the History involved.Now the evening meal was i thought very poor and the breakfast also,for a £150 a night i expected better.Rooms perfectly ok and comfortable,Staff very good and polite,service at breakfast was slow.Very dissapointed with fried breakfast,1 egg 1 bacon 1 sausage a few beans a slice of haggis and a slice of black pudding,Considering i had just come back from Tenereffe and had a fry up with 2 eggs 2 back bacon 2 sausage, beans, tomato fried bread 2 euro 95 cents.no contest,won,t be staying here again,i feel if any tourist had the breakfast i had i would be ashamed to say it was Scotland.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fasttourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had a lovely week-end at this charming hotel set in glorious scenery.
The food was excellent, the staff very friendly and the experience was just one of total relaxation.
There are plenty of walks to undertake in the grounds.
The view from the dining room is fantastic.
The only thing missing is a spa and it would be perfect.
Can definitely recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the sleigh bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed here 3 nights over new year, food was excellent on some nights and poor on others. Served fudge afterwards which is a nice touch. Excellent views and walks, great if you bought your dog along like I did. Rooms are getting on a bit, and bathrooms defiantly need updating, but lovely quiet, scenic way to bring in the new year up in scotland.

Room Tip: bring your dog
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and were amazed at the exceptional food - should definitely have one or even two Michelin stars. Apparently the chef, Billy, has only been there a couple of weeks and has impressed both customers and staff alike. The setting is beautiful and the staff very friendly and efficient. Only thing letting it down is that the interior desperately needs a complete makeover - very 'tired'. But food makes up for this - truly wonderful!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oxfordmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbert
1.9 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
465 reviews
2.6 mi away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
280 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
289 reviews
23.9 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#1 of 3 in Brodick
3,756 reviews
4.1 mi away
Portavadie Loch Fyne
Portavadie Loch Fyne
#1 of 1 in Portavadie
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonefield Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonefield Castle Hotel

Address: Loch Fyne, Tarbert PA29 6YJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Tarbert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tarbert
Price Range: £63 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stonefield Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stonefield Castle Hotel is an outstanding example of Scottish baronial architecture. Built in 1837, the Castle stands high on the famous Kintyre peninsula, commanding spectacular panoramic views over Loch Fyne. In keeping with its unique location and character, many of the original period furnishings have been retained to complement the timeless ambience that is Stonefield Castle. Guests can relax in the traditional elegance of wood panelled lounges with fine corniced ceilings, unwind on leisurely walks through the sixty acres of woodland grounds, or simply enjoy a leisurely pace of life far removed from the stress of city living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Stonefield Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonefield Castle Tarbert
Hotel Stonefield Castle
Stonefield Castle Hotel Tarbert, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing