We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly amazing castle in a great setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stonefield Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tarbert
Certificate of Excellence
Lafayette, Colorado
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Truly amazing castle in a great setting”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

As you can see from the many photos, this place is a wonder to behold. The exterior is photogenic and the interior is grand, with tall ceilings, massive oil paintings and amazing antique furniture. The actual hotel rooms are nice enough, but not quite on a par with the rest of the building. The restaurant is very good, with wonderful views. There are also a number of walking paths in the area, which we greatly enjoyed. The staff were friendly enough, though with a formal bearing, bringing to mind a 5-star Manhattan hotel with a lovely Scottish accent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cabdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    327
    100
    37
    20
See reviews for
121
628
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johnstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We have just returned from our second stay at Stonefield Castle, it really is a lovely place to stay, yes it's a wee bit tired in places but the location and staff are a delight in particular Anne the manager.
Everything from the lounges, bar and the relaxed feel was just great, they also welcome dogs which is a bonus and this coupled with 60 acres of beautiful gardens was just a treat for our wee dog.
Stonefield Castle really is a lovely place to visit and Anne and all her staff will make you feel very welcome, highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elaine g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We treated ourselves to a loch view room. The room was magnificent with a four poster bed. However, the mattress itself was extremely hard. The breakfast was made to order from a menu. We ate both nights in the bar. We found the service and food excellent except for the fish and chips. The batter was to hard. The staff were international nonetheless offered professional service.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 30...lovely (in the old part with loch view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Spent a 2 night stay here last weekend, hotel is set in lovely grounds overlooking the loch and looks really impressive from the outside as you drive up. We were given a tour of the hotel after check in which was a nice touch, explaining where things were and timings for dining. The restaurant has stunning views over the loch and all the staff we met were friendly and efficient, the bar is in the old country house style but fits in really well. Our room was situated in the annexe which was built in the 70's - this is an area I feel needs to be addressed. The corridor is very dark and dingy and needs to be redecorated, old doors with badly chipped paint just let the place down a little, the room itself was fine - well presented with a view over the car park and gardens. The bathroom however really needs a make over - while it was clean a new suite and fixtures and fittings would not go a miss. We were in room 1 next to the snooker room so we could hear the other guests playing snooker and chatting away through the wall.

Even with this in mind we had a lovely stay and the food we had for dinner on one night and the breakfast was excellent.

Would be a really top class hotel with a few bits being freshened up.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room in the main building not the annexe.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DreamT117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

So refreshing & reinvigorating (although we did practically nothing as I had damaged leg) 2 night stay. It really was more than 3 days as we arrived about noon on first day and stayed ( having cleared room ) till late afternoon last day as it is open to non- residents we were blessed with lovely weather. This enhanced the beautiful views of Loch Fyne and luxuriant but not too formalised gardens. Acres to enjoy
Staff: from check in to check-out service exemplary. Naturally friendly helpful Charming each & everyone we met
We had a suite (room 32) It had windows on 3 sides ( corner site)
Bathroom huge. Great shower basin , bath & loo all perfect in traditional but so attractive style
Loved stretching out in bath with still space to go. Bathrobes and slippers
Now the restaurant and food: the restaurant has wonderful huge windows so glorious views every direction. Seving staff charming and so obliging. Didn't meet chef. ( believe Billy & Stephen) but their work was outstanding . We had sea bass, duck ,pork belly with scampi over two nights. The vegetable s were delicious. Wish for recipe for leek herb potato mash. Best Cullen skink ever. Lovely sweets. I enjoyed beet root sorbet! Really excellent standard. Every course including a
wee 'amuse bouche'
Breakfast relaxed and very well done Plenty of choice. Husband full Scottish. I smoke Haddock with poached eggg. Mmmmmm
Overall all had a very relaxed ' you're at home feel' but every wish catered for
We came over on the ferry rather than the road which gave more of an away feeling
Would visit again at with pleasure
They took account of my being a slow eater and accommodated to suit
I was slightly unwell so a sheet needed to be changed. The staff did that in a twinkle but their main concern was 'was I okay?' It was just some nasty pills I take

Room Tip: Loch view suite in old castle - perfect. Didn't see any other rooms so can't comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 530Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We are regular visitors at Stonefield and were here again to finalise our wedding plans. Together with our families, we had a wonderful and relaxing stay and were treated like royalty for our wedding menu tasting. Thanks to all staff for another excellent weekend!

Room Tip: Loch views are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Car0lynM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Wonderful stay in a magical area, staff couldn't have been any nicer. The hotel is stunning but starting to look a little rough around the edges. Odd coat of paint and bathroom could do with a reseal. Fudge the dog was very welcoming as well. Paid for dinner and breakfast and wasn't disappointed at all. Would go back again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbert
1.9 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
2.6 mi away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The Kames Hotel
The Kames Hotel
#2 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
8.0 mi away
Allt-Na-Craig
Allt-Na-Craig
#1 of 2 in Ardrishaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
12.0 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonefield Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonefield Castle Hotel

Property: Stonefield Castle Hotel
Address: Loch Fyne, Tarbert PA29 6YJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Tarbert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tarbert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stonefield Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stonefield Castle Hotel is an outstanding example of Scottish baronial architecture. Built in 1837, the Castle stands high on the famous Kintyre peninsula, commanding spectacular panoramic views over Loch Fyne. In keeping with its unique location and character, many of the original period furnishings have been retained to complement the timeless ambience that is Stonefield Castle. Guests can relax in the traditional elegance of wood panelled lounges with fine corniced ceilings, unwind on leisurely walks through the sixty acres of woodland grounds, or simply enjoy a leisurely pace of life far removed from the stress of city living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stonefield Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonefield Castle Tarbert
Hotel Stonefield Castle
Stonefield Castle Hotel Tarbert, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing