We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely night out” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of West Loch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
West Loch Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tarbert
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“lovely night out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

went for a birthday celebration dinner for sons 21st. great food, staff and beautiful hotel. would go again. can t believe i ve lived so close for years and only just got round to going! maybe try an overnight stay to get best from it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katieqr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    62
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
57
98
9
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

West Loch Hotel is one that I will return to. My stay was the night before my early morning ferry travel from Kennacraig to Islay. The room was nice, clean, comfortable and quiet. I thoroughly enjoyed my visit to their lounge for food and drink. The folks staying there and staff were very nice to this yank and made me feel welcomed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England
Level Contributor
202 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 704 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

A small hotel in a convenient & attractive location between Tarbert and the Kennacraig ferry terminal with the shore of West Loch Tarbert across the road in front of the hotel. Pleasantly decorated in a cod tartan theme in pastel shades. Our welcome on arrival was perfunctory with no assistance with our luggage being offered.

The bedroom was a huge disappointment.
We had reserved a twin-bedded room. This turned out to be a small double bed and a single bed. The mattress of the single bed had a massive hollow and was impossible to sleep on.
No chairs in bedrooms; just one very hard wooden stool. This in one of the better (read more expensive) rooms.
Wi-Fi does not reach top floor bedrooms. Mercifully and unusually for rural Scotland there is a good 3G signal (EE).
The smallest television I have ever seen. I did not know they made them this small.
The difference in pressure between the hot & cold water supplies makes it virtually impossible to mix water to the desired temperature. You either get hot water or cold: a binary choice.
Although the bath has a shower head the way the side wall is angled in at 45 degrees makes it impossible to stand in the bathtub to take a shower.
A curiosity of the plumbing was that flushing the toilet caused the cold tap in the basin to come on!
Numerous minor maintenance issues that could so easily be resolved including bath & basin plugs with broken chains, a tap that leaked from the barrel when in use and mould in the grouting around both bath & handbasin.

The restaurant has a surprisingly ambitious menu; perhaps a little overambitious. Portions err towards the generous and prices are reasonable. Breakfasts are freshly cooked to order.

Room Tip: Low floor if you want wi-fi
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SouthOxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

My partner booked this last minute,so after the football we headed up,so we got to "tarbet" so I phoned the lovely host for directions ,only to realise it was still another 1hr half drive,easy mistake to make (tarbet - tarbert ) so off we travel ,we arrived in the village ,how picturesque (postcard material),then drove one mile outside to arrive @ west loch hotel, where do I start,the owners so lovely and very welcoming,straight away we felt a peace .We arranged to get dinner @ the hotel and "WOW" what a hidden gem,the food very well balanced ,on the seasons cooked to perfection,we travel far and wide to eat good food, this is the place,please please please,even if you don't stay at this lovely establishment go and sample the food , even the waiting staff Grace and 1 other (very sorry lovely lady) where so welcoming ,I don't have enough characters to use because if I started we would be here all day ,so if you enjoy real quality food (5*) and a welcoming smile and professional service , make a point in trying here,so 11/10 ,I can't wait to go again ,not to be missed,I am just sad I won't be eating this quality fresh food anytime soon until we go back,thank you for a fantastic time ,culinary experience and wonderful stay .

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Great 3 night stay as the middle part of our tour of the Clyde. Hotel was easy to find with plenty of parking in front .Owners were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. An outside cigar immediately brought forth cushions for the garden furniture. Passing through the entrance hall, the restaurant was on the left and on the right a couple of lounges and the bar. One of the lounges was a conservatory with views looking out over the loch. It was great fun watching motorists speeding towards Kennacraig to make a ferry deadline.

The bedrooms were comfortable with tea and coffee making facilities, but a little cramped for two people - bit of juggle to open the door carrying very much. Shower room was in comparison reletively spacious with plenty of toiletries. Food was excellent with a varied menu - particularly enjoyable was the smoked salmon on the breakfast menu. Bar was well stocked with a great range of whiskies - but watch the prices - I was slightly shocked at the cost of three measures of a wooded expression of the Springbank Longrow !

Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We had a rear facing room which was very quiet and away from the main room, though we did miss out o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bearair52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aalter
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

We were welcomed by the friendly and helpful Canadian hotel keepers. The room was nice, although not specially spacious.

The only real problem was the bathroom: the taps need some serious repair, as it was impossible to regulate the water temperature and the flow of water. The shower had to be taken in the bath, which was positioned underneath the slanted roof, meaning you had to kneel to take a shower.

Otherwise, our stay was very pleasant indeed. The hotels keepers went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. The bar offered a plentiful assortment of whiskeys and gins, the restaurant staff was very helpful and the chef's food was very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ivanover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

This is my 3rd visit and every time it just gets better............. My dog, "Fly" recognises the hotel and excitement takes over not sure if the treats have some influence over this? She is allowed everywhere except the dining room and settles as if at home because of the wonderful atmosphere. The food was fantastic with a menu of variety using local produce, served by friendly staff with just the right amount of attention. The room was clean with beautiful views over the loch. The bar is now stocking an impressive range of malt whiskies which I would have loved to have had more time to sample, sadly I was only there for 2 nights. We will be returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbert
2.6 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
1.2 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 3 in Tighnabruaich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
The Kames Hotel
The Kames Hotel
#2 of 3 in Tighnabruaich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
10.4 mi away
Allt-Na-Craig
Allt-Na-Craig
#1 of 2 in Ardrishaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
1.0 mi away
Knap Guest House
Knap Guest House
#3 of 14 in Tarbert
5.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Loch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Loch Hotel

Property: West Loch Hotel
Address: Campbeltown Road, Tarbert PA296YF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Tarbert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tarbert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — West Loch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set at the top of the spectacular Kintyre Peninsula West Loch Hotel overlooks the sea loch from which it takes its name a perfect base from which to explore Kintyre itself, the islands of Arran, Islay, Gigha, and Jura and miles of stunning coastline in this beautiful part of Scotland. Ferry, ferry close! The West Loch Hotel is easily accessible to ferries for Islay at Kennecraig, Arran at Claonaig and Gigha at Tayinloan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your West Loch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Loch Hotel Tarbert, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing