We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A West Coast Gem”
Review of West Loch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
West Loch Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tarbert
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2013

What can I say?
I arrived after spending the best part of 24 hours wide awake driving here there and everywhere.
I arrived about 6pm after a six hour journey from hell, from Inverurie.
Peace. Peaceful surroundings, even the dog didn't bark - take note Maxi!!!!
The rooms are great, nice and warm, with free wi fi access.
Very nice lounge area with a very well stocked bar, unfortunately out of bounds due to work commitments.
Great welcome, great staff. Great location.
GREAT HOTEL!!!!
Thanks to all of you!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Welshknight59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

Recently had an overnight stay before catching the ferry to Islay. Warm welcome and attentive staff. Stayed in room 3, above the main entrance with views across the Loch, which was a very comfortable albeit cosy double. Food offered was excellent and good value. We should just have ordered 2 starters as portions are huge. Would certainly stay again next time in the area.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed at the West Loch Hotel for one night with our two dogs we had such a warm friendly welcome on what was a very wet grey afternoon after driving 300 mile`s,
The room was warm and comfortable with everything you would need including fluffy towels toiletries and tea & coffee making facilities.
On going down to the conservatory with wonderful views over the west loch we were greeted by one of the hosts whose welcome extended to making sure we were comfortable also offering our dogs ( Meg & Blue ) some dog biscuits.
We had our evening meal there and what a treat absolutely brill, only wish we could of stayed longer, they also have a well stocked bar of local ales and whisky of which the owner is very knowledgeable and interesting to listen to. Don't miss staying here a real gem, owner and staff are first rate and certainly know how to make you feel so welcome, including your four legged friends.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blackdog11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed one night in this hotel and we loved it! The building itself was pretty but a bit run down but the staff were very hospitable and friendly. The food there was amazing! We couldn't have asked for a nicer place, a definite goto for a cosy getaway. It's also the nearest hotel to the Kennacraig ferry. Hope to visit there again :)

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jackib89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

went for a birthday celebration dinner for sons 21st. great food, staff and beautiful hotel. would go again. can t believe i ve lived so close for years and only just got round to going! maybe try an overnight stay to get best from it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katieqr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

West Loch Hotel is one that I will return to. My stay was the night before my early morning ferry travel from Kennacraig to Islay. The room was nice, clean, comfortable and quiet. I thoroughly enjoyed my visit to their lounge for food and drink. The folks staying there and staff were very nice to this yank and made me feel welcomed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

A small hotel in a convenient & attractive location between Tarbert and the Kennacraig ferry terminal with the shore of West Loch Tarbert across the road in front of the hotel. Pleasantly decorated in a cod tartan theme in pastel shades. Our welcome on arrival was perfunctory with no assistance with our luggage being offered.

The bedroom was a huge disappointment.
We had reserved a twin-bedded room. This turned out to be a small double bed and a single bed. The mattress of the single bed had a massive hollow and was impossible to sleep on.
No chairs in bedrooms; just one very hard wooden stool. This in one of the better (read more expensive) rooms.
Wi-Fi does not reach top floor bedrooms. Mercifully and unusually for rural Scotland there is a good 3G signal (EE).
The smallest television I have ever seen. I did not know they made them this small.
The difference in pressure between the hot & cold water supplies makes it virtually impossible to mix water to the desired temperature. You either get hot water or cold: a binary choice.
Although the bath has a shower head the way the side wall is angled in at 45 degrees makes it impossible to stand in the bathtub to take a shower.
A curiosity of the plumbing was that flushing the toilet caused the cold tap in the basin to come on!
Numerous minor maintenance issues that could so easily be resolved including bath & basin plugs with broken chains, a tap that leaked from the barrel when in use and mould in the grouting around both bath & handbasin.

The restaurant has a surprisingly ambitious menu; perhaps a little overambitious. Portions err towards the generous and prices are reasonable. Breakfasts are freshly cooked to order.

Room Tip: Low floor if you want wi-fi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SouthOxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbert
2.6 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
1.1 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
465 reviews
10.5 mi away
Allt-Na-Craig
Allt-Na-Craig
#1 of 2 in Ardrishaig
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#1 of 3 in Brodick
3,757 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
481 reviews
14.3 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Loch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Loch Hotel

Address: West Ridge Campbeltown Road, Tarbert PA29 6YF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Tarbert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tarbert
Price Range: £84 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — West Loch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, family-run establishment, the West Loch Hotel dates from around 1780, and is well known locally for having some of the best food in the area. We are well placed for guests passing through, and for those wishing to spend longer in the area, exploring Argyll & the Isles. Ideally located for people heading on the whisky trail to Islay (just minutes from the ferry), most guests find our large whisky selection the perfect start to their adventure! A charming, former coaching inn, the hotel has been sympathetically modernised over the years, retaining many of its original features. Our rooms are dog-friendly, with a choice of double or single rooms, and we have also got family rooms available for those travelling with children. Able to cater for small events, from birthday parties to weddings, we always go the extra mile to make sure your special occasion is extra special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your West Loch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Loch Hotel Tarbert, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing