We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Lunch Spot”
Review of West Loch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
West Loch Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tarbert
Certificate of Excellence
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Lunch Spot”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stopped by this Hotel while on the Campeltown to Oban cycle route. There were 15 of us and the hotel staff were fantastic, great friendly service and the open sandwiches were the best I've ever had,. Smoked venison and pear chutney, truly outstanding. The whole group were full of praise for every option chosen. I very rarely write reviews but felt compelled to write this. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    68
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
62
108
9
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
East Kilbride
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Called in here for Lunch on holiday Monday with my wife, daughter and son in law. Absolutely amazed by the quality and presentation of the food here. Slightly pricier than other places in the area but worth every penny. Don't know who the chef is but the standard of food, presentation etc. Was excellent. Well done! We'll definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night prior to trip to Islay. Very welcoming owner and efficient staff. It really is a beautiful location. Food is of a very high standard. Emphasis on local produce, which is great to see.
Happy to recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Broadhug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We have never stayed in this hotel but at various times over 40 years have celebrated our wedding anniversaries here with a dinner. We do not live in the area now but return to visit friends and recently went once again to sample the dinner here. We were not disappointed as the menu and standard of cooking and presentation are remarkable for a rural area such as this. The dishes often have a slight quirk from the usual which is a great delight and makes for a really interesting and tasty evening out. Friendly staff make you feel really at home.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackBrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I stayed one night here en route to Islay. My husband and I arrived past 9.00pm due to delays in our international flights to Glasgow, and was greeted with warmth and hospitality by the receptionist. The host was chatty, friendly and, underneath the professionalism, very sincere.
The room was clean, comfortable, warm and very welcome especially after a 100-mile drive from Glasgow. The dinner and breakfast we had were excellent! I had the same two courses at a premium hotel in Glasgow, and the food there paled beside the freshness of the food and the light touch of the chef at West Loch Hotel! Would recommend this to anyone who wants to explore the country west of Loch Fyne!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hwee Leng T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I cannot begin to describe how lovely the staff where at this hotel. We where staying here for 2 nights with our son for a wedding in the area and from the minute we arrived we where made to feel at home.

The staff looked after the my son and his friend so well and even served them supper in their room after the wedding so they could watch a movie and wind down.

When we returned from the wedding (1am) they had left a superb spread of snacks, beers and wines for us. It was a real highlight and so thoughtful.

The food was excellent and they fed all 16 ushers a huge and delicious meal along with local ales and yummy wine.

The rooms are basic but we did not expect anything more for the money we spent.

A great little find with the most excellent and caring staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunoon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed here for 9 nights while on business in the area. I definitely "won a watch" with the companies hotel choice. The staff are excellent, as is the service. The room was very well kept and of a high standard. The bed was the comfiest I've ever slept in. The food was of a top restaurant standard and should the menu not fit your bill the chef will happily accomodate your needs. I will definitely make a point of staying again.

Room Tip: I believe room 1 is meant to be the best. I stayed in room 3 and it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbert
1.1 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
436 reviews
2.6 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
8.2 mi away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
The Kames Hotel
The Kames Hotel
#2 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
265 reviews
14.3 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
276 reviews
1.0 mi away
Knap Guest House
Knap Guest House
#2 of 14 in Tarbert
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Loch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Loch Hotel

Property: West Loch Hotel
Address: Campbeltown Road, Tarbert PA296YF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Tarbert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tarbert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — West Loch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, family-run establishment, the West Loch Hotel dates from around 1780, and is well known locally for having some of the best food in the area. We are well placed for guests passing through, and for those wishing to spend longer in the area, exploring Argyll & the Isles. Ideally located for people heading on the whisky trail to Islay (just minutes from the ferry), most guests find our large whisky selection the perfect start to their adventure! A charming, former coaching inn, the hotel has been sympathetically modernised over the years, retaining many of its original features. Our rooms are dog-friendly, with a choice of double or single rooms, and we have also got family rooms available for those travelling with children. Able to cater for small events, from birthday parties to weddings, we always go the extra mile to make sure your special occasion is extra special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your West Loch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Loch Hotel Tarbert, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing