We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A true haven. Cnocachanach Cottage is the cure...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Tarbert, Kintyre Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Philip b
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A true haven. Cnocachanach Cottage is the cure to the city blues!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We sent two weeks in this fabulous cottage and savored every moment of it. The location of Cnocachanach Cottage already ticked most of the boxes for us as we were seeking a quiet moment away from the London hustle and bustle. I don't think I've ever enjoyed silence so much! Surrounded by nature we enjoyed long walks in the amazing and very varied countryside that this part of Scotland offers.

The cottage itself was adequately spacious, very comfortable and well equipped offering us everything we could think of. The only thing is there is very poor phone reception there, but that can be seen as a plus or a negative point depending on what you're after!

We were received very well by Bob the owner who took a lot of care to make sure we were welcomed and had everything we needed before leaving us to enjoy the peace of his great cottage. I thoroughly recommend Cnocachanach Cottage, especially if you're after peace, quiet and nature. Being woken up by sheep bleeting is as noisey as it will get!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamesie40
England
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A real getaway-from-it-all stay”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Bit nervous about being "isolated" as a bit of a townie but enjoyed every minute of our weel long break. The cottage has been recently renovated and the owner has done a great job it is cosy, comfortable and has just about everything you need for a relaxing stay. We were very lucky that the weather was warm & sunny but it didn't stop us cosying down in the evening with a log fire, one of the must haves on our rental list. The film collection is extensive and I did manage to see a couple I missed first time around but we also took some home made DVD's. Wifi worked perfectly. We appreciated being able to sit outside to enjoy a glass of wine and a chat with the regular dog walkers who lived nearby. Slept like a log every night in the comfortable bed. Borrowed the picnic set everyday so we could eat al fresco where ever we went. Highlights - saw an eagle on the very first day, great local walks although I still can't get used to walking through peoples gardens under the right to roam arrangement, the seals having fun off the cost at Carradale, the stars in sky at night - so rare to not suffer from light pollution and dinner at the Kilberry Inn. I would highly recommend a stay at this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Pretty much everything!
Liked least: The colour of the water, which is from a private supply & perfectly safe but the colour is very off putting.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David0079...
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Enchanting and captivating, truly idyllic..”
Reviewed 19 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

If you want to be immersed in the beautiful and breathtaking Argyll scenery, then Cnocachanach Cottage is definitely for you.

Located near the end of a single track road,Cnocachanach Cottage has been thoughtfully renovated to make a charming and welcoming abode..

Everything if you could wish for has been provided by the owners, indeed the kitchen was better equipped than my own.

Magnificent walks in all directions abound from your own front door. If a short meander takes your fancy, then head out along the bay towards Ardpatrick Point. For a more adventurous walk, Stornoway Bay on the other side of the peninsular offers spectacular coastal scenery.

The night sky is truly a sight to behold when viewed from this unspoilt location. Being far away from city lights it enchants and captivates as no other place can.

Will we be back, absolutely and soon!

David

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and generally amenities offered.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard M
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Perfect Scottish Retreat For A Couple”
Reviewed 21 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed at Cnocachanach Cottage at the start of August 2013 and had the most restful holiday we have had for a long time. The cottage itself is remote but has all mod cons including WIFI for those who need to access email etc (me unfortunately). The cottage is situatedon the Kintyre peninsular between Tarbert and Kilbery, the area is simply stunning and ideal for walking, cycling or driving - with fantastic views around every bend and an amazing array of wildlife. We saw sea otters, golden eagles, seals and dolphins during our week. There is plenty to do in the area and we drove up to Oban and caught the ferry across to Mull, visited Arran, Campbell Town and our favourite day was across on the island of Gigha - simply stunning beaches and coves. All in all we could not recommend this cottage highly enough and if you are a couple looking for the perfect getaway - look no further. We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet without for going all mod cons
Liked least: Lack of mains water - but it was not a problem - just had to be conscious of this
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haraldhoo...
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Oasis of rest, beautiful area, comfortable cottage”
Reviewed 6 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

This cottage is located in a beautiful and quiet area. You can make beautiful long walks, along the coast or through the forest just from the cottage. There are detailed hiking maps available at the cottage.

Don't be surprised with sheep staring at you from the other side of the window when you open your curtains in the morning. It was all the company we had during our stay and that just how we liked it.

Small as it is, the cottage is very well equipped. I expected to be 'camping' but the kitchen has everything for real cooking. Besides the kitchen, there's a good movie selection in case of bad weather.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful area
Liked least: Bed is small
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing