We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Anchor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Anchor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tarbert
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed 22 September 2011

This hotel stood out from the others on the seafront in Tarbert because it looks clean and inviting. We weren’t disappointed. We found the staff very friendly, and the attentive owner/manager showed us to our room and helped with bags etc. We ate in the seafood restaurant and food was very good. Room was small but warm and comfortable. Room clean and looked recently decorated, shower also looked new and clean. Overall a very comfortable stay. Only slight problem was the smell in the restaurant - reminded me of a cat’s litter tray, presumably from all that fish!
I would recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skibuff8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    104
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
54
231
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We spent a fabulous night here in September 2011. The hotel is modern the room are tastefully decorated and extremely comfortable. We had a fantastic view of the harbour and the bed was made for a pleasant nights sleep. We will definately return here to further explore this superb part of Scotland. The Sea Bed Restaurant served the most amazing dinner of local seafood at a very reasonable price.

Cannot speak highly enough about the Anchor Hotel.

David Kleemann
Perth, Western Australia

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times during 2010 and 2011 for business. Since its refurbishment, the rooms are now furnished to a very high standard, with wonderfully comfortable beds, large shower, free wifi and excellent views over the harbour (if you get a sea view room - which I recommend!). Staff range from very friendly and helpful to a bit clueless, but generally ok. I have eaten at this hotel a lot, and the food is usually very good (local sea food, fresh and wonderfully tasty) however I did have one bad meal where the pork was very badly overcooked and the dessert inedible. But this is definitely one of the best hotels in the area, perhaps a little on the pricey side, but worth it if you want nice food and a relaxing nights sleep.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank green_lady888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Bright, welcoming, and that was Beverly. She looked after us well. She gave us an upgrade in our room was very helpful. The hotel was very clean, bright, and beds were so comfortable did not want to get up. The food in restaurant was great and staff made us feel so welcome nothing was to much bother. Breakfast was of a very high standard. Would recommend this hotel as the best place in Tarbert to eat and stay. Congratulations to who hired the staff look after them as they are all gems.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjrankine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We were passing through Tarbert when we had urgent need of a computer.Our daughter needed to forward information by the deadline that day for a placement linked to her university course. If she didn't do it, she would miss a very important opportunity. The library was shut and the tourist board couldn't help. I went into the Anchor Hotel and explained our predicament, and after only a moment's thought, the wonderful Alistair - proprietor - allowed her unbridled access to his computer in the office. The situation was more complicated than we thought and the whole process took about an hour and a half to two hours. We were becoming quite embarrassed, but Alistair and Beverley, his equally wonderful assistant, could not have been more generous and helpful. We finally completed the necessary forms etc and my daughter was successful in gaining her placement.
Unfortunately we couldn't stay for lunch that day, but have agreed we will certainly return and stay. The atmosphere in the hotel felt just right - Modern Scottish - and the food we saw being delivered to the tables looked terrific. After we thanked Alistair and Beverley for being so incredibly trusting, kind and patient we left, but will definitely return. As we left we saw a man looking at the menu and urged him to go in - we passed again a little later and through the window he gave us a huge thumbs up! What more can I say, apart from the fact that I couldn't recommend The Anchor Hotel and the Staff more highly! GO!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marly21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Recently refurbished, this hotel is really comfortable, smart, and spotless, with good service. Many out of the way Scottish hotels are quirky and perhaps a little old-fashioned, but not the Anchor. Good value and right on the harbour. The restaurant and bar is also excellent, with a good and varied menu. Highly recommended mid-range hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianandKateShort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed at the Anchor for one evening and found the food and service to be fantastic, high quality and family friendly. We will def go back and would recommend the hotel to anyone. The decor was fantastic and the manager Alastair very helpful and friendly. We thouroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel and can't find anything negative to write!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbert
1.9 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
1.1 mi away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
245 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 3 in Tighnabruaich
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Allt-Na-Craig
Allt-Na-Craig
#1 of 2 in Ardrishaig
132 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Kames Hotel
The Kames Hotel
#2 of 3 in Tighnabruaich
256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Knap Guest House
Knap Guest House
#3 of 14 in Tarbert
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Hotel

Property: Anchor Hotel
Address: Harbour Street, Tarbert PA29 6UD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Tarbert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tarbert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently fully refurbished to a very high standard, with interior design by Gilded interiors, Edinburgh. We offer 12 en-suite bedrooms, with Hypnos beds, wi-fi, flat screen tvs and most with fantastic harbour views. We have an extensive all day menu, including home made lunches, afternoon teas and fine dining all prepared to a high standard with fresh locally sourced produce wherever possible, seafood a speciality. We offer Scottish hospitality in the 21st Century and will endeavour to make your stay as enjoyable as possible and the first of many. Situated in the heart of the picturesque village harbour setting over looking Loch Fyne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anchor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Hotel Tarbert, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing