We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upmarket hotel with stunning views”
Review of Anchor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Anchor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tarbert
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Had a two night stay at this tastefully decorated small hotel. The room was immaculate with more facilities than you would expect from a three star establishment. I believe that it almost certainly deserves to be reclassified a four star. The view from room 9 was superb. We ate out on the first night but in the hotel on our second night. Food was first class as was the service. Each course was cooked to perfection. Breakfast was lovely too. Would certainly recommend this hotel if you ever decide to visit Tarbert. We had 2 sunny days to explore the village and surrounding countryside. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ginger005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (473)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

354 - 360 of 473 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2013

Stayed here for the weekend as part of a Groupon deal. We were not disappointed! Room was lovely with decent quality bed linen. A bottle of prosecco and hand made chocolates were there on our arrival. The view from the room was fantastic - looking out at Tarbert harbour. Bathroom was small but spotless, and with a decent shower.
We ate in the restaurant the first night. I had a stroganoff which was delicious and hubby had a curry which he said was equally good. Service was friendly and efficient.
Our only small complaint is that we had no wifi in our room.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

My daughter gave my wife and I a voucher for a nights stay including breakfast at the Anchor Hotel and after several attempts to get a suitable date ( our fault not the hotel, they were great at accommodating our delays!) we finally got there on Sunday night. The weather was with us and we arrived mid afternoon to a pleasant but windy Tarbert. The room we were allocated was just perfect, modern, cosy and with a great view of the harbour. After a stroll around the village we returned to the hotel for dinner and what a meal it was. I had scallops with pea puree, pancetta and micro herbs, absolutely delicious! My wife ordered Chicken Stroganoff and said it was the best she had ever tasted, no mean achievement as she is very hard to please! I had braised pork belly as my main and again it was absolutely delicious. After a few moments rest we both ordered Apple Crumble with ice cream and were delighted when it arrived with a caramelised sugar garnish, it looked and tasted superb and was of such a size that we could have managed with one between us. (We both thought it may have been even better with custard). In the morning we had breakfast and again it was excellent, good honest food well prepared and cooked. Thank you all for your service, food and general thoughtfulness of the whole experience.Almost forgot the curry and sultana bread,freshly made at the hotel and very, very tasty and a perfect accompaniment to the meal.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Stayed here in April 2013 and had a lovely time the rooms were typical hotel rooms but well furnished and clean we had a harbour view which was excellent as the weather was great too. We stayed as part of a Groupon deal so half normal cost which was fine as I don't think the room was worth £100 per night but in general the hotel is furnished very well and is very smart and the restaurant serves excellent food and wine.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redovlovjam59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Stayed at the anchor hotel last month was there for 2 nights. The rooms are lovely ( even though the toilet roll holder was broken and the wifi did not reach our room) we were promised a harbour view which we did not get! When we made the booking asked if my gluten free diet could be catered for and was told this was not a problem but it clearly was !
We stayed here as part of a deal which included chocolates and proseco which never came. We did get the chocolates at check out when we pointed this out.
Had a meal on the sat evening in the seabed restaurant and was really unwell afterwards did not complain though cause thought it was probably my own fault. Next day was Mother's Day so decided to try the restaurant again...... Big mistake choose the lamb as the seafood yesterday had upset my tummy so much. Im afraid it was so tough had to send it back.. The staff blamed it on the fact the chef had the day off!!!!!!!!! Nobody took responsibility for any mistakes always blaming someone who was not there. I really did not feel comfortable in this hotel and will not be going back !

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We were stranded in Tarbert for 2 days due to the road home being closed by the heavy snow this week and could not have wished for a better hotel to be 'stranded' in. The staff are all very friendly and the food excellent. The rooms are lovely and the beds very comfortable - so glad we were able to bag the last rooms both nights - as I would have been disappointed to have to find somewhere else on the 2nd night! Will definitely come back another time for a meal at least. Thank you!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j0anneg10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Could not decide where to stop for a quick lunch en route to Kintyre and are very glad we chose The Anchor! Very comprehensive menu with lots of seafood choices. We chose fish and chips and it was delicious - Chips with the skins on were SO good and the homemade tartare sauce completed an excellent lunch. We shall be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank KandGdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbert
1.9 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
1.1 mi away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
283 reviews
3.9 mi away
Portavadie Loch Fyne
Portavadie Loch Fyne
#1 of 1 in Portavadie
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10 mi away
Allt-Na-Craig
Allt-Na-Craig
#1 of 2 in Ardrishaig
142 reviews
13.9 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
290 reviews
7 mi away
The Kames Hotel
The Kames Hotel
#2 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Hotel

Address: Harbour Street, Tarbert PA29 6UD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Tarbert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tarbert
Price Range: £88 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently fully refurbished to a very high standard, with interior design by Gilded interiors, Edinburgh. We offer 12 en-suite bedrooms, with Hypnos beds, wi-fi, flat screen tvs and most with fantastic harbour views. We have an extensive all day menu, including home made lunches, afternoon teas and fine dining all prepared to a high standard with fresh locally sourced produce wherever possible, seafood a speciality. We offer Scottish hospitality in the 21st Century and will endeavour to make your stay as enjoyable as possible and the first of many. Situated in the heart of the picturesque village harbour setting over looking Loch Fyne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Anchor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Hotel Tarbert, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing