We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll worth the drive round”
Review of Anchor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Anchor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tarbert
Certificate of Excellence
Bishopton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“We'll worth the drive round”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed in the hotel in mid Feb 2013 on an Itison deal, which offered excellent value. Our room was very nice with a lovely large and comfy bed. There were a few minor things needed fixed in the room. This included broken floor tiles in the bathroom, which I thought was dangerous to bare feet.

We ate in the Hotel's Seabed restaurant. My Seafood stew was amazing. My husband was very impressed with his steak. Food was seriously good. Several different types of home made bread were on offer were incredibly moreish. The Restaurant was quiet during our stay, despite it being St Valentine's weekend. All the better for us as the chef obviously put a huge effort into our meal. We are going back round again to stay in November and our table's already booked!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gizasmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    112
    22
    4
    1
See reviews for
55
247
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I stayed there with a friend for two nights in Sept 2013. Our room was small even by European standards but everything else was great: beautiful views of the harbor, comfortable beds and clean bathroom, super quiet at night even with the windows open, great breakfast selection, nice staff. Would definitely stay again and recommend to friends traveling in these parts.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CATraveler138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Had a great stay in Anchor Hotel in Tarbert on 29th September 2013. The hotel is located right on the harbour front and is tip-top: the room was very clean and had a great view of the harbour; the food in the restaurant was brilliant; and the service of the staff in the hotel was fantastic, in particular James. Would recommend a stay here anytime!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig_Dalziel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
171 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

This was my 1st stay, which was for 1 night on a business trip. The hotel is in a prime location right on the harbour, my room (8) was very modern, clean & had a great view over the harbour.
Dinner was superb, curried parsnip soup followed by excellent fish stew with home made bread, I finished off with the cheese board, served with frosted grapes, a first for me!
I had the poached haddock for breakfast, which again was very good.
The friendly, helpful staff are a credit to the hotel, thank you very much, I will be back on leisure trip next time.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bearsdenbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponteland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I wanted to have at least one seafood meal while on the Mull of Kintyre. This is a small restaurant at the front of the hotel with a few tables overlooking the harbour at Tarbert.

The mussels starter was served in what proved to be a huge white bowl shaped like a ladle, while other starters were on slate plates. The scallops were good too if a tad under-done for my personal liking, but served with a good salad with an excellent dressing.

There was a family group with grandparents down to a toddler and, as I was leaving just on 2pm, the place started filling up with other diners including another large family group, so it is a place for all to eat.

One suggestion for the menu, a mixed seafood platter would be really good - as a starter for two or main for one because there were so many nice items to choose from.

This was ended up with a seriously good hot chocolate.

If you are ever in that area, a real treat.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyHGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Recently stayed one night in the Anchor on route to walk in Kintyre. Managed to get a room on spec, very modern and clean but retained a Scottish feel. Great seafood, but slightly limited menu. Friendly staff and super view.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The Anchor is in a beautiful location on the Tarbert waterfront and it aspires to be a modern, boutique hotel with a gourmet restaurant. However, it falls short on a number of fronts and that is why it's rated average instead of very good or even excellent.
When we arrived, reception was closed and we had to take the manager away from his role serving dinner in the restaurant to check us in. The travel cot for our child wasn't in the room and the first two cots they brought to our room were broken. The third cot was very old and tattered, but at least it wasn't in danger of collapse.
The room was nicely decorated and the bed very comfortable, but the carpet had a stain and the grout in the shower needed a good scrub.
Dinner was over-priced, bland, and the portions were too small. Breakfast was included in the price, but again the portions were too small.
All in all, the Anchor has the potential to be a great hotel, but just wasn't quite hitting the mark on our visit. If the bed and location weren't so nice, I would have given it a poor rating.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smanders27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbert
1.9 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
1.1 mi away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
254 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
The Kames Hotel
The Kames Hotel
#2 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
264 reviews
13.9 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
270 reviews
9.9 mi away
Allt-Na-Craig
Allt-Na-Craig
#1 of 2 in Ardrishaig
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Hotel

Property: Anchor Hotel
Address: Harbour Street, Tarbert PA29 6UD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Tarbert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tarbert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently fully refurbished to a very high standard, with interior design by Gilded interiors, Edinburgh. We offer 12 en-suite bedrooms, with Hypnos beds, wi-fi, flat screen tvs and most with fantastic harbour views. We have an extensive all day menu, including home made lunches, afternoon teas and fine dining all prepared to a high standard with fresh locally sourced produce wherever possible, seafood a speciality. We offer Scottish hospitality in the 21st Century and will endeavour to make your stay as enjoyable as possible and the first of many. Situated in the heart of the picturesque village harbour setting over looking Loch Fyne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anchor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Hotel Tarbert, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing