We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel ok, restaurant brilliant!”
Review of Anchor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Anchor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tarbert
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We had room 1, with a nice view over the bay, but rather cramped ... and with almost no sound insulation: you hear every word in the next room ..
BUT: dinner in the restaurant was perfect, with excellent Fyne Seafood.
And both pubs (on the right and left side of the hotel) are worth the visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonsieurCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 467 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013

On reading the review below, I was on the same night out and disagree. We are all entitled to our opinion, however Amanda seems to have been on a different night out. The food was lovely, and the service was satisfactory. The staff were very busy as they were catering for Christmas Nights out. All in all it was a really nice night out. I thought we all ate drank and were very merry. I would recommend the Anchor for good food and a nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GDStuart90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Just home from a three night stay and would highly recommend this small comfortable hotel with an excellent restaurant.

The room was small but very comfortable, very comfy bed, nice bathroom with good toiletries and big towels. Great view of the harbour and although it was a bit noisy when the Christmas nights out finished we had been warned about this and didn't find it a problem.

Great breakfast and the two meals we ate in the restaurant were excellent. All in all a great weekend and one we hope to repeat.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank city_ambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I stayed for one night this week at the hotel. I was due to have a working dinner with 4 Norwegians who were also staying. We ordered our dinner at about 1920 and at 1930 the electricity went off before our meal was ready. We decided to wait until 2000 to see if the lights came back on before we made a decision as to what to do. At 1950 we took up the offer of a seafood platter and a selection of Scottish cheeses. This was all prepared by candlelight and was truly delicious. We all agreed that if this item had been on the menu then we all would have eaten it. Ironically I can recommend a power cut to other guests as the service was wonderful.

Room Tip: Choose one over looking the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean_Reynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

First visit since makeover several years ago - what a difference. Rooms nicely decorated but on small side although they can't do anything about that. Breakfast very good and service throughout stay was good. Would have given five stars but for some basic housekeeping issues in both bedrooms our party stayed in. Would be happy to return.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Birk54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Heartfelt thanks and gratitude to the Manager, James, and all the lovely staff at The Anchor Hotel in Tarbert for saving my Daughters wedding day after a local caterer failed to turn up, leaving her, her new husband and all their happy guests without a Wedding meal. With very short notice James and the staff rallied round and prepared a memorable meal for twenty six. James's kindness cannot go unnoticed, nor unannounced. If you are ever in Tarbert, please do make sure you take a visit to this perfect wee hotel. It, and the staff will warm your heart. Thanks again for making 23rd November 2013 a very special day to remember.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jake J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stayed last night cannot fault it, lovely room, excellent food and very friendly and helpful staff. You can be assured we will return and after visiting Tarbert for many years this will now always be our hotel of choice.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbert
1.9 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
1.1 mi away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
281 reviews
3.9 mi away
Portavadie Loch Fyne
Portavadie Loch Fyne
#1 of 1 in Portavadie
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#1 of 3 in Brodick
3,766 reviews
7 mi away
The Kames Hotel
The Kames Hotel
#2 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
285 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Hotel

Address: Harbour Street, Tarbert PA29 6UD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Tarbert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tarbert
Price Range: £67 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently fully refurbished to a very high standard, with interior design by Gilded interiors, Edinburgh. We offer 12 en-suite bedrooms, with Hypnos beds, wi-fi, flat screen tvs and most with fantastic harbour views. We have an extensive all day menu, including home made lunches, afternoon teas and fine dining all prepared to a high standard with fresh locally sourced produce wherever possible, seafood a speciality. We offer Scottish hospitality in the 21st Century and will endeavour to make your stay as enjoyable as possible and the first of many. Situated in the heart of the picturesque village harbour setting over looking Loch Fyne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Anchor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Hotel Tarbert, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing