We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended by Caroline Inverarity”
Review of Anchor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Anchor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tarbert
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our three night stay in the very comfortable Anchor Hotel. Our room was so clean, and tastefully furnished. Excellent food both at breakfast and for our evening meal in the Seafood Restaurant, beautifully presented on lovely crockery. The restaurant was well supported both by residents and local people which is always a good indication. All the staff were pleasant and efficient. Perfect base for visiting the beautiful island of Islay which is a pleasant 2 hour ferry trip away - worth paying to take the car over too.

Room Tip: Room 10 on the top floor is a lovely large room, but the harbour view is a bit restricted due to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ernest I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 454 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

We spent two nights here and dined in the restaurant both evenings. Room was well-appointed, with a comfortable bed, great view of the harbour, and the food was superb. The dinners were tasty with substantial portions. I especially enjoyed the seafood risotto, and the cooked breakfasts were of a high standard (including the scrambled egg with smoked salmon). The staff we met were pleasant and helpful. Tarbert is a picturesque place to visit, and has a lovely harbour, even in the rain. We will probably go back in the summer!

Room Tip: A view of the harbour is a bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dod9899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My partner and I have just returned to the Anchor Hotel and must say everything is as good as before and even a little better. We stayed in room 8 and had a lovely view of the boats in the harbour. The room its self was spacious, very clean and the bed comfortable. The en-suite had everything you needed. The décor was modern and tasteful and the shower was nice and powerful. We've had bigger bathrooms at other hotels but how long do you actually spend in the bathroom anyway???

We chose to dine in the Seabed (I think that's what it's called) restaurant on our first night and what a good choice it turned out to be. My partner had the Scallops as a starter followed by Duck. I had the Haggis followed by the Langoustine. It must be said that all our dishes were cooked perfectly and the freshness was second to none. If what we received was to be enjoyed in a more pretentious restaurant, the price would have been considerably more I'm sure. The manager did say that the fish supplier they use is located only a matter of footsteps away from the hotel.

The service was friendly, not too stuffy and felt just right for the style of this hotel. The two gentlemen who served us couldn't have been more helpful. The older lady (sorry if that offends) was also charming and chatty.

All in all, a highly enjoyable trip away from the rigors of work and we'd certainly come back and recommend the Anchor hotel to anyone. I'm happy to say we are with the majority of reviewers who have left their comments on this site.

Room Tip: Harbour Facing Room well worth the extra £10. They are above the road but you'd never know unle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights over a weekend! Staff helpful and friendly. Great food in the evening and fab selection for breakfast. Harbour view room was clean neat and tidy but would suggest some info about the hotel such as menu and local attractions would be welcome in the room. Will be back soon!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank broski1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed at The Anchor Hotel on Saturday 1st March for one night and i am very relieved that it was just one night we booked! We found this hotel online and it looked very modern and appealing - how deceiving! On arrival we found our room to be very clean with very tasteful and modern interior decor. However it was small and so space was VERY limited! With difficulty one could manouevere between the end of the bed and the dressing table a few inches away! The room was however very clean as was our en-suite. Again the en-suite was tiny allowing room for amenities but nothing additional! We were in Room 6 so perhaps if you decide to book in you ought to ensure you don't get this room! The outlook from our window was in fairly close proximity to the back gardens of local housing which also impinged on personal privacy. The room was very cold on our arrival but did heat quite quickly after we put on the room heater. It did seem to prove hard to find a comfortable heat as it tended to be either very hot or cold!

We had booked dinner with friends for 5.30 in the hotel dining room and this proved a very disappointing choice! Again the dining area was very clean and modern and decor was tasteful. We were waited on promptly but we struggled to choose from a fairly unimaginative menu! I chose cullen skink which turned out to be very stodgie pureed potato in fish stock....hard to locate a flake of fish and thick enough to stand ones spoon in! We were pushed for time as we had an appointment early evening and we had also foregone lunch in anticipation of a fine dining experience at the anchor so we had little time to complain and await replacement dishes so i sang dumb! For main course my friend and i chose hot smoked salmon salad. One might expect something with a little imagination here but this was presented as a mountain of green lettuce leaves with a sprinkling of hot smoked salmon. Hard to establish if there was even a dressing on the salad leaves! I will say that the salmon was tasty but sadly lacked any imagination as a dish!
Service was efficient however staff showed absolutely no interest in finding out whether our meal was enjoyable or not. Even more shocking was the fact that when told that it had been far from pleasant or appetising they took absolutely no initiative to redeem the situation! The response was that they would "pass on that information
Interestingly this hotel (if the web site and in room brochure is to be believed!) is run by a couple who have many years of hotel management experience and the blurb would convince you that your experience of hospitality in this hotel will be first class, and if not that they wish to hear about it! My advice would be to avoid this hotel if you are in search of good hospitality, a spacious room and fine dining!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank annadhubh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Spent 2nights bed & breakfast at the weekend. What a lovely small hotel which is 3*. Beautiful décor throughout and the food was to die for. Staff very helpful and friendly. A great place for a nice relaxing break. Room with harbour view was just the best. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose room with harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Traveling to Campbeltown after an overnight trip from the states can be tough, especially if you're driving from GLA after little sleep. We finally reached Tarbert on our way to Machrihanish and were worn out and famished. We stopped at our favorite spot on the harbor, Anchor Hotel and had a fabulous lunch, fish stew and fish and chips, well prepared, hot and very tasty. The chowder was wonderful, even the coffee was great. Haven't stayed at the hotel yet, but look forward to doing so, maybe on their Christmas or Hogmanay specials.

Make this a destination.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbert
1.9 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
1.1 mi away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
276 reviews
22.2 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
478 reviews
13.9 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
287 reviews
3.9 mi away
Portavadie
Portavadie
#1 of 1 in Portavadie
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Hotel

Address: Harbour Street, Tarbert PA29 6UD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Tarbert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tarbert
Price Range: £87 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently fully refurbished to a very high standard, with interior design by Gilded interiors, Edinburgh. We offer 12 en-suite bedrooms, with Hypnos beds, wi-fi, flat screen tvs and most with fantastic harbour views. We have an extensive all day menu, including home made lunches, afternoon teas and fine dining all prepared to a high standard with fresh locally sourced produce wherever possible, seafood a speciality. We offer Scottish hospitality in the 21st Century and will endeavour to make your stay as enjoyable as possible and the first of many. Situated in the heart of the picturesque village harbour setting over looking Loch Fyne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Anchor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Hotel Tarbert, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing