We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Character Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Tarbert Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tarbert
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Tarbert Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Tarbert
Long Buckby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Character Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

We arrived on a Thursday afternoon to a warm welcome and were allocated a sea view room. The room was clean and seemed to have been recently decorated.
After a walk we decided to eat in the bar and tried the 'deep fried haggis balls', (absolutely delicious), followed by scampi, again excellent and well presented.
For the price the hotel is good value with good food and friendly staff, if I pass through Trabert again I will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanRWebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    32
    24
    17
    18
See reviews for
17
42
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

Tarbert Hotel is what I expected and I have stayed in plenty of places like it. Its an old style hotel, probably family run, which has been there for a very long time and is never going to change. It probably makes enough money to get by but not enough to allow any investment in upgrading. I cannot comment on price as this was prepaid by others.

Pros: all staff very friendly, helpful to our party and bent over backwards to help us. My one dinner was nice, breakfasts were very tasty. Bar was small but quiet. Room was warm. Wonderful location with other restaurants very near. Room tidy and clean and sorted every day. I slept like a log.

Cons: very tired decor. Bit of a 'House that Jack built' theme with sloping floor to door in my room. Walls very thin, thought the chef was in my bathroom preparing breakfast, whole room smelt of sausages. Windows old style sash overlooking manky courtyard.

Basically the Ramada it is not - it is a typical small village provincial hotel. If you want friendly, local, basic and clean with decent breakfasts, and do not mind 1970s artex walls, then it will do fine. If you want posh rooms and spas then you need to find somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NornIronBirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

Stayed at this hotel overnight in April. Room, although clean, was dated, very basic and overpriced at £90 a night (£10 extra for sea view). Staff friendly, breakfast good but would not stay here again at this price.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMDel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tarbert hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

Family of 4, had a great weekend, great value for money, rooms spotless, breakfast Delicious, and had an evening meal best fish and chips ever, Staff very helpful and friendly, we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 848lindac848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huizen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

By accidence we had to take this hotel.
The village around the harbour looks ok.
Very simple rooms. Clean, that is true.
In the bar there are som locals. Some of them were drunk. Not nice.
Heating in the rooms was very bad. An electric heater is available but not sufficient.
Not our choice. Sorry.

Room Tip: Look for something else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank G K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013 via mobile

Rooms very spacious and clean. Had a lovely dinner in the restaurant. Basic menu but good quality meat and good size portions! Nice bar and staff very pleasant!
Would go back if I was in the area again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Papasmurffsdaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

I was travelling for work and just wanted a bite to eat and a sit down in peace and quiet. I got both. I sat in the bar with a drink until my meal war ready and then swapped over to the dining room. My soup and steak pie were both really really nice. I would have them both again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbert
0.1 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
1.2 mi away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Allt-Na-Craig
Allt-Na-Craig
#1 of 2 in Ardrishaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 3 in Tighnabruaich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Kames Hotel
The Kames Hotel
#2 of 3 in Tighnabruaich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tarbert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tarbert Hotel

Property: The Tarbert Hotel
Address: Harbour Street | Loch Fyne Argyll, Tarbert PA29 6UB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Tarbert
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Tarbert
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tarbert Hotel is a traditional harbour town hotel which faces the water. The cosy bar with log fire is popular with locals and visitors. A menu of home-made Scottish family meals is offered at lunchtime and evening with old favourites such as battered fish and chips, lasagne, steak, salads and hot home-made puddings. A friendly hotel with local charm ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hotel Tarbert
The Tarbert Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing