We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“average”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Tarbert Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tarbert
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Tarbert Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Tarbert
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“average”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Booked one night here by my work on business. Room freezing when i got in but soon heated up. My room was number 18 and had a double clean bed with TV.
The bathroom was freezing and had no heating so passed on a shower that night.
Didnt enjoy breakfast. I could of done a better job easily. Dont like smoked bacon and wasnt heinz baked beans either.
Found it VERY NOISY at night when trying to get to sleep with weans running riot above me at 2am!! Whats that all about???
Not the worst ive been too but not the best

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craig c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    32
    24
    17
    18
See reviews for
17
42
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

just back after 2 night stay.very warm welcome when we arrived.room was nice and clean and warm.telivision only got 2 stations but we werent there to watch tv.bathroom very clean with bath and shower.meals were lovely.portions just the right size any bigger would have been a waste.service was fast waitress very pleasant.entertainment was good singer first night with young girl country dancers and comedian singer on 2nd night. cleaner in after first night there.staff from cleaners to manager very helpful nothing a bother for them.would go back.1 negative the floorboards are very noisey but i can live with that.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janice0429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Very basic hotel. The room was freezing when we arrived, and the guy at the desk clearly couldn't be bothered being there. Wifi is only available in the bar, as well, which is a pain. Apparently there are loads of nicer places to stay in town - will go somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulamae_Barnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The Tarbert Hotel Staff are really excellent. They are friendly, helpful and approachable. The food was really very good with surprisingly good choices for vegetarians and the bar had a lovely ambience, being full of friendly locals and having a nice fire too. As a pub I want to give it an excellent rating. However, in reviewing it as an hotel it fares less well. I was travelling with a friend and we had a twin room with a harbour view. The Beds were comfy and the linen was crisp and clean but my pillow was heavily stained. The carpet was also stained and poorly fitted and the furnishings were cheap and mismatched. The en-suite was very basic and generally shabby with yellowing paint and an efficient but small shower and there was nowhere to hang a towel to dry or to hang clothes whilst showering. In summary, this hotel is great if you are happy with basic, quite shabby décor but don't assume that basic also means cheap. It was worth the extra £10 per night for the harbour view but this hotel cost the same as other, much smarter ones we stayed in last week. I would certainly visit the pub again but I would not book the rooms again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1. We did not view any other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirriemuir
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Visited the Tarbert Hotel in September 2013. Great location overlooking the harbour. Great food with wide choice of sea food. Special offer was a two course lunch for £6.50 i.e. soup and main course or main course and sweet. Unbelievably good value.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Just coming to the end of our stay at this hotel and I can say we will be back, it was very friendly welcoming, clean, and the food was excellent, it has a good friendly atmosphere, even the locals were nice to us!! The staff would have done anything we asked for! Most recommended !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie7742013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellshill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I have just spent two nights at this Hotel along with three friends on a Caledonian Tour. Was a bit disappointed that both our twin rooms were at the back of the Hotel overlooking the car park, despite having requested a front facing room. However, that was our only complaint. Both our twin rooms were spacious and spotless. We had a problem with the sockets in our room and it was fixed immediately. The food and dining room staff were fantastic. They were very pleasant to talk to, and were extremely professional. The entertainment on both nights was good also. The location was amazing. There are seats and benches outside the Hotel for people to just watch the world go by. Please note that you are unable to check in to the Hotel until after 3pm. Daily newspapers are available at reception alo.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the loch, the view is tremendous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbert
0.1 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
400 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
1.2 mi away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Allt-Na-Craig
Allt-Na-Craig
#1 of 2 in Ardrishaig
132 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 3 in Tighnabruaich
450 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Kames Hotel
The Kames Hotel
#2 of 3 in Tighnabruaich
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tarbert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tarbert Hotel

Property: The Tarbert Hotel
Address: Harbour Street | Loch Fyne Argyll, Tarbert PA29 6UB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Tarbert
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Tarbert
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tarbert Hotel is a traditional harbour town hotel which faces the water. The cosy bar with log fire is popular with locals and visitors. A menu of home-made Scottish family meals is offered at lunchtime and evening with old favourites such as battered fish and chips, lasagne, steak, salads and hot home-made puddings. A friendly hotel with local charm ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hotel Tarbert
The Tarbert Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing