We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wizard !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Moorings

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarbert
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Moorings
Ranked #1 of 13 Tarbert B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wizard !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Arriving at The Moorings I sat in car waiting for torrential rain to stop before venturing out. Imagine my surprise when owner Andrew appeared with a large umbrella. The path to the house is lined by raised beds boasting a magnificent array of plants and flowers. However on close inspection little creatures and interesting objects are tantalisingly peeking out. Look carefully and you might see owls and storks, foxes and gnomes, giraffes and badgers.and many other curios. Watch out for the tiger and take special care with the Zombies! The garden has indeed a magical feel and this extends into the house where there is a wonderful eclectic mixture of the fun and bizarre to be observed in every nook and cranny.
Nothing strange however in the kitchen which would appear to have come from a Homes and Garden magazine publicity shot. It would not look out of place in a town house in Edinburgh with it's gleaming tiles and solid granite sparkling work tops Totally state of the art! Outside Andrew is preparing a laundry room for guests to use. ideal for walkers on The Kintyre Trail whose clothes are in need of a wash.
Sinking into a comfortable bed with pristine bedding I slept like the proverbial log. In the morning I opened the curtains to a spectacular view of a calm blue sea and took a photo, which I think,
could suitably grace the cover of a visit Scotland magazine..
My happiness continued as I enjoyed a lovely shower in my en suite bathroom. Tiled and cleaned to perfection. Then down to breakfast.
Ah breakfast ! This did not disappoint. On the contrary it surpassed any other breakfast I have had in guest houses or B and Bs Where else serves a sumptuous bowl of strawberries, grapes, blackcurrants, banana and raspberries. This was followed by a cooked plate with of course Stornoway black pudding.
Andrew is definitely the host with the most with his unique house and garden and brings that extra something to his guests.
PS I could be mistaken but I thought I caught a glimpse of a wizard,s hat somewhere.

Room Tip: One with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    21
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
49
212
33
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
perth, scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

again, THE MOORINGS in Tarbert , ARGYLL is the same wonderful accommodation, updated this time with a BRAND NEW KITCHEN. Take a glimpse of the ANDREW PLANNED B+B red and white kitchen! Designed for economy of motion and careful use of space through out his entire work area. It reflects his smooth efficiency in managing all things good about a B+B for his guests.
If you are interested in "seeing inside" what the original Tarbert Herring Fishermens' houses might have looked like, you can see how the space inside allowed for the necessary pitch of the roof with the coomceiled ceilings. Unique architecture in those times.
.
Always thinking of his guests, there is now a "laundry room" with washer and drier for the guests inside the outdoor Bothy where the bikes are stored safely.
To be able to stay at THE MOORINGS is such a treat, AND AND BE SURE TO SPECIFY ...................... TARBERT , ARGYLL..................

Archie and Pat Smith

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DADO543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stayed for 5 nights preparing my yacht in Tarbert Harbour for the season, and managed a couple of days sailing too. I had walked past The Moorings previously but not stayed. I booked from the internet having searched B&B's in Tarbert. The internet site is excellent and gives a very clear idea of the rooms and facilities.
Andrew is an outstanding host, the rooms are immaculate, warm and very comfortable. Overall, a very friendly place which seems to attract nice guests who frequently return. There is off road parking overlooking the harbour entrance, the views are superb.
As for breakfast that is truly something else! A magnificent bowl of fruit including raspberries, strawberries, blueberries, grapes and banana (your 5 a day all in one!) followed by a huge Scottish breakfast of bacon, sausage, black pudding, potato scone and egg.......or you could have the "light" version which was minus one sausage!
Some of the best views anywhere in Britain and a pleasure to stay. Also try the Gallery Cafe and Cookshop just around the corner for brilliant ground coffee and lovely fresh lunchtime snacks. Another gem.
I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The web site gives a very good idea of the rooms. They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doubletriggerracing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Our second stay at the moorings, and it was better than the last time!
Perfect host, lovely comfy warm rooms, and free wi-fi now, perfect location, tranquil, peaceful.
Superb breakfast, piping hot cooked to your order.
Will not even look elsewhere in the area when I'm looking for somewhere to stay.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Murphwiz76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

This is a unique place to stay, the amazing garden and the lookout point facing the water. Excellent host Andrew was, professional and very friendly. An absolutely great breakfast and the ease to enjoy it. Its a nice place for nice people hosted by a really nice person. Thank you Andrew, we will visit again, George & Susan

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hildenborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

This is surely the best B&B in Tarbert!
Comfortable, clean rooms and a very warm welcome from Andrew to his unique residence.
If Andrew serves you breakfast then you won't need anything more until your evening meal!
I'm looking forward to another visit later in the year. Exceptional value.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

On the afternoon of March 24 the ferry to Islay was cancelled due to bad weather, leaving us stranded in Tarbert. We stopped in at the West Loch Hotel (nearest the ferry), which was full up, but the owner rang Andrew at The Moorings who fortunately had a room available. The first thing you'll notice (besides the welcoming dogs and host Andrew) is the, er, eccentric décor - Andrew is the first to admit that The Hotel Inspector would insist on decluttering! However, all the decorations are dust-free and shining, as is the entire B&B and even the Hotel Inspector would have trouble finding fault with the spotless ensuite shower & loo and crisp bed linen. The double bed was very comfortable, though the room was perhaps a bit cramped with the addition of a single bed. The view across the harbour is lovely and we had an enjoyable walk around the town before driving back to the West Loch Hotel for an excellent supper.
Breakfast was first-rate. Having eaten far too much at supper, we asked Andrew for a 'light' version of his usual breakfast. He provided us with generous bowls of fresh fruit, followed by eggs, which was really more than enough! Andrew is a particularly thoughtful host, friendly & ready to chat but also left us alone to eat, which I really appreciated. Overall, we were very lucky that he was able to take us in at a moment's notice and I'd certainly recommend The Moorings.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbert
0.1 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
1.8 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
1.4 mi away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
6.9 mi away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 3 in Tighnabruaich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.4 mi away
Knap Guest House
Knap Guest House
#3 of 13 in Tarbert
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings

Property: The Moorings
Address: Pier Road, Tarbert PA29 6UE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Tarbert
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Tarbert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prices from £35 per person per night bed & breakfast based on 2 Sharing. The Moorings Bed and Breakfast is a traditional stone-built fisherman's cottage situated within the quiet fishing village of Tarbert, Lochfyne, Argyll. The cottage has stunning views out across the harbour entrance and across Lochfyne and an idyllic garden were you can relax. Only a 2 minute walk to all local amenities, the village of Tarbert is host to several restaurants and pubs where fresh local seafood can be experienced. Situated at the rear of The Moorings Bed and Breakfast on the hill is the ruins of Tarbert Castle, which dates back to the 13th century and is known to have royal connections such as Robert the Bruce in 1325 and in 1494 James IV summoned Parliament to meet in Tarbert.Please note The Moorings is a traditional stone-built fishermans cottage and as such has a campsile style interior (sloping ceilings)Now with Free WiFi in rooms and secure outdoor bicycle storage area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Moorings Hotel Tarbert
The Moorings Tarbert, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing