We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highland titles”

Highland Titles Nature Reserve
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Duror
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This Nature Reserve is developed and managed by Highland Titles on the east bank of Loch Linnhe, between Salachan and Duror Glens. It provides a unique retreat for everyone, whether you simply want to soak up the peaceful atmosphere of a true wilderness amidst stunning scenery, walk the dogs or witness first-hand the Highland Titles ecological restoration programme with their flagship 60 acre Diamond Jubilee Wood. All this is funded by the sale of souvenir plots of land to people who love Scotland, and want to help restore native hardwood trees in the Highlands. Simple improvements are ongoing, including walking trails, benches along the way for quiet enjoyment of the surroundings, and signage explaining the natural habitat. If requested in advance we will try to arrange for a local guide to help you find your plot, and if required, to get around the Reserve. Our vehicle is not always available and we cannot guarantee that a driver will be able to take you. Refreshments and lodging are available in a number of nearby communities.
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Bought two plots to mark two very special birthdays , and I am so happy that we took the time to visit our plots , awesome views en route to the woods and the meet and greet from Stewart the guide added so much to the whole experience, he took us to our exact plots (top of a hill with a very pretty view and next to a wee stream) with his GPS app, took photos for us, dug a hole to plant our tiny trees, and gave us such great stories of life in the woods. Honestly, book it and make sure you book up to meet Stewart, you won't regret it.

1  Thank Adele R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland_Titles, Public Relations Manager at Highland Titles Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Hi Adele and many thanks for the positive feedback.
It's great when people take the time to tell us about their visit and I'm sure it helps other visitors make up their mind about where to go.
Look forward to welcoming you back sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"guide david"
in 8 reviews
"piece of land"
in 11 reviews
"meet and greet"
in 5 reviews
"grand tour"
in 6 reviews
"fantastic visit"
in 6 reviews
"conservation work"
in 13 reviews
"guided tour"
in 14 reviews
"flora and fauna"
in 7 reviews
"birthday present"
in 4 reviews
"a wee bit"
in 4 reviews
"short notice"
in 4 reviews
"his passion"
in 4 reviews
"beautiful area"
in 4 reviews
"lord and lady"
in 5 reviews
"highlight of our trip"
in 4 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 5 reviews
"christmas gift"
in 5 reviews
Filter

307 - 311 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

My husband got me my "title" as a bit of a joke present for Christmas and as we were in Scotland for New Year we decided to make a trip over to see what was there. We finally found Highlands Titles Glencoe Wood as the signage outside is quite poor. We had no appointment and it was on a damp 30 December but Stewart ( the steward of the site) came over made us feel very welcome, located my "land" and showed us to it. After a photo session he could have left it there but he gave us an informative tour of their new and existing Lochan and explained about all the wonderful work they are doing there with various wildlife organisations. Also all planting and creating areas to encourage different diverse species to the sanctuary. We left feeling very glad that my Christmas present will go towards this worthwhile venture.

2  Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland_Titles, Guest Relations Manager at Highland Titles Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Lovely to hear from you guys again, and thanks for taking the time to review your visit!
It's really nice to know we are getting things right, and also very helpful for others thinking about visiting.
Our lovely natural wood Entrance Sign has arrived, and if the rain stops sometime it will be cemented in soon :)
Glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Great place and great idea--conserving the natural area. Loved the walk and Stewart Borland was great hiking around with us showing us our little piece of Scotland. Can't wait to go back!!!

4  Thank EDanella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland_Titles, Public Relations Manager at Highland Titles Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Hello again, lovely to hear from you.
Many thanks for the kind comments and we're delighted you enjoyed both your visit and the Reserve.
Maybe meet up again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

Brought me husband here to surprise him for his birthday! Just a magical place! Special to see your own land, and then we were even shown the best spot to have a picnic. Highly recommended! Great way to preserve our natural world.

4  Thank Beth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland_Titles, Public Relations Manager at Highland Titles Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Awesome is a nice description :)
Thanks for taking time out to review your visit and we're really glad you enjoyed it.
As plots sell a little bit of magic happens around the Reserve and things just get better and better.
Thanks, and maybe catch you next time you pop in :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We arrived a bit too early for our appointment with Stewart and walked around on our own a bit.
Great innitiative. Thanks a lot for taking us on a walk of the estate. Thanks for all the explanations. Hope to be back soon with other owners...

6  Thank Deufrabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland_Titles, Public Relations Manager at Highland Titles Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review your visit and we're really glad you enjoyed the experience. Nothing beats actually seeing round the reserve and finding your own plot!
There is a Gathering of Lords & Ladies planned for next year... have a look on the website for details :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Highland Titles Nature Reserve also viewed

Glencoe, Scottish Highlands
Glencoe Village, Glencoe
 
Fort William, Lochaber
Fort William, Lochaber
 

Been to Highland Titles Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing