We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great experience”

Highland Titles Nature Reserve
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Duror
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This Nature Reserve is developed and managed by Highland Titles on the east bank of Loch Linnhe, between Salachan and Duror Glens. It provides a unique retreat for everyone, whether you simply want to soak up the peaceful atmosphere of a true wilderness amidst stunning scenery, walk the dogs or witness first-hand the Highland Titles ecological restoration programme with their flagship 60 acre Diamond Jubilee Wood. All this is funded by the sale of souvenir plots of land to people who love Scotland, and want to help restore native hardwood trees in the Highlands. Simple improvements are ongoing, including walking trails, benches along the way for quiet enjoyment of the surroundings, and signage explaining the natural habitat. If requested in advance we will try to arrange for a local guide to help you find your plot, and if required, to get around the Reserve. Our vehicle is not always available and we cannot guarantee that a driver will be able to take you. Refreshments and lodging are available in a number of nearby communities.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What a great experience”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My wife and I visited the Highland Titles Nature Reserve at Glencoe Forest almost by accident. We hadn't planned to visit, but we were staying in there on holiday and saw the sign as we were driving along. That said, Stuart the warden gave us a trip round the reserve in his buggy and showed us the great work they are doing. We didn't have our plot details with us so we didn't visit our exact plots but saw the area and have a good idea, What a fabulous place. We loved it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AGarcarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland_Titles, Public Relations Manager at Highland Titles Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit - it means a lot to the volunteers to know that people have enjoyed The Reserve and that we are getting things right!
It's also a great help for visitors, knowing that the trip is worthwhile, based on all our lovely comments & feedback.
Thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you back some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    11
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Day To Remember”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We recently stayed in Glencoe (Holly Tree Hotel) & visited the Highland title reserve.
Thanks to Stewart we managed to find the plot I brought my husband a few years ago.
It was really interesting to hear & see the changes that have been made & how the wildlife is begining to return, we have a nice photo of a crane by the Lochan. Such a peaceful place to walk,
We look forward to returning and seeing how much it's changed.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela_40114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland_Titles, Public Relations Manager at Highland Titles Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Hi Angela and thanks for the lovely comments.
Glad to hear you enjoyed your visit - reviews like yours are a nice boost for the volunteers, it means we are getting things right :)
The crane would have been a heron by the way - he is still popping back despite the lack of fish - must be the frogs he's after :)
Thanks again for taking the time to review your visit and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I visited my Estate”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Had a wonderful guided tour thanks to Stewart the Estate Manager wonderful views and so peaceful and a fantastic project in creating new woodlands look forward to returning and seeing how it develops over the years. Thank you to Stewart once more keep up the good work.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland_Titles, Public Relations Manager at Highland Titles Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Hi Annie and thanks for taking the time to review your visit. It's a real help for others, a guide for thise who don't know about us... yet!
Look forward to another chat next time we buggy round the Reserve :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Homecoming 2014 visit”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The amount of work that has been achieved in the 18 months since we last visited is incredible. I applaud Stewart and his team for their hard work and commitment to this project. It was wonderful to meet with other Lady's and Lairds of the reserve who collectively make this reserve possible. What a wonderful legacy for our future generations. The new Lochans are already looking natural and offer a peaceful spot to relax. The only thing missing is a local toilet! Perhaps can be looked into for the future.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Debnade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland_Titles, Public Relations Manager at Highland Titles Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and we're delighted you enjoyed our second Gathering. We have achieved a lot in the last year but of course it's only possible with the continued support of our huge worldwide friends and land owners.
As for the toilet... your wish is our command - we now have one!
Hope to see you back again some time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
295 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Dropped by here over Easter to find a friends plot of land. A delightful spot.

We were greeted by Stewart who if very energetic and enthusiatic about the reservice. Stewart was able to find my friends plot and also give us some local details along our way.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank PetaMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland_Titles, Public Relations Manager at Highland Titles Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review your visit. We've moved ahead with a number of projects this year and they should all be coming to fruition soon.
Pop back again hopefully and see what we get up to next :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Highland Titles Nature Reserve also viewed

Glencoe, Scottish Highlands
Fort William, Lochaber
 
Fort William, Lochaber
Glencoe Village, Glencoe
 

Been to Highland Titles Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing