We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap and cheerful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Porthmadog
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed in this hotel for three nights that we booked in the January sale - £100. It's as you expect, good clean bedrooms, decent size for a family of four. We stayed at the front of the hotel so didn't experience any noise. Staff were very friendly and very helpful and we had our breakfast at the Breaktimes cafe just 1 minute away - very useful with two starving small ones!! Lidl, Aldi and Tesco are all walking distance too for snacks and drinks.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ragglecarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    152
    57
    21
    9
See reviews for
122
185
20
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester UK
Level Contributor
245 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Does what it says on the tin, it's a Travelodge! The biggest bonus here is the very friendly staff, a delight to deal with. The rooms have been refurbed and the beds are exceptionally comfortable. Location is a bit of a negative, as it's in the middle of an industrial estate but the location is handy as well for town and other routes. There were no jiggers of milk available on our first night, for which the receptionist was very apologetic, we went to Tesco and bought a pint which lasted until morning. Also on the first night of our stay (Thursday) a lot of industrial workers were staying in the hotel. They made a lot of noise drinking and laughing in the car park which was irritating. Noisy kids on the Friday night belting and screaming up and down the corridors were also an irritation but I blame the parents for that and to be quite honest you could get that anywhere. Would stay again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nessief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

The welcome was friendly & Brian at reception helpfully recommended a local pub that served great meals as well as a nearby cafeteria that served superb cooked breakfasts. The room was spotless & comfortable although there is no air-conditioning in this hotel. In fairness, we were provided with a desk top fan but as it was the last one left, our other room had to go without. Rooms on the second floor will naturally be even warmer on a humid day! The reading spot-lamp beside the bed was also hanging loose off the headboard but did at least work. The hotel is located on an industrial estate with no signs evident off the main road, so we had to ask a passer-by where exactly it was once the sat-nav brought us to the main road in the postcode area. As a 'no frills', typical Travelodge experience, I would be very happy to recommend this hotel for a short stay at Porthmadog.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed one night. The reception staff were very helpfull giving us tips to eat & directed us to a fantastic breakfast place just a short walk away. However, the rooms were very hot as there is no air conditioning & the window can only be opened a small amount, which made for a very uncomfortable night's sleep.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ralph j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

I have recently returned from Porthmadog after a four day stay. I was a little concerned due to reviews that I had read previously. I can only say that my stay was great value for money. Location was great and easy walking distance to the town. The team at the travel lodge could not have been more helpful and friendly. My only criticism is Travelodge need to look at installing air conditioning but on a positive note the team dealt with the situation wonderfully.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Enjoyed our stay - nice quite site and near to all amenities - receptions was very friendly. Hotel had been updated and everything was clean and fresh - bed was comfy, and the shower was great - no complaints at all.



  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Paulinepod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

It's a travel lodge, there all hie same, The reception team are very helpful, we had a room on the 1st floor it was clean and everything was fine. However, the front of the hotel gets the sun all day long, there is no air con in the hotel and the rooms are HOT, Hot, hot, only 4 hours sleep the room was 25deg+ at 5am and that was as cool as it got. I would come back but get a room at the back of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthmadog
0.5 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
3.7 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
18.0 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
5.9 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel

Property: Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
Address: Penamser Road, Porthmadog LL49 9NY, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Porthmadog
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Porthmadog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Hotel Porthmadog
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing