We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisey” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Porthmadog
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Noisey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

The hotel backs on to a builders yard, where they start work at 7.00am, complete with reversing vehicle warnings; and what appears to be a tip which attracts a lot of seagulls, also early in the morning.Goodness knows what might be in there to attract them in such large numbers. So the rooms at the back of the hotel are very noisy.
The stairs and corridors were a bit grubby as well, and could do with a good "hoovering".

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Phynnodderee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    152
    57
    21
    9
See reviews for
122
185
20
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Staff were excellent and it was easy to find . Yes it is on an industrial estate however they did nit start until 8am . If you require a hearty breakfast then there is a café 2 min walk away and its out of this world everything done fresh and no problem with what the kids what

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank gary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Found it easily enough, plenty of parking. Room on 2nd floor at front, although the curtains were drawn to keep out the sun, it was very warm in the room (window open). I managed to get the "last fan" although I felt it was probably the only one! All staff were friendly and helpful. In our room the TV was unwatchable as it was too high and unable to adjust the dark picture as the controls had been disabled. Having just been refurbished, why o why could they not have put in curved shower curtain rails. I would use this hotel again as it was good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deucalion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Just a typical travel lodge, nothing more nothing less. Clean comfortable basic rooms. Usually good price. Nothing here except hotel rooms. Good breakfast cafe on industrial estate 3 minutes walk away. Easy parking, 12 minute walk into town for pubs and restaurants. Could be noisy from main line railway behind hotel, though this is now temporarily closed due to major rail bridge problems further south.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed in this hotel for three nights that we booked in the January sale - £100. It's as you expect, good clean bedrooms, decent size for a family of four. We stayed at the front of the hotel so didn't experience any noise. Staff were very friendly and very helpful and we had our breakfast at the Breaktimes cafe just 1 minute away - very useful with two starving small ones!! Lidl, Aldi and Tesco are all walking distance too for snacks and drinks.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ragglecarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester UK
Level Contributor
245 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Does what it says on the tin, it's a Travelodge! The biggest bonus here is the very friendly staff, a delight to deal with. The rooms have been refurbed and the beds are exceptionally comfortable. Location is a bit of a negative, as it's in the middle of an industrial estate but the location is handy as well for town and other routes. There were no jiggers of milk available on our first night, for which the receptionist was very apologetic, we went to Tesco and bought a pint which lasted until morning. Also on the first night of our stay (Thursday) a lot of industrial workers were staying in the hotel. They made a lot of noise drinking and laughing in the car park which was irritating. Noisy kids on the Friday night belting and screaming up and down the corridors were also an irritation but I blame the parents for that and to be quite honest you could get that anywhere. Would stay again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nessief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

The welcome was friendly & Brian at reception helpfully recommended a local pub that served great meals as well as a nearby cafeteria that served superb cooked breakfasts. The room was spotless & comfortable although there is no air-conditioning in this hotel. In fairness, we were provided with a desk top fan but as it was the last one left, our other room had to go without. Rooms on the second floor will naturally be even warmer on a humid day! The reading spot-lamp beside the bed was also hanging loose off the headboard but did at least work. The hotel is located on an industrial estate with no signs evident off the main road, so we had to ask a passer-by where exactly it was once the sat-nav brought us to the main road in the postcode area. As a 'no frills', typical Travelodge experience, I would be very happy to recommend this hotel for a short stay at Porthmadog.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthmadog
0.5 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
3.7 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
18.0 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
5.9 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel

Property: Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
Address: Penamser Road, Porthmadog LL49 9NY, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Porthmadog
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Porthmadog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Hotel Porthmadog
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing