We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap place to sleep next to a rubbish dump.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Porthmadog
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Booked a room for an adult and two kids. On arrival you are greeted by the rubbish dump which towers over the rear of the hotel. Odd number rooms look onto the free carpark, even numbers look at the dump.

Check in was good and friendly enough and the hotel itself was clean. The reception staff were helpful. The room was stuffy and the two beds for the kids had not been set up or made so had to do it ourselves. Day one OK. Day two, beds not made and bins not emptied (perhaps the dump was full)?

Local breaktimes cafe was good but the Grapevine bistro, in town just down from the Police station, was much better and does family friendly meals before 7.30pm.

Handy outdoor kit shops on the same industrial estate. We were climbing Snowdon which is only a half hour drive so as a cheap place to sleep this was OK and you won't need an alarm clock because the profusion of seagulls on the dump wake you nice and early.

If they work with the local skip firm and get rid of the dump the rest can be overlooked.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kev2137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (513)
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

438 - 444 of 513 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

The hotel backs on to a builders yard, where they start work at 7.00am, complete with reversing vehicle warnings; and what appears to be a tip which attracts a lot of seagulls, also early in the morning.Goodness knows what might be in there to attract them in such large numbers. So the rooms at the back of the hotel are very noisy.
The stairs and corridors were a bit grubby as well, and could do with a good "hoovering".

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Phynnodderee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Staff were excellent and it was easy to find . Yes it is on an industrial estate however they did nit start until 8am . If you require a hearty breakfast then there is a café 2 min walk away and its out of this world everything done fresh and no problem with what the kids what

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank gary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Found it easily enough, plenty of parking. Room on 2nd floor at front, although the curtains were drawn to keep out the sun, it was very warm in the room (window open). I managed to get the "last fan" although I felt it was probably the only one! All staff were friendly and helpful. In our room the TV was unwatchable as it was too high and unable to adjust the dark picture as the controls had been disabled. Having just been refurbished, why o why could they not have put in curved shower curtain rails. I would use this hotel again as it was good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Deucalion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Just a typical travel lodge, nothing more nothing less. Clean comfortable basic rooms. Usually good price. Nothing here except hotel rooms. Good breakfast cafe on industrial estate 3 minutes walk away. Easy parking, 12 minute walk into town for pubs and restaurants. Could be noisy from main line railway behind hotel, though this is now temporarily closed due to major rail bridge problems further south.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
1  Thank Derek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed in this hotel for three nights that we booked in the January sale - £100. It's as you expect, good clean bedrooms, decent size for a family of four. We stayed at the front of the hotel so didn't experience any noise. Staff were very friendly and very helpful and we had our breakfast at the Breaktimes cafe just 1 minute away - very useful with two starving small ones!! Lidl, Aldi and Tesco are all walking distance too for snacks and drinks.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ragglecarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Does what it says on the tin, it's a Travelodge! The biggest bonus here is the very friendly staff, a delight to deal with. The rooms have been refurbed and the beds are exceptionally comfortable. Location is a bit of a negative, as it's in the middle of an industrial estate but the location is handy as well for town and other routes. There were no jiggers of milk available on our first night, for which the receptionist was very apologetic, we went to Tesco and bought a pint which lasted until morning. Also on the first night of our stay (Thursday) a lot of industrial workers were staying in the hotel. They made a lot of noise drinking and laughing in the car park which was irritating. Noisy kids on the Friday night belting and screaming up and down the corridors were also an irritation but I blame the parents for that and to be quite honest you could get that anywhere. Would stay again

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nessief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthmadog
0.4 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
696 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,475 reviews
3.7 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
295 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Moelwyn
The Moelwyn
#6 of 6 in Criccieth
110 reviews
15.8 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel

Address: Penamser Road, Porthmadog LL49 9NY, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Porthmadog
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Porthmadog
Price Range: £41 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Hotel Porthmadog
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing