We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The stay was everything that we had excepted”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Porthmadog
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“The stay was everything that we had excepted”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Having worked and stayed all over the UK in various Hotels & guest Houses, Travelodge never fails to live up to my requirements for a spending a good night, and not a fortune.
When deciding to look for accommodation in a specific area, I always check out the nearest Travelodge first.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
2 Thank Interphase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    159
    63
    22
    9
See reviews for
129
193
21
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This travelodge is in a great location to visit the surrounding areas of North Wales. It within walking distance of Porthmadog high street and all local amenities. A fantastic breakfast can be had a Breaktimes Cafe which is located within a 1 minute walk of the hotel. Not a lot of storage room if you are there for an extended stay so you may have to live out of your suitcase! Also the view of the builders yard at the rear of the hotel is something to put up with.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Freddy0567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We had a lovely two night stay in Wales having stayed at the Travelodge in Porthmadog. Ample parking, very fiendly receptionist, very clean and modern room. Our room was facing the front of the hotel and was quite scenic with green hills despite being on an industrial estate. The rear facing rooms looked like they overlook a recycling/refuse cetre, not such a good view. Parking was less ample at night so parked on the road, no problem. The lodge doesn't serve hot breakfast so we tried 'Breaktimes' a very short walk, fab food and service with a full breakfast, juice, tea/coffee and toast for only£5.00. Would gladly return but I would ask for a room facing the front of the hotel. Aldi was just around the corner for snacks and wine and was open until 10.00pm.t

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel, the rear overlook a recycling/refuse yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamN36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanstead Abbotts, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights, although have stayed before. It's in a handy location as only a few minutes walk from the High Street. The staff are very welcoming and helpful. The hotel now has the new Dreamer beds which are more comfortable than the previous ones they had. My only gripe is that although the room appears clean, it could do with a more thorough clean along the edges of the carpet, under the bed and the bed base itself (pillow end) as there was lots of dust/debris gathering. That said, it's generally good value for money and I would book again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanniemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This hotel is located in a commercial part of the town but handy to main shopping centre of Porthmadog. Supermarket nearby. Friendly staff. Our room was clean and comfortable. No noise issue at night. Car parking available. The tip aspect wasn't a problem for us as our room faced the other way.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesMac2803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed for 4 nights with friends for my husband's birthday. Rooms were clean and airy and the staff extremely helpful. We were on the 2nd floor (there is a lift) and it was very quiet. There is no 'attached' eating facility, but there is an excellent place to eat breakfast within 1 minute of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Up North
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Basic but functional. Comfortable rooms.
Unfortunate location.
Staff, however, exceptionally helpful and friendly.
Outside noise wasn't really an issue as daytime activities ensured a great night's sleep. Near enough to shops to buy provisions.

Room Tip: Back of hotel (even numbers, I believe) overlook tip and builders yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BahHumbug123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthmadog
0.4 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
3.7 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
4.0 mi away
George IV Hotel
George IV Hotel
#4 of 6 in Criccieth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tudor Lodge
Tudor Lodge
#1 of 12 in Porthmadog
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel

Property: Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
Address: Penamser Road, Porthmadog LL49 9NY, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Porthmadog
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Porthmadog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Hotel Porthmadog
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing