We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty treats but prepare to pay a little more.”
Review of Jenny's

Jenny's
Ranked #6 of 56 Restaurants in Porthmadog
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
manchester
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Tasty treats but prepare to pay a little more.”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stopped for drinks and biscuits.
There were 2 adults and 3 children who all had a drink and biscuit or snack.
We also bought a lemon meringue pie that was delicious and well worth the £4.95 for a family pie. Better value than the £3.75 to eat one slice in the café.
The was a good range of products that could be bought to takeaway, well worth remembering for future camping trips.
Our total bill including the take away lemon meringue pay was almost £30 so not a cheap treat as it was almost £5 each for the drink and snack.
Service was quick and the treats were enjoyed by all.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank toffee71Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    106
    23
    19
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Shopping trip with my daughter and son-in -law today; decided to pop in for something to eat at lunchtime.

It's been several years since I called into Porthmadog; had the early bird breakfast on that occasion which was very nice and very good value, consisting of eggs,bacon,sausages, fried bread etc all good quality ingredients and freshly cooked.

Today; for lunch between us we had the roast beef & onion gravy full bagette, with salad & fries, fresh cod, chips & peas; and home made steak pie & creamed potato, with cauliflower & gravy.

The bagette was crusty & fresh, with real slices of fresh roast beef from a joint,(not plastic deli variety), with a fresh salad and homemade chunky fries.

The cod was obviously real fillet, fries again homemade with minted mushy peas.

The homemade steak pie contained real hunks of good quality beef; the potatos were real & well mashed (no lumps) and fresh cauliflower cheese, with a nice gravy (not too thick, nor thin).

The quality and portion size of all three meals was very good indeed; very tasty and very enjoyable.

Between us we also ordered an Americano coffee, hot chocolate & a milk shake. The coffee was hot, strong & delicious; the hot chocolate was more than just your standard hot chocolate, it came with a mountain of cream and mini marshmallows; yummy. The milkshake again came topped with cream, with a lovely strawberry flavour.

Jennys may not win any prizes for it's decor; but for standards of cleanliness (I always check out the cleanliness of the loo's anywhere before ordering; clean loo's clean kitchen); quality of food and good service they deserve accolades. Which is more important?

Thank you Jenny's; and long may you continue to serve up good food and service. It's so important for we the public to support small businesses, so pop in for a meal if you pass through Porthmadog any time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WalesMolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

If it was just based on food and service it would be a five. We stopped here on our way home and chose it as we had our dog with us and they allowed us to eat here, we were sat outside though so don't expect dogs inside! The only reason I have given a 4 is because the decor could do with updating inside, from what I can remember there was a lot of yellow and plastic! But like I said if its just based on food and service it's a 5!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephljones89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We used Jennys 3 times for breakfast,the food is good the staff are friendly.the cakes and meringue's were so good we took some home. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigAlLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good Value for Breakfast.”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We called in at Jenny’s for a cooked breakfast.

The restaurant is split into two parts. On entering, you are in the cold drinks/snacks part which you have to walk through to get to the hot food dining area which comprises of booths.
The breakfast menu cards were a bit worn with use, but the breakfast itself was good and tasty with friendly service from the waitress. Not many customers were there when we visited, so service was quick and efficient.

Passing through the snacks area, I did note that the meats on display in the chilled cabinets looked very appetising along with the cakes (the meringues were huge). Next time we are in Porthmadog we will definitely call in again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flyer19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jenny's also viewed

Porthmadog, Gwynedd
 

Been to Jenny's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing