We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be so much better...”

Spooner's Grill, Cafe & Bar
Ranked #7 of 57 Restaurants in Porthmadog
Cuisines: Bar, Cafe, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Spooner's is run by the world-famous Ffestiniog Railway and caters for passengers and visitors to both the Ffestiniog and Welsh Highland Railways. Offering breakfast, lunch, snacks and full evening meals, Spooner's also features an award-winning bar and an extensive new beer garden where you can enjoy a drink or a meal and watch the trains go by.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Could be so much better...”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We visited Spooners after a trip on the Ffestiniog Railway, saw they sold the local Purple Moose Brewery ale and wanted a drink. Nobody behind the bar so pressed the bell for service. Nobody came. Pressed the bell again. 2 people looked through the glass door, obviously didn't like the look of us. We left.

We went for a pot of tea a few days later. The girl almost overcharged us, provided us with 2 cups and 1 saucer and it was obvious that she didn't want to be there.


The catering staff on the train were brilliant, really welcoming and happy to help. Maybe the staff in Spooners really want to be on the train!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FionaT938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    141
    57
    26
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ulceby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Spooner's Grill, Cafe & Bar”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We have just returned from a week's holiday in Porthmadog during which, in the planning stage, we had found the reviews of the resturants offering very mixed messages. We chose Y Llong ( The Ship) for our first meal and were impressed with the food quality, real ales and value but that was before we discovered Spooner's which had five rotating guest real ales and two local Mws Piws real ales as well as the fabulous view down the platform to the mountains and of the trains arriving back at the end of the day. The menu would be lacking in many choices for Vegans/Strict Vegetarians but as we are not in those categories this was not a problem for us . The food was of an excellent quality and served without undue delay and by pleasant and helpful staff. The ambiance is very railway oriented, as one would expect given the location, which made the time we spent there - most evenings - really special and we cannot wait to return when we are able to. Our thanks to all the staff there especially the kind fellow who gave me some souvenir beer mats when I offered to purchase a few.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Food, Helpful staff”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The food here is of a great quality, when there was a mix up about our order the manageress quickly sorted it out and refunded the cost of our meals although the substitute meals were excellent.
We will be going back there!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
55 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good atmospehere and good food”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Great to have the option of a good restaurant menu and to watch the trains go by. What could be better. Service is excellent and food Really good

Helpful?
1 Thank Harlech6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We went in for a breakfast and to be honest it was not very good at all. I asked if I could have a crispy bacon barm only to be told with a huffy attitude, 'this is all we have' then pointing to 3 very sorry looking slices of bacon that looked like it had been under the lamp for 3 hours in it's own grease. I asked if I could have scrambled egg on toast, again with a non interested attitude, 'oh hang on I will have to ask', in fairness to the chef he was happy to do so but when I got it the scrambled egg was fine but the toast was soggy. We ended up going to Jenny's the following day and it was outstanding. I do not recommend Spooners for a breakfast.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank KLJ71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spooner's Grill, Cafe & Bar also viewed

Porthmadog, Gwynedd
 
Porthmadog, Gwynedd
Tremadog, Porthmadog
 
Borth-y-Gest, Gwynedd
Tremadog, Porthmadog
 

Been to Spooner's Grill, Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing