We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“convenient for the train trip and an opportunity to have a snack/meal before the journey”

Spooner's Grill, Cafe & Bar
Ranked #11 of 56 Restaurants in Porthmadog
Cuisines: Bar, Cafe, British, Pub, Welsh, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Spooner's is run by the world-famous Ffestiniog Railway and caters for passengers and visitors to both the Ffestiniog and Welsh Highland Railways. Offering breakfast, lunch, snacks and full evening meals, Spooner's also features an award-winning bar and an extensive new beer garden where you can enjoy a drink or a meal and watch the trains go by.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“convenient for the train trip and an opportunity to have a snack/meal before the journey”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We could't fault it. It is was it is - a cafe.. They offer a reasonable choice of food and drinks. Situated on the platform gives it an advantage for travelers but offers a good service with appropriate choices.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank treecat54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    131
    55
    26
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Handy and Good Value”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Just the place to relax in the sun and have tea and an enormous cake whilst watching the trains. Plenty of seating both inside and out.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lotus19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Food was good, but seemed to take a while to be served even though not over busy at the time. Shortly after we got our food, a train arrived and the waiting time was 40m +. All staff were polite and helpful. Parking can be a bit of a chore as well.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Deucalion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best pub I've found in the area”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Operated by the Ffestiniog and Welsh Highland Railway at their newly-enlarged Porthmadog Harbour Station, Spooners is the best pub I've found in this part of Wales This year it has a lovely new sitting-out area too. It offers a good range of real ales and the added bonus of both snacks and full meals available at sensible prices too. Then you can take a walk across the causeway called "Y Cob" which the public footpath shares with the railway. Don't worry - there's plenty of room for both the pedestrians and the trains. Then when you get back, you can pop into Spooners for another one!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Notts_Robin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“slow slow service.....”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

went in three times last week while on holiday. the setting is very nice right next to the steam railway and one of the few places in porthmadog to sit outside for drinks. we went for drinks on 2 nights which was nice-they do close the outdoor seating sort of early which is a shame. one night we went for dinner and the service was just so slow-it took an hour to get one appetizer and another half hour after that to get the main courses by this time everyone was just really irritable and hungry. i was with a four year old so it was really not a good situation. when the food finally arrived my dinner was really yummy-vegetarian sausages and mash-i would love to get that again but would definitely not go back unless it was very early evening when it's not so busy. they obviously need more staff. we were also told we could not have desserts because they were too busy-very strange way to run a business.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shee77A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spooner's Grill, Cafe & Bar also viewed

Porthmadog, Gwynedd
 
Porthmadog, Gwynedd
Porthmadog, Gwynedd
 
Porthmadog, Gwynedd
Tremadog, Porthmadog
 

Been to Spooner's Grill, Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing