We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food”

The Dining Room at Royal Sportsman Hotel
Ranked #13 of 58 Restaurants in Porthmadog
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$48
Cuisines: Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The style of cooking is seasonal Modern British with a contemporary look for the adventurous along with classic British Fayre, for those who enjoy traditional meals at lunch or in the evening, served in the restaurant, bar, lounge or garden from 12.00pm till 3pm and 6pm till 9.00pm.
Chester
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We were very impressed with the food in Peppino's, in Jan 2014. Excellent choice, lovely local food - tastily prepared and well delivered

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Moira A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    67
    33
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon and Peterborough, null, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Very nice but not worth the price”
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel, restaurant service very good, food very good, rooms average, lovely area to stay in, close to lots of north wales attractions like Port Merion, Betws a Coed, Swallow Falls, Snowdonia etc....

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bar food was lovely”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

My parents and I didn't eat in the restaurant, but in the bar where dogs are allowed. The food was outstanding, we had pork belly and the pie of the day - beef and Guinness I think. The pork was cooked to perfection, and the pie was well-filled. It was all presented beautifully too.

I must confess we were slightly hesitant at first, as it does look slightly worn and initially the prices seemed a bit high for "bar food", however it is totally justified as the quality you get is fantastic - not surprising really, when it's cooked by the same 2 rosette chefs as in the restaurant.

The waiting staff were attentive and even brought over a bowl of water for our dog, without being asked - almost proved that it was a dog-friendly place.

Definitely recommended.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Issy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice dining highlight of a week”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Booked here as the reviews looked positive, bar the clown who called it overpriced.....There's always one!

We were treated to an exceptionally warm welcome upon arrival from the waiter, who I must say, during the meal, was spot on, not hovering but right at hand for any extra drinks etc.

The decor is possibly due a refresh, it doesn't reflect the standard of food or the service as well as it might.

But the food.....

We had a lovely starter of scallops, which was great, with my wife having pig cheek and fois gras, which was also excellent.

For main she had the duck, which was great, with the presentation suiting the dish very well. I had the steak, which was unfortunately a little over blue which was ordered. Having worked in kitchens I know both sides of it, hence, in the quietest way possible I pointed this out to the waiter who, with no fuss, went and had another one prepared, which was one of the best steaks I've had. Ever.

The meal was finished with a selection of local cheeses and and a chocolate pudding.

We both thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

I'm now desperately trying to find clients even remotely close enough to merit a stay before the next holiday is due.

I would not hesitate to recommend the Royal Sportsman.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hines-images
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aby Q, Owner at The Dining Room at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Yes, there's always one - but fortunately very soon after there's another. . .and another. . .and another. . .like you!
Our waiting staff are highly trained, experienced and motivated and they especially appreciate diners who know a quality experience - even in a small rural town at the start of winter - when they see one.
And yes, we will work on refreshing the décor, but only as soon as other modernisation and improvement priorities allow.
So to the food. . .from starters through to desserts, this reviewer is among excellent company when he says some dishes are among the best he's had - ever! Our culinary team is of an extremely high calibre, the head and sous chefs having worked in many top city hotels.
We sincerely hope he finds an excuse to return soon - because whether for business or pleasure we strive constantly to give all our guests and customers the best possible experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“unexpected gem”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

after a disappointing search for good food in North Wales (Portmeirion was an earlier choice but staff surliness was off putting) we were delighted to be welcomed into this unprepossessing hotel- the staff were all extremely friendly and helpful, the menu had a good range of dishes and prices and my meal was excellent- scallops followed by sea bass very artfully presented. it not only looked good but tasted wonderful. Shame it was the last night of our holiday.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aby Q, Owner at The Dining Room at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
We were all delighted to serve you and to make sure the last night of your holiday was a memorable one! Thanks for confirming recent hotel inspectors' views that we are still among the top three 3* hotels in North Wales and the top five 2 AA Rosette restaurants in Gwynedd. Rest assured we still aim to become THE place to eat in Gwynedd and are determined our standards will have improved again by the time you next dine with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dining Room at Royal Sportsman Hotel also viewed

Porthmadog, Gwynedd
Tremadog, Porthmadog
 
Borth-y-Gest, Gwynedd
 

Been to The Dining Room at Royal Sportsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing