We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“superb dining experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dining Room at Royal Sportsman Hotel

The Dining Room at Royal Sportsman Hotel
Ranked #9 of 48 Restaurants in Porthmadog
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$48
Cuisines: Bar, British, Welsh, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The style of cooking is seasonal Modern British with a contemporary look for the adventurous along with classic British Fayre, for those who enjoy traditional meals at lunch or in the evening, served in the restaurant, bar, lounge or garden from 12.00pm till 3pm and 6pm till 9.00pm.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“superb dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

We were in Porthmadoc 4 adults with 22 month old twin boys and needed something to eat mid afternoon. All the cafes were either full or unappealing so we went in the Royal Sportsman we were very gald we did. From the very start the staff could not be more friendly and helpfull, we were seated in the lounge and 2 high chair appeared promptly. The food was superb and resonably priced, the childrens menu consisted of healthy food, no rubish and the twins devoured their pasta in double quick time. The beer was local and very good. The service throughout was second to none.

Helpful?
1 Thank glyn-owen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    60
    33
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Nice meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

We were staying near to Porthmadog and thought we would try out the restaurant as we had seen the menu outside the hotel. We were attracted by the salt marsh lamb. The food was excellent and the lamb tender and succulent. For what we had I thought the cost was a little expensive.
I am not sure why all the restaurant and bar staff seemed to be from Eastern Europe, I may be wrong as accents do vary, but they certainly were not Welsh!
Don't local people want to work in the hotel business?
The next night we went to Moorings restaurant in Borth y Gest, near Porthmadog, what a meal! GREAT!

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MMD007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croiala, Owner at The Dining Room at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2010
I am very glad that the customer enjoyed her meal here especially the Salt Marsh lamb, one of our current signature dishes.

Our prices are a little more expensive because we only use the best FRESH quality Welsh ingredients; many in this locality do not. As we have a Rosette and named in the Good Food Guide-no one else in Porthmadog has achieved either-our cooking styles reflect these standards.

We have a great team here and yes, I can confirm that 4 staff are from Romania and Poland, two of which are my family and two family friends. They have brought a quality to this business which we have been unable to find locally. We have tried with a superior remuneration package to entice locals but with no luck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“worst meal and service ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2010

my partner and i arrived in this establishment on Friday the 13th must be apt
we got to the bar arround 12.15 we ordered two steak and ale pies at cost of £10.95 each which took 45mins to arrive
when they were presented it was a dish of stew with a bit of pastry on the top
my partner lifted the pastry to reveal 4 small cubes of beef and a few slices of mushroom
this came with hand cut chips which were never hand cut there for a better idea they were aunt bessys chunky chips
when we took the meals back to the bar for a refund we were accused of having eaten the meat which was obvious that we hadn't they were very reluctant to give a refund and the waiter daniel made us out to be liars when w e asked to see the manager she "kasia" was very abrupt and did nothing to solve the situation we eventually got the refund for one meal but during the discussion i overheard daniel ask the manger to look at the cctv to see if we had eaten any of the meal if he had bothered to look at the cutlery then he would have known we had not
being in the trade as tutor i found the food to be of a very poor standard and the customer service to be extremely poor
i personally would never recomend this establishment to anyone for food
this experience did nothing to promote wales and spoilt our holiday slightly

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank markwa41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croiala, Owner at The Dining Room at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this review, 29 September 2010
We did make an error, the first one ever with portion size and refunded the customer immediately. At the time we were cooking some 300 meals + per week.

As owner,. when I was informed about this matter, I investigated and the customer was right about part of his complaint so I wrote to him with an apology and offered to refund the other meal which was perfectly alright.

He did not reply
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2010

Stayed at this hotel last year - regret every moment. It was terriable. Thought it had put us off Porthmadog for life. Returned to town this year only to find all OK. Station pub is much better.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank artangelDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croiala, Owner at The Dining Room at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this review, 29 September 2010
The station pub does not serve meals so I cannot address this customer's comments.

I did write to him and ask for details so that I might comment but no reply was forthcoming. It is impossible to investigate when you receive an anonymous review with no dates or information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good little place to stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

Stayed here for 1 night at the end of July in the Garden Rooms. The room was small, and clean with all the mod cons but, as with the rest of the hotel, it could probably benefit some time in the near future from a bit of a face lift.

Although we only stayed here for the one night, we visited it a few times as a lot of family & friends were staying here for a wedding in Portmerion.
We ate in both the restaurant and the bar area and all meals and snacks were very tasty.
The service from the people on reception right through to the bar staff was all superb and all in all this is an OK place to stay/eat.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chae4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dining Room at Royal Sportsman Hotel also viewed

Porthmadog, Gwynedd
Porthmadog, Gwynedd
 
Porthmadog, Gwynedd
 

Been to The Dining Room at Royal Sportsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing