We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dining at the restaurant”

The Dining Room at Royal Sportsman Hotel
Ranked #11 of 56 Restaurants in Porthmadog
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$48
Cuisines: British, Welsh, Bar, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The style of cooking is seasonal Modern British with a contemporary look for the adventurous along with classic British Fayre, for those who enjoy traditional meals at lunch or in the evening, served in the restaurant, bar, lounge or garden from 12.00pm till 3pm and 6pm till 9.00pm.
Machynlleth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dining at the restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2010

service was quick,polite.spot on,food came quick,garlic mushroom starter,was very nice but was somthing i could have made at home.sliced bread on table supermarket type,orderd steak,chips and trimmings for main,expectations were high but to be honest i was dissapointed at the small portion,dry thick chips,very bland,steak was chargrilled to death.4 onion rings and a few leaves,if i had of gone for a bar meal it would have been ok but after reading all the hype about the food,i was very disapointed.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twm1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croiala, Owner at The Dining Room at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2010
First of all, I am naturally disappointed with the customer's comments but perplexed as well with them.

He states that after all the hype he was disappointed with the food and for what he had, it would have been OK as a bar meal.

The hype actually relates to our Rosette menu and the customer chose from the Bar menu although served in the restaurant as well. He did not try our Rosette food so by his own admission the food was good!

By the way, we make all of our bread and do not buy supermarket bread. The taste and texture is completely different. The Steak was a fresh Welsh 8oz Rib eye and, if it was chargrilled to death, than the customer must have ordered it well done. We describe the chips as chunky chips which are thick and crispy; we make these ourselves and do not buy frozen ones.

If one were to read the reviews by customers who have stayed at the hotel, then there is substantial comment on our food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    62
    33
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Gluten Free? Just a token attempt.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

We stayed in the area recently and prior to leaving looked for places that advertised as gluten free, as our 8 year old is a coeliac.
The food for us ' normal eaters' was lovely but I expected a little more form an establishment specifically advertising as catering for gluten free diets.
We were offered chicken, reheated beef from the Sunday lunch (minus the yorkshire puddings), fish followed by a comment 'I suppose you cannot eat the sausages!' Er well no as they probably contain wheat as a bulking agent. My daughter opted for the beef as she loves roasts but it was tough and not that nice. To top it all they served the ice cream, which was the only sweet option for a children's meal, with a wafer!!
Our daughter was looking forward to going out but once again was made to feel like it was a big ask to be served a 'normal meal'. She does not choose to have a Gluten Free diet she MUST!!
If you advertise as being able to cater for GF diets please make a bit more effort.

Helpful?
7 Thank RCH_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croiala, Manager at The Dining Room at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2010
First of all, we are glad that the parents enjoyed their meals here at the hotel and are very sympathetic to those who have dietary issues which restricts their choice of food.

When we advertise that we prepare gluten free meals for adults and children, that is the case and all of the ingredients used in meal preparation are listed for both restaurant and bar staff who serve meals.

We serve a healthy option for children which includes fresh pasta, fresh fish, pork & leek sausages and mash and on Sundays only, roast beef and roast lamb. Neither are re-heated as they are initially cooked rare and finished to order. If cooked very well done, the roast can lose its tenderness. All gravies have no additives and are made from natural stock.

The Welsh ice cream is fine for a gluten free customer and complementary but the waitress on duty should have not added a wafer; she has been informed again of what is and what is not acceptable. We also clearly state on our menus that we will make up a fresh fruit salad for those who have dietary issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“superb dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

We were in Porthmadoc 4 adults with 22 month old twin boys and needed something to eat mid afternoon. All the cafes were either full or unappealing so we went in the Royal Sportsman we were very gald we did. From the very start the staff could not be more friendly and helpfull, we were seated in the lounge and 2 high chair appeared promptly. The food was superb and resonably priced, the childrens menu consisted of healthy food, no rubish and the twins devoured their pasta in double quick time. The beer was local and very good. The service throughout was second to none.

Helpful?
1 Thank glyn-owen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Nice meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

We were staying near to Porthmadog and thought we would try out the restaurant as we had seen the menu outside the hotel. We were attracted by the salt marsh lamb. The food was excellent and the lamb tender and succulent. For what we had I thought the cost was a little expensive.
I am not sure why all the restaurant and bar staff seemed to be from Eastern Europe, I may be wrong as accents do vary, but they certainly were not Welsh!
Don't local people want to work in the hotel business?
The next night we went to Moorings restaurant in Borth y Gest, near Porthmadog, what a meal! GREAT!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MMD007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croiala, Owner at The Dining Room at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2010
I am very glad that the customer enjoyed her meal here especially the Salt Marsh lamb, one of our current signature dishes.

Our prices are a little more expensive because we only use the best FRESH quality Welsh ingredients; many in this locality do not. As we have a Rosette and named in the Good Food Guide-no one else in Porthmadog has achieved either-our cooking styles reflect these standards.

We have a great team here and yes, I can confirm that 4 staff are from Romania and Poland, two of which are my family and two family friends. They have brought a quality to this business which we have been unable to find locally. We have tried with a superior remuneration package to entice locals but with no luck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“worst meal and service ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2010

my partner and i arrived in this establishment on Friday the 13th must be apt
we got to the bar arround 12.15 we ordered two steak and ale pies at cost of £10.95 each which took 45mins to arrive
when they were presented it was a dish of stew with a bit of pastry on the top
my partner lifted the pastry to reveal 4 small cubes of beef and a few slices of mushroom
this came with hand cut chips which were never hand cut there for a better idea they were aunt bessys chunky chips
when we took the meals back to the bar for a refund we were accused of having eaten the meat which was obvious that we hadn't they were very reluctant to give a refund and the waiter daniel made us out to be liars when w e asked to see the manager she "kasia" was very abrupt and did nothing to solve the situation we eventually got the refund for one meal but during the discussion i overheard daniel ask the manger to look at the cctv to see if we had eaten any of the meal if he had bothered to look at the cutlery then he would have known we had not
being in the trade as tutor i found the food to be of a very poor standard and the customer service to be extremely poor
i personally would never recomend this establishment to anyone for food
this experience did nothing to promote wales and spoilt our holiday slightly

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank markwa41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croiala, Owner at The Dining Room at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this review, 29 September 2010
We did make an error, the first one ever with portion size and refunded the customer immediately. At the time we were cooking some 300 meals + per week.

As owner,. when I was informed about this matter, I investigated and the customer was right about part of his complaint so I wrote to him with an apology and offered to refund the other meal which was perfectly alright.

He did not reply
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dining Room at Royal Sportsman Hotel also viewed

Porthmadog, Gwynedd
Tremadog, Porthmadog
 
Porthmadog, Gwynedd
Tremadog, Porthmadog
 
Borth-y-Gest, Gwynedd
 

Been to The Dining Room at Royal Sportsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing