We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Penaber Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porthmadog
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Penaber Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 7 Porthmadog B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

Really lovely b&b with a large comfortable room and friendly owners. Couple of minutes walk from Porthmadog and Borth y gest beach. Comes with free, off road parking and the breakfast was really nice. The room we stayed in had a really nice view and was really spacious. Can't recommend enough!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rigby85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
114
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

We had a very large, tastefully decorated room (it even had small framed paintings) with 6(!) closets. Wi-Fi worked perfectly. Very helpful local advice from the owners. The tourist board ought to bring other B&B operators here to show them how to do things right.

Room Tip: Not walking distance to Porthmadog in bad weather, but taxi cost us only £3
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WiltshireLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Gary & Mary Hodgson were very welcoming and made us feel quite at home during the four nights we stayed at Penaber, just to the west of Porthmadog. With good parking, set back from the road and with a lovely countryside view we were able to relax in a large room with masses of storage - a pleasant change from many B & Bs where you have to keep most of your clothes in a suitcase. Mary easily coped with my wife's dairy free diet for breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MartynH48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

We spent 3 nights here and everything was spot on:
- lovely large, light & airy room. Comfy bed, sofa, tea & coffee and excellent ensuite.
- tasty breakfasts, we alternated between the full cooked and the fruit platter and all were very good
- safe, off road parking, and the busiest bird feeder you'll ever see!
The extras?
- warm welcome when we arrived, with tea & cake - my ideal!
- went we got caught in a shower Mary put our wet clothes in the boiler cupboard to dry out - much appreciated!
The location is also excellent - easy walking distance into town (up & down hills though mind!) so perfect for catching the steam train to Caernarfon for the day. Superb local pub (Ship Inn) in town - visited 2 out of our 3 nights, good choice of ales & really good food.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TrewinDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

My partner & i Stayed for 4 nights. We were made very welcome from first arriving. Our room was much larger than the average B&B, very clean & modern, Breakfast was excellent. Sited in a very quite location just outside Porthmadog. We often left the car there & walked into town in around 10 mins.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

We booked the twin room the night prior to Festival No.6 in Portmeirion and we were wowed by the fantastic service and facilities offered. We were greeted with a warm welcome from Gary, who showed us to our room and provided some much appreciated tea and cakes plus directions and suggestions for places to eat in Porthmadog. The room was spotless, tastefully decorated and had very comfy beds and views of the garden. We had the full welsh breakfast which was cooked perfectly. Excellent value for money and we will be back next year!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

I had booked the twin and a double en-suite room for an overnight stay, this is a beautiful property set back from the main road, there is ample space for parking available, we were welcomed by Mary who showed us to our rooms and then brought tea, coffee and wonderful cake up for us to enjoy, the rooms were both spacious and well presented with a high level of cleanliness, both rooms had seating areas with either a couch or chairs and television area, the breakfast was fantastic and plentiful, one member of the family ordered the fresh fruit platter and it was lovely, there was nothing that we could fault at all, both Gary and Mary are very friendly hosts and the price for the rooms was very reasonable, we will definately use this bed & breakfast again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill_Dave1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthmadog
1.8 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
3.7 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tudor Lodge
Tudor Lodge
#1 of 7 in Porthmadog
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Golden Fleece Inn
The Golden Fleece Inn
#2 of 5 in Tremadog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penaber Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penaber Bed & Breakfast

Property: Penaber Bed & Breakfast
Address: Penaber Morfa Bychan Road | Gwynedd, Porthmadog LL49 9UR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Porthmadog
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Porthmadog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penaber is situated within close walking distance of Borth y Gest and Porthmadog, on the Morfa Bychan Road. The house sits in its own grounds with a private driveway for safe off road parking. Ideally situated to reach the local attractions and places of interest in the area such as Portmeirion, the Welsh Highland and Ffestiniog Railways, Mount Snowdon, all too many to mention and not forgetting the lovely beaches. Activities can include sailing, watersports, golfing and walking.Penaber has one twin and two double rooms, one of which can cater for families. All the rooms are en-suite, tastefully decorated and are non-smoking. They have tea and coffee making facilities and colour televisions with a DVD player and also free WiFi. Ideal for long or short stays. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Penaber Bed And Breakfast
Penaber Hotel Porthmadog
Penaber Bed & Breakfast Porthmadog, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing