We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A gem in the heart of Porthmadog” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thai Harbwr

Thai Harbwr
Ranked #2 of 48 Restaurants in Porthmadog
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$31
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Come and try our delicious authentic Thai food cooked and lovingly prepared by a Thai chef 'Sujit' Enjoy Al fresco dining in style with a stunning view of ranges Snowdonia Mountains and Porthmadog harbour.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A gem in the heart of Porthmadog”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2011

We went here for mothers day and the food was amazing,the nicest Thai fishcakes ever! We eat lots of Thai food and can certainly recommend this place. The food is all home made and the set menu is very reasonable. For those who have never tried Thai food try the buffet you will be pleasantly surprised!
Very friendly atmosphere excellent service and extremely cheap drinks! Can't wait to visit again! A must to try is the Massaman welsh beef curry.
Lovely harbour views to boot and outdoor seating in summer.
Is tucked away in the harbour area but is sign posted.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank Cockpitqueen747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thaiharbwr1, Owner at Thai Harbwr, responded to this review, 5 April 2011
We are really pleased that you both enjoyed your meal at Thai Harbwr, thank you for visit us and we hope to see you both very soon.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    92
    22
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
North London
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2011

This Thai restaurant is tucked away in the building of the Portmadog yacht club. The place is run by mother (chef) and daughter (front of house) and service was delightful. We had thai fish cakes and veggie spring rolls for starters - both were good. Then for mains we had sea bass and pork and a pad thai to share. All was freshly cooked and just delicious. Don't forget that if you like spicy food ask for this as the tastes in Wales are blend compared to London for example. We visited on a Sunday night so the place was very quiet. If you're in the area, do visit this Thai restaurant!

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ScorpioLondon57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thaiharbwr1, Owner at Thai Harbwr, responded to this review, 6 July 2011
Thank you for your visit, we are pleased that you enjoyed your meal experience with us at Thai Harbwr. we hope to see you again soon.

thank you for your custom.

Sujit and Sawitree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“A BIG SURPRISE - GREAT THAI FOOD IN PORTHMADOG”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2010

Situated in the Yacht Club in Porthmadog, is this delightful Thai run restaurant. The food is very authentic, (I've been to Thailand 6 times, so I may know!) and brings back so many memories of Thailand. Great starters and a very tasty Thai green curry.
Such a surprise to find a Thai restaurant of this quality in the area. If you like Thai food, or havent tried it yet, why not give it a go!

Helpful?
3 Thank MMD007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thaiharbwr1, Owner at Thai Harbwr, responded to this review, 6 July 2011
Thank you for your review we are very happy that you enjoyed your food at our restaurant.

thank you very much for your custom.

Sujit and Sawitree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Harbwr also viewed

Porthmadog, Gwynedd
Porthmadog, Gwynedd
 
Porthmadog, Gwynedd
 

Been to Thai Harbwr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing