We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food good service lovely location”
Review of Thai Harbwr - CLOSED

Thai Harbwr
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$33
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Come and try our delicious authentic Thai food cooked and lovingly prepared by a Thai chef 'Sujit' Enjoy Al fresco dining in style with a stunning view of ranges Snowdonia Mountains and Porthmadog harbour.
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Welcoming staff, good food not over priced with a great view of the harbour.
Had a pleasant evening and would recommend it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

367 - 371 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2012

Fabulous food - we eat a lot of thai food and this was up there with the best. The Pad Thai was one of the best I have tasted. Very reasonable prices

Thank expectsthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Visited here with my wife in early July ,restaurant was extremely quiet (Tues evening) with only 6 other diners. Food was disappointing and expensive. A king prawn starter in tempura batter comprised 3 prawns of average size certainly not king and 3 onion rings deep fried in same tempura batter. At £6 a portion this was expensive and did not meet our expectation of the dish. Main courses were just o k. The accompanying portions of jasmine rice and egg fried rice at a cost of £5 + were very small not adequate. It never fails to amaze us that restaurants give poor value on such items which are not only cheap to purchase and take little preparation. We are not big eaters but if you are double up on the portions of rice..
Plus points ,the location is great with views of the harbour,the estuary and Welsh hills from tables by the windows, Tere was only one waitress working on the night we visited ,she was helpful ,courteous and very efficient. Wine was reasonable with decent choice and not expensive. THis restaurant could be so much more.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank skipper47_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 July 2012

We are sorry that you felt we were expensive but please note we have not increased our prices for two years!
Our early bird special is good value for money so maybe you might like to try this option next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Friendly service, lovely food, best meal we had in Porthmadog.

Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 June 2012

Thank you for your comment, we are glad that you enjoy your meal experience with us, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

I visited the restaurant on the 4th June, in a party of 10. The set up and running of the restaurant is manic and not professionally run. They could not cope with all the tables, the ladies were either new that night or could not waitress, take orders or get orders right. They did not know the food or the menu. The service was TERRIBLE from start to finish. The wine was warm and drinks orders sporatdic. There seems to be no structure to bookings. Now the food, I love Thai food, have eaten it for years and have spent time in Thailand. This food is not authentic Thai. The King Prawns are not king, they are deep fried from a packet, as are most of the starters. This IS NOT freshly cooked authentic food. The Thai curries are reheated indian curry like mixtures, not red or green thai curries. Poor Poor Poor. I do not write this lightly and would like to write a better review but it is truely awful, over priced for what was served and presented. Onion rings covering the 'king' prawns as they had run out of the deep fried very small prawns. Whoever is passing this off as authentic is either a really bad untrained cook or pulling the wool over the eyes of locals and tourists. This should be a gold mine but the food, service and value is atrocious. Happy to enlighten people or the owner further.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank scott k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thaiharbwr1, Owner at Thai Harbwr, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

We remembered that we did not receive any complaints from the restaurant on the night you have visited 4th of June. When plates came back in the kitchen there was nothing much to scrape off from your table, so surly isn’t that a good sign that you have actually enjoy the food?

We can guaranteed that we used king prawns there are certainly not shrimp, we cannot get any bigger size king prawns then the ones that we are using now. The starters were not from the ready made deep fried packaging these are homemade ones.

The Thai red or green curries were authentic as it can be, we do not put carrots, broccoli or cauliflowers in our curries. We only use those vegetables in the vegetarian meals. We put turkey berry which is a small version of Thai egg plants and we use Thai sweet basil, you must’ve enjoy your curries that you did not notice it was there.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Harbwr also viewed

Tremadog, Porthmadog
Borth-y-Gest, Gwynedd
 
Porthmadog, Gwynedd
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing