We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Thai Harbwr

Thai Harbwr
Ranked #4 of 56 Restaurants in Porthmadog
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$32
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Come and try our delicious authentic Thai food cooked and lovingly prepared by a Thai chef 'Sujit' Enjoy Al fresco dining in style with a stunning view of ranges Snowdonia Mountains and Porthmadog harbour.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly service”
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We ate twice at Thai Harbwr on our recent visit to North Wales, and it was even better on the second visit than the first! It's nice to find something a little different in a small town. We found it to be reasonable value for money, and the two young ladies who looked after things were friendly, efficient and informative. I am surprised to read some of the more negative reviews about this restaurant as they don't reflect our experience at all. The fact that we returned for a second visit speaks for itself!

Helpful?
Thank Mandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    95
    22
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Porthmaog
1 review
“Great food good service lovely location”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Welcoming staff, good food not over priced with a great view of the harbour.
Had a pleasant evening and would recommend it.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great food.”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Fabulous food - we eat a lot of thai food and this was up there with the best. The Pad Thai was one of the best I have tasted. Very reasonable prices

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank expectsthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Location Dissappointing Food”
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Visited here with my wife in early July ,restaurant was extremely quiet (Tues evening) with only 6 other diners. Food was disappointing and expensive. A king prawn starter in tempura batter comprised 3 prawns of average size certainly not king and 3 onion rings deep fried in same tempura batter. At £6 a portion this was expensive and did not meet our expectation of the dish. Main courses were just o k. The accompanying portions of jasmine rice and egg fried rice at a cost of £5 + were very small not adequate. It never fails to amaze us that restaurants give poor value on such items which are not only cheap to purchase and take little preparation. We are not big eaters but if you are double up on the portions of rice..
Plus points ,the location is great with views of the harbour,the estuary and Welsh hills from tables by the windows, Tere was only one waitress working on the night we visited ,she was helpful ,courteous and very efficient. Wine was reasonable with decent choice and not expensive. THis restaurant could be so much more.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank skipper47_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Thai Harbwr, responded to this review, 15 July 2012
We are sorry that you felt we were expensive but please note we have not increased our prices for two years!
Our early bird special is good value for money so maybe you might like to try this option next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant by the harbour”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Friendly service, lovely food, best meal we had in Porthmadog.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Thai Harbwr, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Thank you for your comment, we are glad that you enjoy your meal experience with us, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Harbwr also viewed

Porthmadog, Gwynedd
Porthmadog, Gwynedd
 
Borth-y-Gest, Gwynedd
 

Been to Thai Harbwr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing