We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”
Review of Thai Harbwr - CLOSED

Thai Harbwr
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$24 - US$35
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Come and try our delicious authentic Thai food cooked and lovingly prepared by a Thai chef 'Sujit' Enjoy Al fresco dining in style with a stunning view of ranges Snowdonia Mountains and Porthmadog harbour.
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We had the earlybird menu, my Massaman curry was terrible, very little meat and no flavour at all in the sauce. The manageress/owner was quite off hand and the promised desserts, listed on the menu as 'see Specials Board', turned out to be a choice of very cheap ice cream - not at all 'Special'. Overall most disappointing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank NeilfromHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thaiharbwr1, Owner at Thai Harbwr, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

We are sorry that you felt the Massaman curry was no flavour, however that is how we cooked here at our restaurant. every chef cook differently. There are good portion of meat in our curry in the early bird menu everyone has different taste in food and unfortunately we cannot pleased everyone.
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

332 - 336 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2013

This is a very small restaurant on the harbour - 1 room. The atmosphere is great and the food is freshly cooked. 2 meals and 4 drinks were £28 - so good value for money especially when you think how fresh everything is. Well worth a visit, but you might need to book.

Thank hrh_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thaiharbwr1, Owner at Thai Harbwr, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Thank you very much for you kind comment. we really much appreciated.
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Service was good, food was outstanding. A little hard to find but worth the effort. Dinner specials from 5 - 6pm.

Thank Kenneth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thaiharbwr1, Owner at Thai Harbwr, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely comment, the Early bird special is very popular for family and anyone who likes to eat early so grab yourself a special deal!
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Loved the ambience of this place as soon as we walked in.
Staff were attentive to ensure you had all that was required.
I overheard another family ask for extra chilli in their order, which we felt was lacking.
The kids absolutely loved the food.
Go early (especially with kids) to ensure a decent table as the seating can get a bit cramped.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank quadsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thaiharbwr1, Owner at Thai Harbwr, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely comment:) glad you all enjoyed your meal experience with us.
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Every time we eat here I try to choose something different and I've always been more than happy with my choice. I had the Chefs Lucky gold bags as a starter, excellent portion and the filo pastry they were cooked in was perfect, the Welsh beef Massaman Curry as a main (Su, the chef personally recommended this as she remembered what I had last time and obviously knew my taste), very tasty and the beef just melted on your tongue, wow. The kids had the Spare Rib starter, but as a main, excellent. A favourite restaurant of ours and keep recommending to friends. I hope the group of around ten people that were queuing up as we left took my advice and waited for a table! A different waiter and waitress this time, very polite and in traditional Thai outfits, keep up the excellent work...see you soon!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gwen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thaiharbwr1, Owner at Thai Harbwr, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Thank you very much for a lovely comment we hope to see you all again very soon.
Ps the Panang Pork curry is also nice as well:) maybe you would like to try that next time?
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Harbwr also viewed

Tremadog, Porthmadog
Tremadog, Porthmadog
 
Porthmadog, Gwynedd
 
Porthmadog, Gwynedd
Tremadog, Porthmadog
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing