We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Supper”
Review of Thai Harbwr - CLOSED

Thai Harbwr
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$33
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Come and try our delicious authentic Thai food cooked and lovingly prepared by a Thai chef 'Sujit' Enjoy Al fresco dining in style with a stunning view of ranges Snowdonia Mountains and Porthmadog harbour.
Reviewed 13 November 2013

A selective menu brilliantly executed with great service.

The winter closure of this place is a very good reason for visiting the town between late Feb and early Nov.

Fish, chicken and beef dishes all well handled - spiced soup beat all expectations, worth leaving a bit of space for the fine deserts as well.

Get off the high street and seek this place out. Once visited you will return. Worth a journey.

Thank HopefulTraveller45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thaiharbwr1, Owner at Thai Harbwr, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thank you very much for your kind comment and taking your time to write such a nice review for us:) We are pleased you both enjoy your meal with us. so we hope to see you again next year:)

and just a quick note to say that we are closed from 27th Nov 2013 and re-open on 13th Feb 2014

Have a nice Christmas and we wish you a very happy New Year! :D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

322 - 326 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

I would recommend this restaurant 100% the food was outstanding. I had the Thai fish cakes for starters and the beef and sweet potatoe dish for mains. The beef was very tender but not overlooked and melted in your mouth.The presentation of both dishes were exceptionally good, and the dishes themselves were one of the best I've ever tasted.

The lady who served our meals was very friendly and polite and the atmosphere was delightful.

If you ever get a chance to visit this restaurant then don't hesitate to give it a try you won't be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ka-by-the-Sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thaiharbwr1, Owner at Thai Harbwr, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Thank you very much for your kind comment we are glad you had a nice meal at our restaurant do come again next time
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

After touring Portmerion we arrived in Porthmadog in the evening and found the Thai Harbwy restaurant at the Yacht Club.
Very tasty food. Each dish had its own distinctive flavour. Nice atmosphere and the dishes are presented well. One of the best Thai restaurants in the UK.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Dannyled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thaiharbwr1, Owner at Thai Harbwr, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you very much for your kind comment wow we are the best Thai restaurants in UK ? we would like to think so! :) we will do our best to maintain and keep to our standard we are just going to stick to what we do best:)
We hope to seeing you again very soon or next year perhaps?
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We were down in portmadog last night and my wife and I wanted a good night out at a local restaurant just for he two of U.S..Thai being our favorite style we were a little surprised to find a restaurant in far flung portmadog,however it had very mixed reviews on here,but we decided to give it a go and book a table nothing ventured ect.living in mid Cheshire we have some really great Thai restaurants locally,and also in hale,knutsford and Manchester so we do know our way round a thie menu and flavours. We weren't dissapoined,the menu though not as extensive as some was sufficient the food very good,fresh good portions and well presented.the staff most welcoming and as it was 7 30 sat night well organised and very busy,in fact the place was full and they had to tun some away.it was a mixture of locals and tourists .the bill came to £56 for two with wine,good starters mains,but no sweets as stated by some the sweet part lets it down,but we could not have eaten any more anyway. Suggest you work on this as this could be a good area to improve turnover and profits together with an investment in a decent quality coffee machine??? We will be back as it was very good and evidently run by family team the waiter told us he works in London in the week returning at weekends to help out when it is at its busiest.being an ex restaurant owner,your bad reviews come mainly from the(early bird) set,sometimes it is hard to feed people in a small environment quality food at cheap prices,it does not work as you do not have the room for the turn around required.let cheepskates go elsware they are trouble or do early bird till 6 or 6 30 latest so you can concentrate on diners who are prepared to pay a fair price for qualiy food and service,keep this little gem going,let the knockers go to the £10 eat as much as you like buffets it's what they want.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thaiharbwr1, Owner at Thai Harbwr, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Hello there thank you very much for your kind suggestions I do remember you coming in on Saturday night and yes we were very busy but so glad we were able to fit both of you in at the time:)
We already look into buying a coffee machine over the past two years ago however we just do not have an adequate room for it. That is the reason why, we just used filter grounded coffee we only used instant coffee if customers order decaf.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Superb little Thai tucked away in the Yacht Club. Food was first class and served by excellent staff.particularly good value and well worth visiting.

Thank LeedsCritique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thaiharbwr1, Owner at Thai Harbwr, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely comment we look forward to your visit again:)
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Harbwr also viewed

Tremadog, Porthmadog
Borth-y-Gest, Gwynedd
 
Porthmadog, Gwynedd
 
Porthmadog, Gwynedd
Porthmadog, Gwynedd
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing