We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't let looks decieve you. Great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Breaktimes Cafe

Breaktimes Cafe
Ranked #1 of 56 Restaurants in Porthmadog
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
244 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Don't let looks decieve you. Great food!”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

From the outside this cafe looks like any other greasy spoon. However the food and customer service were great. The staff were friendly. I had a Hercules breakfast and it was great value for money. I also liked the unlimited tea or coffee that came with a breakfast. The only letdown was the sausages. Would definitely recommend!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BREAKTIMESCAFE, Owner at Breaktimes Cafe, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Thank you for choosing to eat at Breaktimes and for taking the time to leave a review letting others know about us and all that we have to offer and also for your kind recommendation of us to others.

When we opened Breaktimes Cafe we instantly blew away any myth about location having to be linked with being a greasy spoon and as you have kindly pointed out, nothing could be further from the truth.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your Hercules breakfast choice and that you also enjoyed the unlimited tea and coffee that we offer.

Thank you once again for your valued customer and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    365
    39
    10
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wow!!”
Reviewed 4 September 2012 via mobile

A Palace in the wildness on a Business estate. We have never experienced such a surprise.
The choice was large, the Staff attentive, and the place was so clean.
Congratulations. It's a pity it's not more accessible.

Helpful?
Thank Offee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BREAKTIMESCAFE, Owner at Breaktimes Cafe, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time in writing your kind review as well as visiting us with your valued custom. We seem to suprise most of our guests initially as perhaps, quite rightly they may have pre-concieved ideas due to our location. Our intention, from the outset was to blow this myth apart and we are grateful that customers like yourself telll others, helping us build our business based on all you have kindly outlined. For us, the customer is always right and nothing is too much trouble!

Many thanks once again for your valued custom and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newquay
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“What a breakfast.”
Reviewed 2 September 2012

After leaving our very soggy campsite, facing a long trip back to Cornwall. We stopped for breakfast here after seeing the reviews on tripadvisor. The reviews were spot on, this place is a little gem.Quality of food and service was second to none. I was also tapping my feet to the country music being played this was an added bonus for us.There was 5 of us in our party 2 adults 3 children. The children each had a packet of sweets and a ice lolly. Which we thought was a lovely thought.would recommend to anybody and we will return.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
15 Thank jayNewquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BREAKTIMESCAFE, Owner at Breaktimes Cafe, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Thank you for visiting us at Breaktimes and for taking the time to tell others of your experience with us. We remember you well, in particually the weather being bad and the look on your little ones faces when they entered the Cafe.

Thank you also for mentioning both the food and service you received during your stay with us, something we are exstremely proud of and will continue to provide to all of our customers. The music we play is out of sorts to most other eateries in the area, very easy on the ear...or maybe that's just us!!

We look very much to welcoming back when you are next in the area and in the meantime thank you once again for your kind comments as well visiting us at Breaktimes. Your valued custom is something we do not take for granted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
formby
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Service nothing too much trouble”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We all ordered off menu with no problems. Toast came buttered which we do not like so within minutes 2 toasts appeared butterless no extra charge. There is unlimited tea and coffee and a glass of orange juice with every breakfast. The owner/manager runs a tight operation and all staff are kind friendly and helpful. They do deliver as well.


Only one thing we thought strange - the owner, who was chatty and helpful, is dressed like a snooker player in black complete with waistcoat. He looks very smart but a little out of place. Great little business should expand into Porthmadog or team up with Travelodge.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank morag5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BREAKTIMESCAFE, Owner at Breaktimes Cafe, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Thank you for visiting us at Breaktimes and for taking the time to tell others of your experience with us. We pride ourselves on all you have kindly noted and for being able to offer probably the most extensive full english breakfast range to be found anywhere within North Wales.

We do in fact run a tight operation ensuring the Cafe is run smoothly and effectively in both the open plan kitchen, as well as front of house. Thank you for also pointing out our dress code. All of our staff are dressed in a smart black uniform, apart from the leading cook who is always in Chef whites with contrasting black apron.

With regards to myself, I too always dress in black in line with the staffs own dress code, with tie and waistcoat as you have rightly pointed out, as it instantly lets all of our guests know who the senior member of staff is. I do not feel you can dress too smartly for service, regardless of eatery or location.

Whilst we have no immediate plans to expand into Porthmadog this coming year, who knows what the future will bring. However, one thing is for sure...our business would be NOTHING without valued custom like yourself regardless of location. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A gem in disguise!”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Who would have thought that a humble truckers' caff on a lowly industrial estate could be so perfect?! As we checked into the Porthmadog Travelodge and realised there was no food service apart from a prepacked breakfast muffin, we noticed an ad for Breaktimes boasting of its high Food Standards rating. We checked out the menu leaflet and saw the Samson, Hercules and Goliath challenge meals. Our son would love that! We duly went every day of our stay and it was the highlight! Perfectly turned out staff, courteous and friendly. All food cooked fresh and with care. Beautiful bacon and well cooked eggs. The humble industrial unit had been brightened up nicely and was spotlessly clean and airy. A nice mixed clientele - business people, local workers, and holidaying families like us. And our son really enjoyed his Samson breakfast bap on his birthday!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Holdwithhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BREAKTIMESCAFE, Owner at Breaktimes Cafe, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Thank you for your kind review and comments and for visiting Breaktimes. We remember you all visiting Breaktimes and we also thank you for pointing out our location, which is something out of the ordinary and also something of which we are very proud.

When we opened Breaktimes Cafe we instantly blew away any myth about location having to be linked with being a greasy spoon and as you have kindly pointed out, nothing could be further from the truth.

We endeavour to offer a breakfast to suit all appetities, hence our extensive choice of 9 set breakfasts and are pleased that your son chose and enjoyed his Samson birthday breakfast.
We were unaware that it was his birthday, has had we known we would have marked the occassion for him, as we do with all customers who make us aware of birthdays. We would however like to wish him a belated Happy Birthday from all of us and hope that his Samson Breakfast set him up for a memorable day.

Thank you also for your kind comment regarding our staffs presentation and manner. We all enjoy chatting to our customers and pride ourselves on all of us being turned out impeccably each day, which we believe is how it should be.

Once again thank you for choosing to eat at Breaktimes and we look forward to welcoming you back should you visit the area again where once again a friendly welcome awaits you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Breaktimes Cafe also viewed

Tremadog, Porthmadog
 
Porthmadog, Gwynedd
Porthmadog, Gwynedd
 
Borth-y-Gest, Gwynedd
Porthmadog, Gwynedd
 

Been to Breaktimes Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing