We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”
Review of Breaktimes Cafe

Breaktimes Cafe
Ranked #1 of 57 Restaurants in Porthmadog
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Brunch a few of days ago based on the rating here and wasn't disappointed. Staff friendly and polite. Very clean which included the toilets. Went back a couple of days later for a take away lunch which very good value for money and of excellent quality. Will be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S W, Owner at Breaktimes Cafe, responded to this review, 26 October 2014
Thank you for taking time leaving your review for others to read. We look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    379
    39
    11
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We decided to pay a visit to Breaktimes Cafe, after discovering its number 1 rating on Trip Advisor! Upon arrival a very pleasant young waiter greeted us. Our first question was whether they provided high chairs (as we had our 15 month old Daughter with us). Straight away he provided a booster seat and ensured this was tied securely onto the chair. Once settled at the table we studied the menu, which had excellent choices and decided to go with The best (which was equivalent to a full breakfast) and scrambled egg on toast. These were cooked to order and came very quickly. We were both really impressed with our choices. They were tasty, hot and decent sized portions. The full breakfast was priced at £6 which was very good value, as it included unlimited tea/coffee, and orange juice as well as coming with lovely toast and butter. My scrambled egg was really nice, fluffy and seasoned well. The staff went out of their way to ensure our little girl was comfortable too. I ordered some rice crispies for her, which came in a nice small bowl with a special baby spoon. She felt very grown up sitting at the table in her booster seat and being presented with her own bowl of cereal! The waiter also asked what she'd like to drink. I explained that she is a big tea fan, so he suggested filling her beaker that she already had with her with milky tea, which again she loved.
This cafe couldn't have done anymore to make us feel welcome. There were signs everywhere for baby changing facilities and how nothing is too much trouble for them. I think this could be a real hit with families staying at the local Haven site (like us) as the cafe on site is very overpriced and very average.
Breaktimes cafe is what it is: a typical greasy spoon setting with a difference. The staff seem happy and very keen to assist to the customers needs. There was a vast range of ages in the cafe too which was nice to see. I wish you every success and look forward to returning next time we visit Porthmadog!

Helpful?
1 Thank Elen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S W, Owner at Breaktimes Cafe, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We remember all three of you well and how lovely in particular your daughter was...a first class little star. Could not believe she wanted Tea...Amazing
If you are ever in Porthmadog again, please visit us again.
Best wishes for the future
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Big Breakfast Time!!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Literally 5 mins away from where we have stayed. This cafe has surprised me withthe choice of breakfast and size of the breakfast with unlimited tea and coffee included. A full English Breakfast which is what I need to recover from a long walk in Snowdonia. If you have a very big appetize you can definite go for the Hercules breakfast:).

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pauline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S W, Owner at Breaktimes Cafe, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We remember you all well and would like to say what a polite and lovely group of people you all were. Your comments are very much appreciated and reflect what we do perfectly.
Thanks again for your valued custom
Best wishes
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlewich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best breakfast”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

If you want a good old fashioned full English breakfast, this is the place to go. It does what it says, good reasonably priced food with excellent service. It does fry ups, basically, but they are not greasy and the drinks are unlimited.You can have croissants or cereal if you want, and that might be next on the list as sometimes I don't want a cooked breakfast and my husband does. It's not a restaurant, it's a cafe, not pretentious but impeccably clean.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frances B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S W, Owner at Breaktimes Cafe, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you so much taking the time writing this review. We are exactly as you have said and never try to being anything else. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Crackin' breakfast!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Just a few minutes walk from the Travelodge where we were staying, this cafe offered inmumerable cooked breakfast options at reasonable prices, with free refills on the drinks too! Very nice.However it would be nice if there were cereal or other options too, as I didn't want a cooked breakfast every day.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SUE P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S W, Owner at Breaktimes Cafe, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time writing this review and for all of your positive comments regarding our large cooked Breakfast range. We have already acted upon previous requests regarding the issue of non cooked breakfast choices and a full and comprehensive menu will now be available as of July 5TH 2014. As well as cereal and croissants etc, we have also put together a range of Bagels with various accompaniments and over a dozen other non fried meal choices.

Your feedback is very important to us and thank you again in taking time out writing your review, as well as visiting us repeatedly when you stayed in Porthmadog

Best wishes

Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Breaktimes Cafe also viewed

Tremadog, Porthmadog
 
Borth-y-Gest, Gwynedd
Porthmadog, Gwynedd
 

Been to Breaktimes Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing