We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Indian Restaurant outside of Whitechapel and East London” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sima Tandoori

Sima Tandoori
Ranked #12 of 56 Restaurants in Porthmadog
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Carshalton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Indian Restaurant outside of Whitechapel and East London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

This restaurant is a gem, staying on the Cambrian Coast in North Wales ,we met up with friends
in Porthmadog, who chose the restaurant.
The service, quality of food, wonderful atmosphere and value for money could not be bettered.
The clientele was made up of mostly local people with the odd sprinkling of tourists.
Their chef had experience of working in London restaurants and it showed, We will certainly go again when next in Porthmadog, but anyone passing through, pay a visit you won't regret it !

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    67
    28
    8
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed just the one night night in Porthmadog, and thoroughly enjoyed our meal here. Freshly cooked, great tasting curry and good service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria13018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great menu, lovely food and good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

I visited on Saturday evening and was very impressed with the service from the second we arrived. The menu has a great selection of dishes and the staff were very helpful with explaining what some of the dishes were like. The quality of service was as good as it gets and nothing was too much trouble even my son changing his mind about his choice. The food was fantastic and everything cooked perfectly, very tasty and good portions. The restaurant filled up while we were there but we were not rushed for out table after we finished our food. I very much enjoyed the whole experience and everything was just right. I would recommend Sima and we will return again soon to try some more of the great selection of dishes on the menu.

Helpful?
1 Thank JonsReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Basic, cheap but OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Not the greatest Indian food around but OK for a quick meal. Polite service, good beer but the food quite forgettable really. But cheap enough. Unlikely to return but you never know in Porthmadog!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank doversole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Well worth a look”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Called in for a late night take away after a long day fishing ... Food was good very tasty Naga could have been hotter but would certainly come again ... Even got 10% discount for collecting with free popadoms and chutneys which was a nice touch

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaun W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sima Tandoori also viewed

Porthmadog, Gwynedd
Porthmadog, Gwynedd
 
Porthmadog, Gwynedd
Porthmadog, Gwynedd
 

Been to Sima Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing