We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$123/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caerwylan Hotel(Criccieth)
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$210
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Moelwyn(Criccieth)
US$128
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
George IV Hotel(Criccieth)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tudor Lodge(Porthmadog)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queens Hotel(Porthmadog)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Llwyn Derw(Porthmadog)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Yr Hen Fecws B&B(Porthmadog)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
16
6
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
6
3
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

Best bed & breakfast ,lovely place to stay,lovely hosts, will be back, highly recommend thankyou...

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnjoan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

I rang Beth last week when we had snow at home and there wasn't any in Wales, I was loathed to pay and book somewhere in case we couldn't go. Beth was happy with that and asked me to advise her on Saturday morning. We arrived late afternoon to a very warm welcome. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the bathrooms spotless. We mentioned we were going to have some wine and nibbles with our friends and she immediately provided wine glasses and suggested putting the gas fire on. Sunday breakfast was very good and plenty of it. Thank you Beth for making our visit so pleasant, We hope to return again soon.

Room Tip: Front room on first floor with en suite spacious and lovely view of the harbour
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Stayed over New Year in one of the self-catering apartments. Fantastic location in Porthmadog with a beatiful view of the harbour. Easy walking distance to all of Porthmadog and neighbouring Borth-Y-Gest. Parking nearby (free - but maybe only in the low season?). As it was self-catering we had a very quiet stay which was perfectly what we wanted. Porthmadog is a little off the beaten path but if staying in Porthmadog this place is a little gem.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globeric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

My boyfriend and I visited Castell on 17th September 2011 and received such a warm, friendly welcome from Beth. Our room was comfortable with a great view of the harbour, the shower was lovely and breakfast was outstanding. For such a reasonable price we feel we received first class service and have no hesitation in recommending Castell to friends and family and hope to visit again in the near future. Thank you Beth!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauren h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Booked on the basis of other TA reviews. Our room had a great view, but our side of the window things were not up to standard. Carpets needed cleaning; there was a general lack of attention to detail e.g. there was no glass of any kind in the en-suite. At breakfast our scrambled egg was more grey than yellow - reheated perhaps?

But our main source of irritation was the bed. When we phoned to book we made it clear that we needed a room with a firmish bed, but were booked into a room with a quite soft mattress; consequently we had a poor night's sleep. We baled out after one night instead of the two we had planned.

This is not a cheap B&B but you need more than a spectacular view to justify top prices.

Our other disappointment was that this was the first time ever we have disagreed with previous TA reviewers.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nolabola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castellporthmadog, Owner at Porthmadog B & B Castell, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2011

At Castell we value all commernts and deal with and rectify any complaints as soon as possible.
Glasses are provided within the dining room together with a refridgerator for guests to use ie to keep champagne cool!!! At Castell for further comfort we have fitted memory foam toppers to all mattresses and this does give a soft feel to the bed but all beds are firm.
In future we will advise all guests of this and if a guest require us to remove the toppers off to provide a firmer bed then of course we shall do this. All carpets were cleaned at the beginning of the season. This room is fitted with a very light coloured carpet and it does by now have some beverage stains, we have taken this on board and the carpet is now cleaned (earlier than scheduled!!!) As regards your comment regarding the scrambled eggs, I can assure you it was certainly NOT reheated and we pride ourselves on providing an excellent breakfast ie see previous comments!!!! In repsonse to this complaint regarding the bed Beth offered to upgrade them to our self contained apartment no extra charge fitted with a king size orthopaedic bed but they were not interested and wanted to go home but it was a very rainy day!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews