We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best chippy around suppose!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Allport's Fish and Chips

Allport's Fish and Chips
Ranked #5 of 50 Restaurants in Porthmadog
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best chippy around suppose!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Would say its the best chippy around because I dont really know of any other chippys in the area that are open at decent times! Good food, good value! Just down the road from the high street quite easy to find!

Helpful?
1 Thank awj93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John A, Owner at Allport's Fish and Chips, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
I'm sorry the response is a little late, thank you for your positive comments, I will pass on your comments to the hard working team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    54
    18
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Order two regular fish and chips tonight 15/06/14 around 7.30. Chips were warmed up and one fish was tiny and the other one's battered was not cooked it was wet and slimey we drive home therefore, it wasn't worth driving back what a waste of £10.40, certainly won't got back and tell our friends who we had previously recommended Allports not to go there, no even worth giving any stars to but could not submit with review without giving it 1star

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helenandstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John A, Owner at Allport's Fish and Chips, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
I have sent a message to HelenandStan asking them to contact me to discuss the matter further.
Obviously I'm very disappointed at this review and will thoroughly investigate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“service with a smile”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

we went into Allports in Porthmadog on a Friday tea time , walked back to the garden for 'al fresco ' fish and chips. I handed them all out and realised we wrre a box missing. I ate mine , then returned to enquire about the missing box. No problem at all , in fact the person serving put in an extra southern fried chicken breast. Thanks Allports.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SueTett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John A, Owner at Allport's Fish and Chips, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Sue thank you for your great review, I'm sorry that we didn't get it right the first time and glad that the team were able to put it right on the night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doncaster
Level Contributor
197 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 368 helpful votes
“Wish we had tried them earlier in the week”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We got our takeaway from here later in the week, which was a shame as we would have liked to have gone back. The staff were very friendly and the place spotlessly clean. Food was good value for money with a decent menu. We all had something different and all very much enjoyed what we did have, I tried the cod roe which was very tasty, and even my teenage daughter who can be picky about food enjoyed hers. Hope to go again when next in the area

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank badwolfbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John A, Owner at Allport's Fish and Chips, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Very pleased that we were able to impress, looking forward to seeing you all again soon, I'll pass on your kind words to all the hard working team at Allports Porthmadog.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“The best in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Excellent as usual. Unless you are hungry share the chips.
One of the chip shops anywhere always good. Ask for a small amount of salt unless you want a lot!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank KMN04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John A, Owner at Allport's Fish and Chips, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
I'm are very pleased that we made the mark on this occasion, I will pass on the great news to all the team, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Allport's Fish and Chips also viewed

Porthmadog, Gwynedd
 
Porthmadog, Gwynedd
Porthmadog, Gwynedd
 
Tremadog, Gwynedd
Porthmadog, Gwynedd
 

Been to Allport's Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing