We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“it travels well!”

Purple Moose Brewery
Ranked #6 of 19 things to do in Porthmadog
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“it travels well!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

No idea what the brewery visit is like, but by the time the beer has made the journey of nearly a quarter of a mile to Spooners on Portmadoc Staion it is very good indeed!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 34064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    13
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good beer and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Visited the brewery shop before we went home and stocked up on the bottled beer. Cheaper than in Tescos etc

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nidger50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Bendigedig”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Great beer, really tasty. Very small shop and brewery, but the guy was very helpful and advised me on which types would best suit. No idea why they called it purple moose, other than that mws piws rhymes. Top tip is to buy your mws piws from the brewery shop as it is cheaper there than in any of the shops in town.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bianconero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“great beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

We visited the brewery while in Portmadoc. They were very helpful and let us try their beer before buying any.
They have a range of beers and it is well worth trying them as they are very different.
We really liked the one with elderflower as it was very refreshing.
The staff are very helpful and friendly.
They do tours of the brewery. We did not do this as we did not have the time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank swift-simba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“MAke sure you take some home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

I'm no connoiseur of ales, but I do know a good pint when I taste one. Their 'Snowdon' beer is first-class. Good price in bulk, a nice memento of a visit to the area.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Purple Moose Brewery also viewed

 
Porthmadog, Gwynedd
Porthmadog, Gwynedd
 

Been to Purple Moose Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing