We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A short ride but a good one” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Welsh Highland Heritage Railway

Welsh Highland Heritage Railway
Ranked #4 of 18 things to do in Porthmadog
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Rossendale
Level Contributor
228 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“A short ride but a good one”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Welsh Highland Heritage Railway is not a long ride but our young child enjoyed it nearly as much as me she liked the big train and loved the small train,I liked the museum,the folk were friendly

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Raw10stall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    40
    5
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly little line”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

This Heritage Railway often gets confused with the Welsh Highland Railway to Caenarfon. In fact this line is round the corner in Porthmadog. It's small but volunteers all very friendly and knowledgeable. Excellent interactive Heritage Centre at Gelerts Farm with lots for the children to do. The cafe served some excellent snacks and the shop had a huge choice of items from Thomas toys to serious railway items

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank rustybel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Small family-friendly attraction”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We went at a quiet time and had the luxury of having the train to ourselves. We are railway buffs and were travelling without children so had a great time talking to like-minded volunteers. We were shown round the engine shed by the guy who built the miniature railway. The railway company are trying hard to make an attraction to appeal to families with a small outdoor play area and locos and a simulator in the museum

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank mrsplank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time and money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

The only thing that stopped me putting terrible is that the volunteers are really friendly. Let's be honest it's terrible. On the day we went the miniature train wasn't running due to lack of volunteers and the main event was a narrow gauge diesel pulling a couple of manky carriages for about half a mile past the back of some houses and then back to a small shed that's been turned into a museum. In the museum there are a couple of steam locos and a couple of diesels and a new boiler waiting to go on an engine that isn't even there there is also supposed to be another engine called Russell that isn't there either as it's being overhauled somewhere else. If it weren't for the fact that some people on here have confused this for the Ffestiniog and welsh highland railway there would be more bad reviews than good ones. We went on most of the railways in wales while we were there. If you don't want the expense or the length of Ffestiniog,the genuine welsh highland railway or Talyllyn then go to llanberis lake railway it's the same price with lovely views, a guaranteed steam train and you can call into the national slate museum during your trip other than that Bala lake railway is really good and they let you visit the engine shed with the kids. My advise don't waste your money

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank tom p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHRBERT, Public Relations Manager at Welsh Highland Heritage Railway, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
We are very sorry you didn't enjoy your visit to our railway and that the Miniature Railway wasn't running on the day you visited us, as a volunteer run charity we do sometimes struggle to find volunteers on some operating days.

We have many happy visitors who come and visitors us year after year, many leave us favorable comments on here and on our Facebook page about how they enjoyed themselves, so we don't agree with your comment:

"If it weren't for the fact that some people on here have confused this for the Ffestiniog and welsh highland railway there would be more bad reviews than good ones"

Yes some people do confuse us for the F&WHR many of them turn up at our station every day and we are more then happy to direct them to our friends at the other end of town and they do the same when visitors are looking for us.

If you read the favorable comments on here you will see many of them ARE about the WHHR.

My colleagues and I have taken your comments on board and even though, due to events out of our control, we are unable to offer a longer train ride we have and will continue to improve the experience we offer in our Visitors Center at Gelerts Farm and hope if you pay us another visit in the future you will be pleasantly surprised by the additions and improvements we are going to make and have already made.

All the best,

Mark Herbert

WHR Ltd, Porthmadog
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“a good morning out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

ok we went on 10th of june with our 4yr old we was driving pasted and decided to stop we had a drink in the coffee while we waited for the train we got our tickets and looked round the shop then went on the train it goes up the line when it gets to the end the train turns rounds but our son got to help witch he loved when the train switched round we when back down the line but it stopped at the museum there is lots for the kids to do but if like our son make sure you got 10ps as they have a model train that gose round the staff are happy and chatty and very helpful its a nice morning out but your tickets last all day so u can go again

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Welsh Highland Heritage Railway also viewed

 
Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Welsh Highland Heritage Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing