We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location, great views, lovely house”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Porthmadog, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PeachesMc...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location, great views, lovely house”
Reviewed 30 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Really not sure why the only reviews here are for Christmas stays, it's clearly a popular house and will be good for a holiday at any time of year. Five of us stayed for Christmas, no problem at all cooking Christmas dinner in the well equipped kitchen! I now want a double oven myself. The two cosy living rooms make this a very comfortable house for everyone to spread out, both downstairs rooms have living flame gas fires which are perfect for winter evenings (there is central heating too). The views from the front of the house are great, I could sit in bed and see right across the valley to the hills on the other side. From the living room, you have a good view of the harbour. Attentive and helpful owners who sent lots of great information in advance and even phoned just to check everything was ok. It's unusual to have that level of attention in a holiday let, I think. We were met by a bottle of champagne and welsh cakes on arrival. The parking at the back of the house is tight for an estate car but still doable and there was plenty of free parking nearby. In terms of pubs, I'd recommend The Australia which you can see from the house and has Purple Moose Brewery beers. Good to see Porthmadog is a proper town with real people living there, unlike some Cornish villages for example which have been taken over by second homes. I would definitely stay here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miffers66...
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Brilliant time at Garth Craig!”
Reviewed 10 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

6 adults, a 14 months, 5 and 7 year old children and a 7 week old baby stayed for 4 nights over New Year 2015. We arrived at 3pm and the Tesco delivery came at 4pm all the way up the steep steps! The weather was awful for the 4 days and we therefore made the most of this beautiful cottage. The kids had their own living room and the grown ups had theirs. The kitchen was ample and we were able to all sit round the table and eat. The added bonus of a washing machine with a 7 week old baby's washing was great. The bed rooms were of a nice size and my hubbie and I stayed in the loft room, we pushed the beds together. Once we got used to the low ceiling it was fine. It was very warm up there. We had a slight problem with the cottage and the agent was extremely attentive, the owner even rang to check we were ok. They left us a bottle of fizz, welsh cakes and an xmas card! Location was great, a very short walk from the high street and the Ship pub which became our local let 2 families park their cars for free for the duration. We didn't do much but eat, drink and play games with the kids (loads of great games at the cottage have been left). A thoroughly chilled out time at Garth Craig - thank you!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2016
We couldn't be happier that you had such a brilliant holiday at Garth Craig, and thank you ever so much for taking the time to share this thoroughly lovely review with us. The set up of having two living areas sounds pretty perfect to us, it means everyone can have their own space but then time can be spent together at meal times - the best of both worlds! We certainly hope that you will all be back for another relaxing stay very soon, we'd love to have you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthernE...
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“All we expected.......”
Reviewed 12 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We hired the property over new year 2014. There were nine of us aged between 6months and 60 years old and we all enjoyed it.
The property is in good condition it has three floors we used the ground and first floors, nine of us were accommodated. The facilities are very good two good bathrooms one with shower cubicle and one with bath, the kitchen has everything you need.
There are games and guidebooks, the owners rang the first night to make sure we were settling in which was a nice touch. They also gave us a discount as building work had overran ,the effect of this was to reduce the benefit of the view as scaffolding was on the front of the house. This would have been more of a problem in the spring or summer.
Porthmadog and the area are lovely and we would like to visit again when the weather is better,although we still found plenty to do !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlS64
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 20 November 2014 for a stay in May 2014

I've been a regular visitor to Garth Craig for the past 15 years, I stay here every May for a few days with friends to do walking etc. The place is a real home from home with everything you need for a very comfortable stay. the location is brilliant with fantastic views of Porthmadog harbour, Ffestiniog railway and out towards Snowdonia. Close to the shops, restaurants and pubs with the only downside being parking, it's a little tight but over the years we've become use to doing it; the trick is to reverse down....!!

Don't delay, go along and see for yourself.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Car parking a little tight
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;