We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great break , lovely staff ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Porthmadog
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great break , lovely staff ...”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We have had a two night break at this hotel this week .... The staff and the breakfast were fantastic . They were really helpful and very professional . We stayed with two small children , and this was the only problem . The room layout was ok but there was lots of reachable things to mess with . Ordering of evening meals was a little unclear as we were advised that dinner was served 6-9 pm and our children normally go to bed at this time . we were told it would be fine to order and eat in the bar .... In the bar it was quite " loud " and not a place for babies . This resulted in us not eating here for our evening meal for our stay . Maybe a quieter place and earlier child friendly meal time would be easier . Other than this , the royal sportsman is a lovely hotel where I would use again but maybe only as a couple .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynzi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    251
    89
    27
    23
See reviews for
93
323
44
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We recently spent 3 days at the Royal Sportsman with our Golden Retriever and really enjoyed our stay. We ate in the bar so that our dog could be with us, he too was made most welcome! We thought the food was excellent and as we are coeliacs our diet presented no problem. Our courtyard room was very clean and comfortable.
All the staff were most helpful.
We were given details of local walks suitable for dogs, all in all a wonderful break.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I called in the Sportsman last month and loved the whole experience. Met all the local characters in the Bar area, and couldn't fault thier hospitality. Joe Gaff was especially friendly and taught me the first steps towards becoming a successful fisherman!
The beer was first class, although I did think the food was a bit pricey! I didn't actualy stay in the Hotel so can't really comment on the service.
However, the Bar area was 10 out of 10 in my opinion.
I'm due back there on August 24th and will be staying at the Sportsman on this occasion! Camping on Black Rock is okay until you hit the mid 40's!!

Room Tip: Highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianTheBarman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
275 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We visited Porthmadog at the weekend with friends and chose the Sportsman by chance. I hadn't read any of the reviews previously so went in with an open mind. The bar area was quite full so we opted to eat in the restaurant. The bar served Sunday lunch and a normal menu. Only Sunday lunch was available in the restaurant, but this is what we all wanted. We were seated in a lounge area outside the restaurant where a very efficient waiter took our drinks order and left us the menus. The order was taken in the lounge and we were taken to our table about 5 minutes before the food arrived. Two of us had the pate starter which was more than ample and was easily shared by 4, an it was excellent. There was fresh bread on the table and plenty of it, I don't know what it was but it was delicious with a lovely crust that tasted out of this world. We all ordered the beef dinner, ample portions of meat, a huge home made Yorkshire pudding, roast potatoes, a carrot and swede mash, and a side plate with fresh beans, carrots and cauliflower. All cooked to perfection. We had intended having cheese and biscuits for our sweet, but none of us could manage any more. The prices considering the quality of the food were very reasonable, £10.95 for one course, £15.95 for two, and £19.95 for three course. All in all we had a fantastic time, with professional staff and great food.I would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toni t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

female staff on reception very helpful .male staff not so pleasant. room was clean beds good ,
breakfast was adequate .dining room staff pleasant but stay was totally spoilt in car park someone had parked in exit
clearly marked keep clear .
refused point blank to move asked on reception if they would get it removed was told
that's one of the co owners cars , you will have to reverse out witch meant having to reverse 25 yards across pavement onto a main road as their was no room to turn. This so called co owner
was very arrogant and unhelpful does not deserve to get any customers .Customer always right
( you have got to be joking)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank john_l186410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croiala, Manager at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
This reviewer is mistaken in that there are no co owners and we block the keep clear section with a staff car as customers repeatedly ignore the signs and block the emergency exit/entrance which was explained to the customer.

On that occasion, the staff member was out for an hour and we would have been happy to move it if we had the keys to do so. This was also explained to the customer very politely.

Parking is limited and on a first come basis which is made very clear with every letter of confirmation and yes, it is a small garage which can make turning difficult.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We were staying in the area and decided to splash out on an evening meal together. Date was 14th July 2013. It was quite early in the evening and after being shown to the dining room we realised we were the second couple there. Meal wasn't cheap but we both believe in paying for good food. I was the only disappointed one as I opted for the fish. It was bass and minute in size! The main meal with vegetables of the day was over £20.00. The fish was the size of a domino but about inch thick. My husband had the steak and was pleased with his meal. I have since had a pub meal of fresh Teifi sewin in west Wales where the portion was four times more and at a cost of £12.00.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank fflamgoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The supposedly amazing restaurant on-site closes at 9pm, but both Friday and Saturday night a group of 7 of us were refused tables well before this time. No effort was made to try and squeeze us in or even ask the kitchen if it was possible on the first night - just a point blank refusal. We were staying two nights and felt like we were treated like dirt on the street. A better effort was made on Sat night but still the same result. Very disappointing service.
Rooms were fine and breakfast was perfectly adequate but I won't be rushing back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croiala, Manager at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
This review gets 1 out of 10 for accuracy and honesty and it is about time such reviews are highlighted for their dishonesty.

It is normal practice to book a table in a restaurant in advance especially at weekends and one which is very popular and with two Rosettes. These customers DID NOT AT ALL EVEN WHEN REQUESTED TO DO SO.

The review by the guest is not only inaccurate, embellished but ill informed.

This customer was part of a group of golfers who were booked to stay two nights at the hotel and booked through a golf agency. Despite informing the agency of our restaurant booking times, policy and availability, this was not passed to the group. As we did not have any contact details for the group, we were unable to inform them independently.

The group turned up at 8.50pm not as stated in the review and was almost 9pm when they went to their rooms. The group leader asked if they could book dinner and the Duty Manager-Ian- explained that a group of pre booked 19 guests had just gone into the restaurant and there were no available places.

Ian informed them of other places which might be open but specifically asked if they would like to book for the Saturday night to ensure a table was available. They did not.

The group returned at about 8.40pm on the Saturday evening and then requested a table which was not available and one of the group was not happy, probably the reviewer. He was informed by the General Manager that they had been offered a table on Friday for Saturday night. They went out but the Duty Manager went back to the kitchen and spoke with the Chef in charge again, who agreed to accommodate this group but not for at least an hour due to prior bookings.

The General Manager telephoned the organiser to explain the offer of a late table but was declined.

What more could we have to do? This group had plenty of opportunities to book a table, declined when asked, were not given the restaurant information sent to the agency and then had the cheek to blame the hotel! Our service was not wanting in the bar on both nights, reception, in the restaurant at breakfast or housekeeping. Perhaps, they should look to their own behaviour.

We wholeheartedly agree with the reviewer when he writes that he does not wish to return here again.

As a consequence, we have now insisted that golf groups, booked through an agency, are given an information sheet designed by the hotel. This is to sent to their customers in the hope they will provide a better service.

Food for thought!
Report response as inappropriate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthmadog
1.8 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
4.1 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
4.1 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
15.9 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sportsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sportsman Hotel

Property: Royal Sportsman Hotel
Address: 131 High Street, Porthmadog LL49 9HB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Porthmadog
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Porthmadog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Sportsman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very comfortable, 'home from home,' independently run, full-service quality hotel, the only hotel in Porthmadog. It has been awarded 3* by the AA and Visit Wales, 2 AA Rosette for its food and included in the Good Food Guide, using the best of local Welsh suppliers. Children are welcome and particularly pets in our courtyard rooms. Ground Floor rooms also available for those with walking difficulties. Private covered parking, cycle lock up, drying room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Royal Sportsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Sportsman
Royal Sportsman Porthmadog
Royal Sportsman Hotel Porthmadog, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing