We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Car Club weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Porthmadog
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Car Club weekend”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The team at The Royal Sportsman Hotel in Porthmadog was excellent - from my first contact, through all the planning for a visit for 27 people in TIPEC The Independent Porsche Enthusiasts Club PLUS their cars. The warm welcome by Kasia and Ian was the start of a great weekend, good food, good rooms, and excellent service from all the team - not one single glitch - highly recommended!!

Room Tip: Specify if you want a bath and/or shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue999029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
All I can say as the new owner is that many groups such as this one really do make it so much easier for my excellent team to make sure guests have a fabulous time! From the initial enquiry and their two-day stay through to posting this review, the group organiser kept us right up to date with all their needs - so we could do our utmost to exceed them. Bristol TIPEC are a lovely, genuine crowd and it was a joy to share our hospitality with them. They are welcome back any time with their stunning sports cars, as there are still masses more attractions (than just the three most famous) to visit in the Porthmadog area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    252
    89
    27
    23
See reviews for
94
323
44
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Struggling to find a nice hotel for my Japanese friend for the Number 6 Festival Portmeirion. No room any where in the area as booking last minute. The guy who I phoned who works on reception went out of his way to find her a room and also recommended that we all came to the hotel for some food in the restaurant. Bumped into this guy again during the stay in the hotel and also actually at the Number 6 festival he was so helpful and very friendly. She loved everything about the hotel. Four of us two Japanese friends, a Belgium friend and myself had food in the restaurant. We tried the the home made pie, the lamb steak and the lamb slow roast. All of us loved the food. Great quality produce, excellent customer service and well presented. Also local beers.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Blues1927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
It was an absolute pleasure to accommodate these guests and now to see they have fully and publicly appreciated the service we provided. It was also a delight to introduce the Japanese lady to the musicians she had come specially to the UK to see - as they too were staying with us and eating in our bar. They and the internationally-acclaimed band's senior management team also enjoyed our hospitality. . .and we hope other Festival No 6 acts will consider us next year?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Picton, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

There was a delicious moment at check-in where I was presented with a piece of cardboard with my name & room number scribbled on it. Folding it in half to put it in my pocket, it was gently recovered from me by the manager who carefully & deliberately unfolded the card, and after stroking the crease, flipped the card over to explain a number of Rules of the House. Suitably chastised, I fled to my room which possessed the usual accoutrements of a 19th century hotel like creaking floorboards. For what I paid the room was fine, and I later ventured downstairs for a meal. At check in I had been sternly told that there was nowhere else in Porthmadog worth even considering, so after a brief look in the restaurant, and finding it empty, I decided to retire to the bar which offered both the restaurant menu and some cheaper options. Picking the meat pie, I found that this indeed was a superior offering with a great filling in a rustic pastry case. Very good, if a trifle expensive.

Breakfast the following morning was a good experience, and overall the hotel was OK, with covered parking a plus.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 16830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
At this particular check-in it is likely the manager to whom the reviewer refers was keen for the guest to at least receive important health and safety information. This is our duty for their, and other guests, benefit. Our check-in cards are professionally produced and any information carefully written on them. Any member of reception staff would indicate the emergency duty manager contact number for during the night, and emphasise no smoking in the hotel building - without chastising them regarding Rules of the House. Our main rule, not written down and appreciated by guests with a sense of humour, is that they must enjoy their stay! Regarding our food and dining arrangements, we advise guests and other customers that: 1. Our bar and restaurant are open seven days a week, 365 days a year (whereas many others have limited opening). 2. Our food - whether from the 2 Rosette Restaurant or Traditional Classics menus - is very different to that served elsewhere in the town (i.e. it is all fresh, local produce, homemade and cooked to order by first-class head/sous chefs). 3. It may be a trifle more expensive but we think it is excellent quality and so good value for those who appreciate the difference.
Overall, we are delighted the reviewer found the meat pie a superior offering, enjoyed the breakfast, benefited from the free and covered parking, and was OK with the hotel overall. Going forward, guests and local customers will be given service appropriate to their needs. The new management team sincerely hopes to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

only visited the restaurant but very enjoyable meal, was welcomed at reception and taken through to a waiting area on comfy sofa's were we had a drink before entering the dining room,after ordering the starters came very quickly and were superb,3 of us had the fillet of beef and my partner had the beetroot tart,all were excellent with the beef of a very high quality cooked to perfection we never had a sweet as we were full up so just went straight to coffee's
the bill came to £145 for 4 of us so not the cheapest but quality of food and well worth a visit if you fancy a bit more than the usual pub grub

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leggs007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverfordwest
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I revisited the Royal Sportsman recently for food after a good experience last time we were in the area. It was a Sunday night and I know you don't put your A-list chef on for that shift but the bar was nearly empty and we had a long wait. While the food was nice it was astonishingly expensive - 3 sausages on a bed of mash with a puddle of gravy for £12 - I think i ate it in about three mouthfuls. My girlfriends burger was very nice, obviously home-made but it all seemed like they were going for poncy presentation which is an odd approach considering the slightly down-at-heel Rovers Return appearance of the hotel itself.

Nice barman though and good beer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
We are delighted to hear of this customer re-visiting, hoping for a repeat good experience. We would like to assure the reviewer that whatever night of the week, we have either a two Rosette head chef or Welsh Silver culinary champion sous chef on duty. Our award-winning chefs produce both the Restaurant and Traditional Classics menu dishes - all cooked to order, using only fresh local ingredients, so we do advise there may be a slight wait (rather than the long wait claimed). Price is always a matter of opinion, so is £12.95 for three, specially-made Edwards of Conwy sausages, on fresh not frozen mash, with homemade gravy 'astonishingly expensive' compared, say, to £10 elsewhere for mass-produced microwave meals? As for food presentation, we beg to differ with the 'poncy' description, but do agree that some areas of the hotel need sprucing up - and will be as we progress even further under my new ownership. Good bar staff and beer almost goes without saying at our hotel. . .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
296 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

What a delightful hotel for a short break.The staff are excellent and the rooms are very clean and have all the amenities.There is a positive ambience in the bar area which is very welcoming.The breakfast is of a very high standard with the 'Welsh' choice proving a winner.The restaurant was a great success with our party and the quality of food and service was notable.I would return to the Royal Sportsman - however, what a poor name for Hotel in Porthmadog - maybe the new owners will consider a change !!

Room Tip: The rooms on the ground floor are newer and are of a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Staying at the Royal Sportsman for a couple of nights on business and the place is as good as it has been the last few years I have stayed here. The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are good and I have now had a meal here at the restaurant a couple of times and I would return on my next trip in these parts.

Room Tip: Ask for the courtyard rooms if available, these are quaint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaligram A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthmadog
1.8 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
4.1 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
4.1 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
15.9 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sportsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sportsman Hotel

Property: Royal Sportsman Hotel
Address: 131 High Street, Porthmadog LL49 9HB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Porthmadog
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Porthmadog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Sportsman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very comfortable, 'home from home,' independently run, full-service quality hotel, the only hotel in Porthmadog. It has been awarded 3* by the AA and Visit Wales, 2 AA Rosette for its food and included in the Good Food Guide, using the best of local Welsh suppliers. Children are welcome and particularly pets in our courtyard rooms. Ground Floor rooms also available for those with walking difficulties. Private covered parking, cycle lock up, drying room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Royal Sportsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Sportsman
Royal Sportsman Porthmadog
Royal Sportsman Hotel Porthmadog, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing