We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Porthmadog
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2013

What a gem. We travelled to Porthmadog from Hertfordshire my partner had never visited Wales before and I last visited North Wales 47 years ago. We were in for a real treat this hotel is so good - staff so friendly and made us very welcome, food was outstanding with a very extensive menu both for dinner and breakfast. Waiting staff could not do enough for us and added to the pleasure of the excellent wine, fine dining and overall professionalism. Each night there was a lovely open fire in the lounge and it was a pleasure to sit by it each evening after our meal.

The hotel supplied us with money off vouchers for Portmerien Village and the Ffestiniog Railway. We were on a Travelzoo voucher and had a free bottle of excellent wine and disccounted meals which was a great surprise to us.

Cannot wait to visit the hotel again

Room Tip: we stayed in a small double room which was plenty big enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

What a delightful review, thank you for your kind comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, it was a pleasure to have you and we do look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (719)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

395 - 401 of 719 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

This was my second visit to this hotel but this time I was accompanied by my wife. We had been allocated an upstairs room but because my wife has some difficulties with stairs the receptionist was able to change our room to one on the ground floor. The bed was comfortable. The room was large and kept warm with efficient radiators. The towels were generous in size and the bath and shower were excellent with plenty of hot water. The parking space in the garage was a bonus.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelMont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always a delight to have returning guests and our pleasure to accommodate you and your wife on this occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Went to this hotel with a walking group of 40, Organisation was excellent from the time we arrived to the time of departure, Our Ramblers organiser also helped in a big way, By giving details and ordering the food prior to arrival. It saved a huge time of waiting at dinner. we were served within 10 -15 mins 40 people

Anyone who is considering this hotel for big groups, I highly recommend it., certainly would not be disappointed. Rooms, very clean and tidy,However the rooms
in the back are quiet, and guest can sleep well. The rooms in the front are too hot, If one opens the window, traffic noise until is heard until approx 0100. This hotel is in the middle of the town of Portmadoc..

Food - Always hot ,well presented. Very enjoyable, Pack lunches expensive, Tesco across the road, who cater for a packed lunch.
The staff were excellent, The Manager is new,and is very helpful, He works with the staff to provide a high standard, in all aspects of this hotel, Very good value for money, we will return

Room Tip: Choose a Garden terrace, or a back room, Unable to hear the traffic passing through the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marion18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Many thanks for another definite recommendation for virtually every aspect of our hotel and service from a special interest group!
It really is a boon when a group leader - and indeed so many of their group - are willing to enter into the spirit of happily 'processing' room check-ins and dinner orders for 44 people all at once!
We strongly believe it is possible to provide 'big groups' with a very warm home-from-home welcome and an efficient/professional service, without sacrificing a personable approach as in some larger, more corporate hotels.
Regarding the rooms, temperature, traffic and location we can only say that being at the centre of everything - especially handy for the major visitor attractions - must inevitably have its downside.
While Porthmadog High Street is hardly a major thoroughfare - now the town has its bypass - rooms at the back are naturally quieter. As for room temperature, it is impossible to get it right for all individuals (with changeable September weather) without environmentally unfriendly air-conditioning or less effective (and potentially dangerous if left on) electric fans.
We consider our packed lunches reasonable value for money at around £8 - given the sandwich is from our menu (and made with fresh, homebaked bread and best quality fillings), and also contains a drink bottle, packet of crisps, fruit and a chocolate bar.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon - either individually or as a group. . .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel. I will just stick to the facts about the standards within the room we frequented and the hotel in general to be constructive.

We were allocated room 5, an annex room located at the rear of the hotel. The room was small, dark, but adequate for two. Decor was VERY dated, predominantly serviced by rose pink and dark red walls with rose coloured carpets with dated pine furniture.

sadly, the bed in our room was sub-standard. Every move throughout the night was greeted with either a noisy creek or groan from the uncomfortable, smaller than usual mattress. In short, the furniture is dated, old, and in need of change.

The room itself was dirty with grey net curtains at the window and black moss in the shower. The whole room was in need of a good clean and refurb.

soundproofing to accommodation above and to the adjoining room was non-existent. The soundproofing was so bad that you can in fact hear your neighbours every sound and movement. literally.!

By the second night we had become so tired of listening to our neighbours snoring and bathroom activities that we could no longer take it. The room was nothing short of poor.

Being a seasoned traveller I can confirm that the standard of accommodation does not befit the price of approximately £59 a night when you consider the standards that Devere group or Travelodge have to offer for less. Porthmadog itself holds no locational boast that could levy adding further cost to the price of accommodation. I would class the accommodation in line with a b&b experience rather than the premier hotel status that it likes to portray. This is a below average budget hotel that has the monopoly in its location.

On the plus side, Food and service in the restaurant was very good. We ate from both the traditional and rosette menu's and I have to say there were some credible dishes served from both, at prices that I thought reasonable. If I had to offer some constructive critique, I would say update the music and decor in peppino's from the current rose pink and chintz with 50's style music, to something a little more this century and you will have a real winner on your hands, the food is great but the ambience is terrible. At more than one point, my wife and I both commented on the "old people home" feel to the place. Which is a shame.

Bar prices were good, with a good selection of beers, ales and wines. We spent a fair amount in the bar considering how long we were staying and in general it was pleasant.

In reality we should have complained about the room, but from what I saw of other rooms, I doubt it would have been a different experience in any of them. Having need of accommodation, there were very few other options around the Porthmadog area. The staff seemed fine and helpful but in general, the hotel is old, tired and not really reflective of what most younger travellers expect nowadays. Sadly, if this is the best hotel Portmadog has to offer, we will not be returning.

Room Tip: If you are offered a room in the annex be sure to get one without accommodation above it. ( unless...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_family_Stone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

It’s a view,
With completion of our fully renovated en-suits to all our rooms in April of this year and the high standards of housekeeping throughout our hotel from our dedicated team, the comments are surprising considering.
An AA inspection carried out July of this year rated our hotel well above the national average. A further inspection from Visit Wales carried out only last week was once again extremely favorable, maintaining our premier hotel standards.
Our guest’s comments are invaluable to us and we remain grateful for all the positive feedback we continue to receive each day including those of our many returning customers.
I am sorry to hear that, as a seasoned traveller, our décor was not to your taste and wish you well on your travels to locations with boast to suit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Very pleasant hotel with friendly welcoming staff. The comfortable lounge and bar, with a choice of well-kept real ales, made my short 2-day visit very enjoyable. The restaurant is high quality and the food was good and well presented (although perhaps a bit over-expensive). It's a well-situated hotel for walking in the beautiful Snowdonia region, and I found it ideal for visiting the two fascinating Welsh Highland and Ffestiniog narrow-gauge railways which both run from the harbour station at the other end of the High Street just a few minutes walk away. I can't imagine a better place to stay if I visit Porthmadog, again, and I certainly hope to do so..

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms (Nos.1 to 10) off the attractive covered courtyard are very convenient and comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Europete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

It is an added bonus having the Ffestiniog railway and Welsh Highland railway on the high street-it does add to the charm! We are pleased to hear you had a good break with us and do look forward to having you stay again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Spent last weekend here with my walking group and we were all extremely pleased with the hotel in general. The organisation on arrival for checking in a large number of people was extremely efficient and the staff all very helpful and friendly at all times. The food in the dining room was of a very high standard and well presented. The beds were good, but the rooms a little too warm and Overall it was really good value for money.

Room Tip: ASk to be towards the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patsos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

It is always a pleasure accommodating groups and we are glad to hear you were all extremely pleased with the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We went here a couple of times during our week holiday in borth y gest. We could walk here and bring our dog which was very good. Both times we were warmly welcomed and so was our dog with water brought out for her. We only had drinks the first time (coffee and beer good) the second time we ate with my brother a Sunday night. As we had the dog we were in the bar. Food took a long time but was very nice when it arrived just a little expensive. I would think a more 'bar food ' menu for the bar would be more appropriate and the lovely 'posh' food in the nice restaurant. 2 of us were vegetarian and they had a few choices. I had the carrot loaf thing which was lovely but expensive (being mainly carrot) and didn't come with any veg or potatoes. One of us asked for something from the lunch menu and they were very obliging which always says a lot for a place to me. Will visit again when back in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms, children activities and fitness centre should all be blank as selected in error (we didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Norfy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthmadog
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 2 in Portmeirion
1,525 reviews
4.1 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
397 reviews
15.9 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,363 reviews
13 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sportsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sportsman Hotel

Address: 131 High Street, Porthmadog LL49 9HB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Porthmadog
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Porthmadog
Price Range: £76 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Sportsman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very comfortable, 'home from home,' independently run, full-service quality hotel, the only hotel in Porthmadog. It has been awarded 3* by the AA and Visit Wales, 2 AA Rosette for its food and included in the Good Food Guide, using the best of local Welsh suppliers. Children are welcome and particularly pets in our courtyard rooms. Ground Floor rooms also available for those with walking difficulties. Private covered parking, cycle lock up, drying room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Royal Sportsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Sportsman
Royal Sportsman Porthmadog
Royal Sportsman Hotel Porthmadog, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing