We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good accessible room 3”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Porthmadog
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We had a 1 night stay last week at the Royal Sportsmans. My friends both use wheelchairs and they were allocated room 3 and they were delighted with it. The handy car parking space was ideal too. A friendly greeting, comfortable rooms, good food and a central location in Porthmadog, what more can you ask for? The hotel also helped us a book our trip on the Ffestiniog Railway. The short stay went exceedingly well and we will return to the Sportsmans for a longer stay in the future. The Moose was well received too.
Don Reeve

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank don_reeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

We particularly welcome feedback from guests who have special requirements because we really do like to go the extra mile for those who genuinely have struggles in life. These guests really appreciated our facilities and services, made the most of places to visit in the area, and were a pleasure to deal with. We sincerely hope they will return as soon as they can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (712)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 712 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2013

I took my wife to this hotel as an anniversary trip. The hotel needs to be brought up to date a bit. the room was decent but much like a Travel Lodge room to be honest, there was nothing special about it to warrant the price paid for it. although i must admit the bathroom was a really decent size and had a 'over the bath' shower. there was some sealant missing from around the bath and the side panel kept falling off, but i forgot to mention this to the hotel staff. we were on the third floor and there are no lifts, so, we had to hike to the top with our luggage, with no offer of help at all from the staff. when we arrived the person beind the counter seemed a little perplexed that i wanted to pay cash, so i offered to pay in advance if that would suit, it seemed to so i was happy. the resturant was nothing special to look at, but the food although very very good, was not really to our liking as we don't eat all this rosette style food, but as i say the food we did order was excellent and tasty. The breakfast was very good too, there was a choice of cereals and fruits, yoghurts and croissants etc and a vast array of hot food on the menu, i highly recommend the Full Welsh Cooked Breakfast. I do not however recommend the rib eye steak, it was tough and full of gristle. All-in-all a very nice hotel but i have given it an average rating as i didn't think it was worth the money i paid. £150 per person per night although that included £30 per person per night to use in the restaurant for the evening meal. even at £120 pppn was, in my opinion, too expensive for this hotel. The restaurant staff were very friendly, smart and helpful. Didn't really see anyone else!! The area is wonderful and the hotel is fairly central to places like Portmerion, Snowdonia, Swallow Falls, Betwys-a-Coed etc..

Room Tip: Take one of the new rooms on the ground floor if you can, they look better from the outside, but be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Inspection of all rooms is carried out daily by our AA inspection praised housekeeping team. Management inspection carried out today could not identify any fault with any bath panels. Full installation of all our new bathrooms was only completed in April of this year.

The hotel has a second floor and as part of our check in all guests are asked if they require help with their luggage, if this was not mentioned on your arrival a member of our delightful team would have been more than happy to help with a request.

We feel the package of £240 for 2 nights for 2 people is excellent value for money. It includes 1 night dinner in our restaurant with food cooked by our AA 3 rosette chef, all at a cost of just £60 per person per night. So the price mentioned in the review is incorrect.

Thank you for commenting that all-in-all the hotel was very nice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Booked through a 'deal site' and slightly disappointed with the view on arrival. But the staff soon made you feel welcome and valued, Ian in particular. I had made them aware that my partner has coeliac disease and needed gluten-free food. They catered for him without any problems and with most of the menu being available. But if an item wasn't they adapted it with his agreement. All of the staff went over and above our expectations and never made you feel that it was a problem. I can't sing their praises high enough. It is such a shame that the hotel looks tired and very unloved and without the staff would be inhospitable. Please update it, because on looks alone, we would never have enjoyed the experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angi2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your break with us, our dedicated staff take the time to ensure all guests are accommodated to their needs. The hotel is under new ownership and an upgrade plan is already underway, moving with the times whilst in keeping with the charm of the building which dates back to 1862.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Never ever thought we would go, never ever fancied it.
BUT WOW the food was GOOD
But the place needs a huge refurb very very dated, old fashioned but in a bad way!
Don't think we would visit again because the only box ticked was the food and at restaurant prices we require lots more to have a great evening

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

You ventured in! I am glad you enjoyed your meal and despite the comments hope you might like to try a visit to our bar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed here on a Travelzoo deal for a couple of nights and loved it, very welcoming staff, lovely big room which was really nicely furnished with lots of nice touches. We ate in the restaurant both nights and the food was extremely tasty and was served by a lovely efficient waitress. Not too sure about Porthmadog itself but it was raining for a lot of the time so probably didn't see the place at its best.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iris A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope to see you again when possibly we might tempt you to visit the local Italianate village of Portmeirion which is beautiful throughout the year with every change in season. We are ideally situated for two fascinating narrow-gauge steam railway lines; the Ffestiniog railway and the Welsh Highland railway offering charming, leisurely journeys through breathtaking natural beauty or even a walk into the hills, to name a few of the things Porthmadog has to offer, our team would be delighted to help you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed for two nights in a "large double". The staff were friendly and attentive, and relaxing in the lounge by the log fire after a November day in the hills was wonderful. The real highlight is the food. An extensive selection in both their "rosette" menu and "traditional favourites". We dined from the rosette menu both nights, and it was delicious. The room was fine, but not particularly large, and the bathroom fittings were getting a bit past-it. We will definitely visit again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank MountainClimber2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Our open log fires are a comfort after a treks in the hills, we are delighted you enjoyed your break and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Stayed for two nights in a small double in the courtyard. Room was certainly small although the worlds smallest TV did help make a bit room look larger. I could probably cope with the size if only everything about the room did not scream 'cheap'. The hotel does not promote itself as cheap which makes it all the more disappointing.

Cheap thin pillows cheap mattress cheap and nasty in general. The bathroom smelt like a public swimming pool due to the overuse of bleach. I got the impression that this was to help mask the general poor level of cleaning. Similar to the way a teenage boy might use deodorant instead of washing. Whilst the bed had fresh linen the valance was soiled and just added to the feel that cleaning was a superficial concern.

The chap that booked us in was really annoying - he most likely felt he was being helpful but he was overbearing and made the whole experience painful. I do not need to be told every by-law for the county, I just want a key to my room. Staying in a hotel is not that complicated and I have even been known to dress myself. Maybe it was just me - I can look at bit stupid at times but it's not good practise to assume your clients are dim by default.

The food was really very very good if you ate from the more expensive 2 AA rosette menu. I had two evening meals here and both were excellent. However, if you dropped of of that menu it soon lost it's shine and it seemed a shame that they could do so well at the top end and then seemingly loose interest with the more regular items. Breakfast for example was distinctly average - the menu went to pains to reassure me that the hash browns were the genuine article; McCain's - like that was a good thing. I would not mind but they promote a 4 star quality experience on their website although they have a 3 star comparison in the next paragraph. It's a bit like they can do it when they try - and that seems to be when it suits them.

Porthmadog really deserves better and it is a shame that the hotel website declares it is Porthmadog's premier hotel as that really does set the whole town back.

All of the front of house staff that did not speak English or Welsh as a first language were really very accommodating and very helpful. Otherwise, you got the idea that a good ladle of humility would really help to strip back the tacky veneer of pretentiousness and allow the hotel to concentrate on the basics. I know business is not easy and many want too much for too little but this hotel gives a mixed message and was ultimately disappointing at the time of my visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

With the hotel having annual inspections we do promote the "4 star overall quality" commented at AA inspections for our 3 star hotel. Housekeeping deserved of praise also reported by inspectors, with whom we strongly agree. Our chefs work hard to maintain the level of standard be it breakfast, lunch or dinner.

Our staff aim to welcome our guests and do take the time to orientate you. With 95% of staff either Welsh or English I am sorry you choose to comment on our staff who may not speak this as a first language.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthmadog
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,499 reviews
4.1 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
301 reviews
15.9 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,338 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Moelwyn
The Moelwyn
#6 of 6 in Criccieth
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sportsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sportsman Hotel

Address: 131 High Street, Porthmadog LL49 9HB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Porthmadog
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Porthmadog
Price Range: £78 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Sportsman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very comfortable, 'home from home,' independently run, full-service quality hotel, the only hotel in Porthmadog. It has been awarded 3* by the AA and Visit Wales, 2 AA Rosette for its food and included in the Good Food Guide, using the best of local Welsh suppliers. Children are welcome and particularly pets in our courtyard rooms. Ground Floor rooms also available for those with walking difficulties. Private covered parking, cycle lock up, drying room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Royal Sportsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Sportsman
Royal Sportsman Porthmadog
Royal Sportsman Hotel Porthmadog, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing