We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Porthmadog
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a groupon deal. Was a little disappointed to have to pay extra for the stay as the deal was bought as a gift, after the initial payment I ended up having to pay £20 upgrade per night as no rooms left for the deal, £10 additional because it was the weekend and £5 pn per dog so additional £70. I did initially think this was a lot to pay however when we got there we could not complain. The room was very large with everything you could need. TV, kettle, tea, hot chocolate, cotton buds and lots of toiletries oh and a patio area although not used with the awful weather. We got there late and the restaurant was near to closing however they set us a table and lit the lovely real fire just for us. The food was amazing. Small portions but packed with flavour. The breakfast was the same, the first morning we had the buffet lots of choices, fruit, yogurts, cereals, fruit juice and more. Followed by amazing home made porridge and toast. The second morning we tried the breakfast (extra again £5.......Very very good! The town itself is not as impressive, run down and quiet don't expect much but don't be put off, we used this as a base for walking snowdon and exploring the local area. Great place to stay with friendly staff.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

We are delighted to hear you found your stay lovely and pleased that you enjoyed the cuisine and ambiance at the Royal Sportsman Hotel. It is nice to hear you made the most of your trip, taking in the surrounding natural beauty of Snowdon.
We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (719)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 719 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

I would like to thank all the staff for giving my wife and I a lovely stay for her birthday. The service was excellent throughout. We did have problems with the TV signal and was glad of the broadband so I could watch BBC I player and Virgin online. We booked a larger room and it was very good. The food in the restaurant was very good and we tried both menus. I enjoyed both but my wife didn't like the pie, it was too big and a little dry but I liked mine but was glad of the gravy. The town is nice and friendly and not too big. If we were returning to the area we would be more than happy to stay again.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra for the larger room with a bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are pleased that you chose to stay at the Royal Sportsman for your wife’s birthday and delighted that you both had a nice stay. With so much that the local area has to offer, a return trip is a must and we do hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The staff did make me feel welcomed during my 3 night stay in November 2013. The accommodation was very clean, and breakfast was nice. Additionally, the hospitality was good and staff being very obliging to make my stay as comfortable as possible. However, what I did find annoying was how my floor in my room was on a slant, and those floorboards being very squeaky/noisy during the night, also found the walls are quite thin (I could literally hear nexts doors phone conversations). I also remember asking for a sandwich before leaving (instead of a sit down breakfast), I never got one (no cooking staff?). In contrast to other B&B's, I found this accommodation average with the return service to be high as expected . There is also quite a long walk to the beach. I give this accommodation a 5/10, but I probably won't return there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank passingy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

We are pleased you felt welcomed during your stay with us in April/November 2013 and found the hospitality very good with the staff very obliging. A sandwich for breakfast is a regular service we provide for people in a rush and are sorry to hear of any confusion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed with an 'on-line deal' which made it good value for money. Excellent food in the restaurant in the evening and each morning for an excellent breakfast, with great choices. Good, spacious 'superior' room and nice friendly staff. Only having double beds is a bit of a shame, we get used to at least King sized - and pillows/bedding inferior.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moira A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we are glad you have had a good start to 2014, Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Stayed for weekend break in a superior room which was well equipped and plenty room and a nice spacious bathroom. The room was quiet and the staff very helpful in providing local information and directions. The restaurant was small but breakfast was a good choice. Local produce and the cooked breakfast with lots of options was delicious. The hotel is on the main road with free undercover parking. The large department store opposite is amazing. The interior beautiful with a lovely spiral staircase and the nicest coffee shop in the area. Lovely spot in many respects for those train enthusiasts and also for the close proximity to Portmerion which was a great day out and the beautiful countryside. Lovely old charm which we thoroughly enjoyed and would stay again.

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra if you like a bit more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank p.m.s.norton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

We are glad to hear you found your weekend break enjoyable and were happy with all aspects of your stay, so much so that you would chose to stay again. With the location of the hotel it does allow a varied break at different times of the year with the many local attractions and natural beauty there is to be seen in the surrounding areas. We do hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Went for a Christmas meal with family. The food was basic but ok the staff had no personality whatsoever and there was absolutely no Christmas spirit. The decor was bland, just a very small light dislay in the restaurant and cheap crackers at the table.

Room Tip: Never stayed at the hotel only ate there. I wouldnt rush there for food there are plenty of better p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

This does surprise us given the continued approval and praise received on the food we serve. With the packed full restaurant and lounge on Christmas day and the beautiful trees at the lobby and lounge along with the touches through the hotel, the festive spirit is very much evident. We are sorry to hear your view.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Stayed in a larger family room which was both comfortable and spacious. New bed, pillows, duvet, carpet and bathroom; exceptionally clean throughout

Staff all very friendly and welcoming and many nice new touches since my last visit.
Breakfast was excellent and dinner on one night included local Welsh Lamb and Belly Pork which was exceptional in presentation and taste. For the quality, I thought the prices were cheap!

A highly recommended hotel for those that appreciate good food and service but not for cheapskates.

Room Tip: A larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tulcea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Thank you for taking your time to review your stay, we are glad to hear you found it comfortable and the food exceptional.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthmadog
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 2 in Portmeirion
1,525 reviews
4.1 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
397 reviews
15.9 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,363 reviews
13 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sportsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sportsman Hotel

Address: 131 High Street, Porthmadog LL49 9HB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Porthmadog
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Porthmadog
Price Range: £76 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Sportsman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very comfortable, 'home from home,' independently run, full-service quality hotel, the only hotel in Porthmadog. It has been awarded 3* by the AA and Visit Wales, 2 AA Rosette for its food and included in the Good Food Guide, using the best of local Welsh suppliers. Children are welcome and particularly pets in our courtyard rooms. Ground Floor rooms also available for those with walking difficulties. Private covered parking, cycle lock up, drying room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Royal Sportsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Sportsman
Royal Sportsman Porthmadog
Royal Sportsman Hotel Porthmadog, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing