We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Porthmadog
Certificate of Excellence
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“good value for money”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Stayed over a weekend whilst attending a family wedding at nearby portmeirion.The room and staff were both excellent,and the food of a very good quality.service from the reception,bar,and restaurant were exceptionally good.main road outside hotel very quiet in the evening and night.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the extra,s in a superior double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
It is wonderful to hear your excellent appreciation of your stay with us at the Royal Sportsman Hotel from your room through to service, food and drink.

We continue to serve award winning 2 AA Rosette food at exceptional value and are happy to hear you were able to enjoy this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    253
    89
    27
    23
See reviews for
94
326
43
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

My partner and I stayed here for two nights and enjoyed our stay very much. The upgraded room was nice, if a little basic and the creaky bed was a bit annoying every time you moved. All members of staff were very friendly and extremely welcoming, but the real highlight was the restaurant. The food appears to be all locally sourced, and is extremely high quality. The biggest surprise was the very competitive pricing of the food given it's excellence. There really can be nowhere better to eat in Porthmadog!
Thanks to everyone at The Royal Sportsman. We'd recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisAndHisTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for your wonderful endorsement of the Royal Sportsman Hotel and your appreciation of our excellent 2AA Rosette food which does make us the place to stay and eat in North Wales.

We are pleased to hear both you and your partner enjoyed your stay with us so much. With all that the area has to offer, we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We found the hotel an extremely good base for exploring North Wales. The staff were very helpful and the rooms clean and comfortable. The food was the highlight of our visit, in particular the home made bread.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gillrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
The Royal Sportsman Hotel is so well located on the high street of Porthmadog, acting as a gateway to Snowdonia and its amazing list of attractions to many of which we are able to offer our guests money-off vouchers.

It is particularly nice to hear your high appreciation of all aspects of our hotel including room quality, service and attention to detail with our food.

We do hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Along with friends we saw the New Year in at the RSH, we had a fantastic three course meal, followed by music & dance. Although the staff were clearly rushed off their poor feet, they couldn't have been more friendly, helpful & thoroughly attentive they are a credit to the place. We went back again whilst staying in Porthmadog & it was just the same, so not a one off for a special night. The RSH goes that extra mile, before the night we'd been sent a menu for us all to choose what we wanted, a week before we were due I had a phone call to say they could not get venison of the quality they wanted so my husband was asked what he'd like as an alternative, fantastic service, thanks.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank DutchDumplingcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
What a great review!

We are delighted that you chose to see in the New Year at The Royal Sportsman Hotel and enjoyed your stay as well as our food and entertainment.

It is nice to hear that you have made a return visit since then. With amazing feedback such as yours, it really makes the effort worthwhile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Very pleasant-sized room and quiet too, even though it's located on the high street (very handy for a walk around the town). The staff were friendly, particularly the barman! Good choice at the continental breakfast- I especially liked the local honey!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
We are glad to hear that you found your stay an enjoyable one and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I am enjoying my stay here, staff are friendly, food is good..room is warm and comfortable.this is a great base for visiting nearby sites of interest. The area surrounding the hotel is very picturesque.

Room Tip: Sorry accidentally pressed button for pool and fitness which hotel does not have. Oops,,,,,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aled E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thanks so much for praising all the things we hold most dear and hope guests will enjoy i.e. the friendliness of staff, quality of food, cosiness of rooms, and the hotel's ideal location for exploring Porthmadog harbour town and surrounding stunning countryside. We are glad we were 'worth the money' and hope you will return some day. . .perhaps we will have our own pool and fitness room to call by then (though the public ones at the leisure centre just across the road are really good) ?!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Good check in with helpful staff
Room was a little dated but clean and well stocked with tea coffee and biscuits. Bathroom had lots of extras and bed was very comfortable with lots of fluffy pillows. Having a secure garage was a plus. Restaraut menu looked good but a bit pricey.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank eater1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thanks so much for a positive review overall. Our reception staff aim to make check-in as quick but informative as possible - especially for guests who've had a long journey. Our rooms and en-suite bathrooms are regularly updated. A private, secure, and covered off-street car park - with free electric car charging points for forward-thinking guests - is a bonus for many guests, especially classic car and motorcycle owners' groups who stay each year. Our 2 AA Rosette a la carte (restaurant) menu is, in fact, superb and priced very favorably with the nearest such highly-graded restaurant almost 30 miles away! For the very price-conscious, we do have a lower-cost Traditional Classics menu of equally-excellent quality food. We hope this reviewer will return soon to try. . .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthmadog
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,425 reviews
4.1 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
283 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
4.1 mi away
The Moelwyn
The Moelwyn
#6 of 6 in Criccieth
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sportsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sportsman Hotel

Property: Royal Sportsman Hotel
Address: 131 High Street, Porthmadog LL49 9HB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Porthmadog
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Porthmadog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Sportsman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very comfortable, 'home from home,' independently run, full-service quality hotel, the only hotel in Porthmadog. It has been awarded 3* by the AA and Visit Wales, 2 AA Rosette for its food and included in the Good Food Guide, using the best of local Welsh suppliers. Children are welcome and particularly pets in our courtyard rooms. Ground Floor rooms also available for those with walking difficulties. Private covered parking, cycle lock up, drying room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Royal Sportsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Sportsman
Royal Sportsman Porthmadog
Royal Sportsman Hotel Porthmadog, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing